We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic base for a great holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robin's Barn

Robin's Barn, overlooking the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean with walks from the door. Woodburner.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robin's Barn, overlooking the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean with walks from the door. Woodburner.
View from the patio It is doggy heaven here, with paths leading from the door and the pub is a short stroll away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Robin's Barn, overlooking the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean with walks from the door. Woodburner.
View from the patio
It is doggy heaven here, with paths leading from the door and the pub is a short stroll away
Open plan ground floor living area with woodburner and spiral staircase leading off from it
The first floor double bedroom with view over the Wye Valley
Some of our local wildlife
View from a walk on the other side of the Wye Valley
Picturesque valley surrounding Llanthony Priory in the Black Mountains
The wood next door to Robin's Barn
Robin's Barn provides all creature comforts!
The gardens we walk through on the way to our local pub, The Inn at Penallt
Summer has arrived!  View from the patio
Enjoying the view from Robin's Barn patio
Penallt Old Church, which is within walking distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penallt, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
38Edward
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An idyllic base for a great holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year. Robin’s Barn is perfectly located for a week of total peace and isolation enjoying the fabulous views from the spacious patio. Alternatively, it is also ideal for a week full of activity with lots to do and see around the area. Personally we combined a few days of solitude at the cottage with walking, visiting Tintern Abbey, and a tour and wine tasting at the nearby Ancre Estate vineyard. Robin’s Barn is very comfortable, cosy and well equipped. Marks & Spencer Simply Food and Waitrose (to name just two stores) are only a few miles away in Monmouth making self-catering very easy. The owners’ house is also within the grounds and whilst they gave us total privacy, when we did meet them they made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, fabulous views and the log burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage, Fantastic Location, Lovely People”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third visit to the same cottage, and as usual everything was spot on. The location & weather were superb. The cottage was clean, homely and inviting. The owners were very welcoming and really went out of there way to make us feel very welcome. We will definitely be back again......it feels like our second home!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location & walks locally
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
050152syl...
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Robins Barn a wonderful venue”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic week long break at Robins Barn. Spectacular scenery. Welcoming hosts

Fantastic walks, both locally & further afield. Cottage very well equipped with everything you need to make your stay a true home from home. We will return & strongly recommend this cottage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratf0rd
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Far from the Madding Crowd!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

If you are looking for peace, quiet, and a very dog friendly stay then this is the place for you. To start Jane gave us very clear directions, so we were relaxed when we arrived, even though we had a four hour drive. The views are stunning, and it is so peaceful, that we hardly left the barn; just sat on the patio soaking it up. Jane and Tim are the ultimate in hosts; very friendly, but allow you privacy. There is everything you could need in the barn, including a very comfortable bed :) The fire is very cosy, and there are plenty of logs. We particularly enjoyed Monmouth, Tintern Abbey, and the Old Railway walk. Have never felt so comfortable in a holiday home; so much so, that we re-booked as soon as we arrived home, and look forward to returning in September with our bikes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing