We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knight Inlet Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Breakers Resort(Black Creek)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Resort(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Resorts(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge(Quadra Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Big Rock Motel(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heron's Landing Hotel(Campbell River)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Suites(Campbell River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
387
22
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
22
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknight inletcampbell riversalmonfloat planebald eaglesbear viewingblack beansnight packagemarine tourvancouver islandwhale watchingwonderful experiencetheir natural habitatwhole experiencerainforest walktwo daysbucket list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Knight inlet lodge just awsome. We stayed for the 6 night package. For us not enough as my wife and i are what i suppose you would say are "Bear Fanatics" Grizzly and Black.
After a fantastic float plane transfer to the Lodge we were out on the Estuary within half an hour of arriving. and yes saw a Grizzly immediately. We did every single trip we could to see the bears. The cruise out to see the Whales Dolphins and Orcas with Shaun was fantastic. We did according to my Gps 134.9 miles. Thanks Shaun you are a Star. Every single member of the team at the lodge are so commited in what they do. Todd the chef and his team worked miracles, fantastic food. The equipment used for all trips is second to none
We stayed in room 7 with a lovely view and at night all we could here was the Otters on the decking out side now and again, did manage to get a couple of pictures of them. The two dogs at the lodge were great they chased around when the bears and otters were around the lodge a super alarm system as i got some nice pictures of Black and Grizzly with cubs behind the lodge.
I could go on and on about our trip late August 2011 saw all the Bears i could wish for but there are so many memories.
To sum up we did not want to leave and it brought tears to my eyes having to return to reality.
All i can say is Go, be it for 1 night at the lodge or 5 nights that we did there will be no dissapointment. "THE CASTLE'S WILL BE BACK"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BerkshireLionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I am in love with Knight Inlet! We stayed for four nights - for probably the best holiday we have ever had. Every day was a magical, and more often than not, jaw dropping experience! From the minute we arrived we were looked after with great care by enthusiastic, highly competent, cheerful guides whose sole aim was to give us a wildlife adventure to remember forever! Which will I remember most? watching Grizzly Bear Bella and her cubs feeding in the estuary, experiencing a Humpback Whale diving under our boat on a marine trip, or meeting a group of Pacific White Sided Dolphins on a kayaking trip? Probably all of them and more! The accommodation is clean, and comfortable; the food is wonderful and plentiful - I doubt many people return to civilisation without gaining a few pounds - and you return home feeling enlightened, educated, and hopefully with a determination to encourage a greater understanding of wildlife conservation in your own part of the world. Knight Inlet is a rare and special place - Go!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gwyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a top place to visit. Great staff who are both knowledgeable and helpful, lots of activities and - on both of our visits - lots of bear sightings (both grizzly and black). We stayed 3 nights on both of our visits and also took a boat to Johnstone Straight to see whales. Again on both occasions we saw Orca and Minke and the Orcas came very close by us (their choice not ours but very exciting) and we could hear their calls without a hydrophone.

Even after two visits we want to go back during the next few years. It is just a magic place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruralidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We Kiwi's (4) stayed at Knight Inlet Lodge, (4 nights) in August 2011. This experience was a highlight of our month long holiday. Away from civilisation and the mod-cons we all think we need to rely on! From the moment we arrived we were whisked away to start our amazing experience of viewing bears, and other wildlife, in this idyllic enviornment. The floating lodge has character, all the necessary requirements & comforts without being over-the-top. The staff were great multi-taskers all round.The meals were healthy & plentiful, catering for most tastes and preferences. The organisation & excursions are varied and well planned so that NO time is wasted, giving you the opportunity to see the amazing wildlife in their natural habitat surrounded by beautiful scenery. All the necessary gear is provided - making you feel warm, comfortable and safe.
We saw brown bears, grizzly catching salmon, seals, deer, golden eagle, other birdlife, and the playful otter under the lodge. The nightly wild-life talks were a bonus and cleverley the shop was only open for 30mins at night to buy souvineers etc. Dont go there expecting luxury - its a natural, comfortable & organic with respect & support of the wildlife & environment. We couldn't recommend it more highly, so much so that we didnt want to leave. It was a nature lovers haven to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RamboWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Wow!! We have been on some great safaris in Africa, and Knight Inlet is on a par with the best.
Seaplane transfer from Campbell River to the Lodge was a great experience, beautiful scenery, one of the best flights we have been on. On arrival, Dean greeted us and showed us around the Lodge. We had our first coffee and cake whilst staff transferred luggage to our room, and within 40 minutes we were all on our first estuary trip in small boats, and yes, we saw a Grizzly bear with two cubs playing in the inlet!! Back for a great buffet lunch, then out again for bear watching from one of the platforms by the salmon river. You travel to the stands in a small boat, then a small bus transfer along an old logging road, then two hours hoping for the bears to arrive. They did, and in fact we saw several on the drive to the stand. Back again to the Lodge for a comfort break, and more cake, then a boat trip along the Inlet. Return to the Lodge where everyone there ate together outside on three long tables. First you have hors d'oevres, then the chef comes out to tell you what they have cooked, the food is fabulous. Wine is complimentary with dinner, and when we asked for another bottle, no problem. A black bear walked right behind the lodge while we were having dinner. The next day we went on a whole day whale watching trip. We saw Orcas and humpback whales, really amazing, and we learnt so much from Shaun, the marine guide. We then spent the third day with more bear watching from the stands, in the morning we saw two grizzly mums with their cubs trying to catch the salmon. In the afternoon we took a trip up the lazy river with Lori, wonderfully peaceful, and this time we saw a seal with a salmon in its mouth, along with bald eagles and kingfishers. I would definitely recommend staying at least three nights if you can, but those people who stayed only one night really loved the experience. The Lodge is very safety conscious. Lifejackets and other protective equipment is provided, even wellies for transferring from boats to the stands. I can fully understand people crying when they leave, it is a truly magical experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews