We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people but the hotel needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I visited Rincon for the first time last month for a surfing vacation. A friend recommended the Villa Cofresi. The hotel is a family owned and operated establishment. There is certainly a welcoming, friendly atmosphere that is promoted here. We met many families that return year after year that seemed very happy with the hotel. I’m trying my best to be optimistic about this place and we usually overlook minor details that disappoint us, but in this instance, there are just too many to ignore.

The positive:
First and foremost the staff is very friendly and accommodating (genuinely nice people).
The rates are quite reasonable.
The bar is one of the nicest in Rincon (right on the beach / amazing sunsets).
Monday night (Gringo night is a lot of fun, great band)
Pirate special (Rum / Kahlua drink served in a fresh coconut…how often do you see a bartender swinging a machete behind a bar?).
Spacious rooms with large balconies.
There’s an electronic safe in the room.
Housekeeping is quite thorough and does a nice job.
Nice large umbrellas are available for loan to take with you when you visit another beach (nice touch).

The negative:
During the course of our weeklong stay, we had one hot shower. (No hot water on any evening of our stay)
The air conditioner made a LOT of noise (screeching sound, we requested that it be repaired; they attempted to fix it but were unsuccessful).
Outside noise makes it difficult to get a good night’s sleep.
Friday through Monday, if you go out for dinner, you won’t have a parking spot when you return.
Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights the bar fills with locals (not guests of the hotel).
There isn’t much beach and there aren’t enough lounge chairs.
There’s no break at this hotel, you have to drive about ten minutes away to find surf.
There’s a shortage of beach towels.
Intermittent wifi (it rarely worked in the room but in the lobby it always worked).
The free breakfast is adequate, but could be better. (They offer one type of fruit per day, no yogurt and no granola. If you want eggs they charge you $6. They only use paper and plastic. The paper coffee cups are a little bit bigger than a shot glass.)
No gym.

Bottom line:
We enjoyed our stay and the people there are really nice, but we won’t return to this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the beach. Amazing sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachDLT-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 466 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Location could not be better than Villa Confresi! The center of the hotel is an outdoor bar & bbq, on the carribean sea (right on the beach). The staff were fun and very friendly. There was a great crowd, and great vibe. If you are going to Rincon, DEFINITELY stay at Villa Confresi... or at least go check out their happy hour or dinner. Their signature drink, "The Original Pirate" is a hollowed out coconut with LOTS of rum and coconut milk horchata. Yum!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MT21PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stay there almost every year, they bring good service. The rooms are very clean, the beach its right next to your room, the view its beautiful, the food is good. I just loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

At first glance this hotel has it all. Beautiful location, on the beach, great bar with music, towel service, jet ski rental, full beach view, clean, and friendly. Sounds great and we definetely enjoyed ourselves however the bar noise can be unbearable. On weekends plan on not sleeping before midnight. It seems that the place is bar first and hotel second. We loved being on the beach and enjoyed the bar and restaraunt during the day but because of the night noise we will not be returning to stay.

If you want good service and beach front, this place can work but be aware of the noise. It seems there is one quieter building and we tried to ask for it but we were told our room would be quiet enough. Looking around I don't see how any of the rooms in the main building could be quiet.

I believe there are other great places to stay in Rincon and visit this hotel for the lively bar and beach atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We flew almost 3000 miles to the Villa Cofresi and we were not disapointed. Every request was met with a smile and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Steps from the ocean and a great bar. Our last day we got to watch 2 whales jumping out of the ocean right in front of the hotel for the better part of 2 hours. WE WILL BE BACK !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicho128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.2 km away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
39.3 km away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
701 reviews
1.5 km away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
430 reviews
32.5 km away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
189.5 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range: ₹ 7,728 - ₹ 10,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing