We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable place, a bit confused but the food is amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice comfortable place, a bit confused but the food is amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here recently with work. The hotel is fairly easy to find and well signposted. It looks nice from the outside (would look lovely in wedding pictures for example) the reception area is clean and functional.

To get to your room you have to go up a couple of small flights of stairs across the room landings, which was a bit odd.. I felt like the hotel changed from a large country hotel to a smaller b & b style at this point, which confused me a little...

Got to my room which was comfortable and well furnished, I almost felt like I was staying in a relatives spare room and not a hotel room. Comfy double bed with nice pillows. The bathroom was functional with a good hot powerful shower, which is always a bonus! The room was spotlessly clean, if a little old fashioned, the room was also roasting hot, the radiators were on full blast, I probably could have adjusted it, but I didn't try because it wasn't that much of a problem to me..

The restaurant food was excellent and good value for money, well worth having a meal here, especially as the hotel seemed quite a way out of the town.

Good breakfast with plenty of choice. It made me smile that they had placed a card on the table that said that they were aware that it was dark in the breakfast room and that the carpets were a little tired. It said that they were planning a refurb in 2012...

The staff seemed friendly and pleasant enough, all in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    107
    31
    11
    3
See reviews for
81
177
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We visited the hotel this week for bar lunches and drinks.This has been a regular haunt for us over a period of more than twenty years.The food was of the usual very high standard and service from the bar staff could not be faulted.However what is very apparent is the lack of welcome when you arrive at the hotel.Receptionists lower their heads behind the counter and make no effort to communicate with or to direct visitors to the hotels facilities.A friendly smile and word of welcome should be standard practice in this role.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our first wedding anniversary and we were very pleased we decided to book here. Reception staff were very friendly and were in our room within minutes. We upgraded to a deluxe room which was very spacious and the bathroom was perfect. The food was absolutely stunning from start to finish. Would definitely recommended this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E_rutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Visited 15th September 2011 with pre-booked table for 19.00h

Met by friendly and welcoming staff and relaxed with drinks in the bar whilst reviewing the menu before being shown our table in the dining room. Both the 'a la carte' and 'menu of the day' offered a nice range of appetising dishes but for us the 'a la carte' was a bit pricey but we happily selected the offer of a 3course meal for £19 from the day menu.

The food was well cooked and presented with good sized portions, the staff very attendant and friendly. The dining room was 2/3 full and offered a relaxing environment even though there was a large wedding reception in full flow in the main function room which we noticed on arrival. Holding a large function did not appear to reduce the efficiency of the staff or slow down arrival of the food.

A nice relaxing evening within a well kept venue. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PembCoastWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

What can I say, the staff were all very good, room was clean, well appointed, breakfast and dinner were acceptable, everything needed to make the best of being away on business and creat a little home comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortravleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolf's Castle
7.5 km away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
19.5 km away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
9.3 km away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
19.8 km away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
31.9 km away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Wolfscastle Country Hotel, Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest SA62 5LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Wolf's Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolf's Castle
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,447 - ₹ 10,935
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Haverfordwest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing