We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
37
25
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
25
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bernard dogs grand st short walk hospice switzerland museum monastery lake weather history facilities views pilgrims altitude walking style cafe
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This is a very comfortable place to stay with a lot of character and marvellous views of the peaks around the col. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very clean and comfortable in a modern eco style. The food is good. The hotel is perfectly located to visit the fascinating hospice museum and the famous St Bernard dogs. The hotel very kindly arranged the transport of our suitcase down to Aosta for a minimal price. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Don't expect a luxury, but the location and history of this place is what makes it something special. Small, but interesting museum showing the hospice history is worth visit too.
At the moment, there were no dogs there, since facilities are under renewal.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tomaz_Tercek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

I have a thing about the alps and the fresh air. I remember passing this hotel as a kid every time we drove from the UK to Naples. Now all grown up, the last few years we have always stopped the night here. It's not posh, it's a family run hotel that use to be a monastery. Its such a great place. It's also where they keep the famous St. Bernard dogs. The hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the Italian border. The views are amazing. The rooms are typical Swiss wood in appearance. The people running the hotel are so friendly and accommodating. If you ever stay here on your way through to Italy...I suggest having their cheese fondue with a nice glass of red wine. It doesn't get more cosy than that. You can hike and walk the St. Bernard dogs. And if you fancy a drink in Italy, then just walk pass the old customs hut and grab a hot chocolate at the cafe/bar in Italy on the other side of the lake. :)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank giovanni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

The property, the location, the restaurant, everything was amazing! We were lucky to be there in the last weekend of the season and the weather cold enough to present us with snowfalls two days before our trip! Staff was very kind and helpful, rooms were cozy, breakfast with a good selection of local produce. We'll definitely go back next year!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Selma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a nice hotel/hostal on the top of the Alps, right on the border between Valais and Italy. There is nothing else around the hotel - besides an hospice run by the monks since many centuries, so it is a very unique place.

We spend just one night there, right before they close for the winter. Getting there through the mountains is already worth the trip due to the magnificent view of the Alps. The hotel staff is polite and the rooms are nice enough for 1-2 nights. No TV, just Nature. Breakfast is also simple, but good.

Recommend it in case you want to have a different calm experience. Pretty good and reasonably priced for Switzerland.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RenatoMaschetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews