We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves the accolades”
Review of Knight Inlet Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glendale Cove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knight Inlet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deserves the accolades”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We visited Knights Inlet in early September for 2 nights. I was wary of all the 5 star accolades but can honestly say for us it lived up to the billing. It is expensive but if you love wildlife, beautiful scenery and outdoor activity this is the place for you.
It is a place for the spirit, very peaceful and only a small group of visitors at any one time. We picked September to see the grizzly bears fishing and were not disappointed. Watch out for the otters, and black bears that visit the shoreline at the rear of the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    18
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
204
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Knight inlet lodge just awsome. We stayed for the 6 night package. For us not enough as my wife and i are what i suppose you would say are "Bear Fanatics" Grizzly and Black.
After a fantastic float plane transfer to the Lodge we were out on the Estuary within half an hour of arriving. and yes saw a Grizzly immediately. We did every single trip we could to see the bears. The cruise out to see the Whales Dolphins and Orcas with Shaun was fantastic. We did according to my Gps 134.9 miles. Thanks Shaun you are a Star. Every single member of the team at the lodge are so commited in what they do. Todd the chef and his team worked miracles, fantastic food. The equipment used for all trips is second to none
We stayed in room 7 with a lovely view and at night all we could here was the Otters on the decking out side now and again, did manage to get a couple of pictures of them. The two dogs at the lodge were great they chased around when the bears and otters were around the lodge a super alarm system as i got some nice pictures of Black and Grizzly with cubs behind the lodge.
I could go on and on about our trip late August 2011 saw all the Bears i could wish for but there are so many memories.
To sum up we did not want to leave and it brought tears to my eyes having to return to reality.
All i can say is Go, be it for 1 night at the lodge or 5 nights that we did there will be no dissapointment. "THE CASTLE'S WILL BE BACK"

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BerkshireLionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I am in love with Knight Inlet! We stayed for four nights - for probably the best holiday we have ever had. Every day was a magical, and more often than not, jaw dropping experience! From the minute we arrived we were looked after with great care by enthusiastic, highly competent, cheerful guides whose sole aim was to give us a wildlife adventure to remember forever! Which will I remember most? watching Grizzly Bear Bella and her cubs feeding in the estuary, experiencing a Humpback Whale diving under our boat on a marine trip, or meeting a group of Pacific White Sided Dolphins on a kayaking trip? Probably all of them and more! The accommodation is clean, and comfortable; the food is wonderful and plentiful - I doubt many people return to civilisation without gaining a few pounds - and you return home feeling enlightened, educated, and hopefully with a determination to encourage a greater understanding of wildlife conservation in your own part of the world. Knight Inlet is a rare and special place - Go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gwyndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a top place to visit. Great staff who are both knowledgeable and helpful, lots of activities and - on both of our visits - lots of bear sightings (both grizzly and black). We stayed 3 nights on both of our visits and also took a boat to Johnstone Straight to see whales. Again on both occasions we saw Orca and Minke and the Orcas came very close by us (their choice not ours but very exciting) and we could hear their calls without a hydrophone.

Even after two visits we want to go back during the next few years. It is just a magic place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruralidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We Kiwi's (4) stayed at Knight Inlet Lodge, (4 nights) in August 2011. This experience was a highlight of our month long holiday. Away from civilisation and the mod-cons we all think we need to rely on! From the moment we arrived we were whisked away to start our amazing experience of viewing bears, and other wildlife, in this idyllic enviornment. The floating lodge has character, all the necessary requirements & comforts without being over-the-top. The staff were great multi-taskers all round.The meals were healthy & plentiful, catering for most tastes and preferences. The organisation & excursions are varied and well planned so that NO time is wasted, giving you the opportunity to see the amazing wildlife in their natural habitat surrounded by beautiful scenery. All the necessary gear is provided - making you feel warm, comfortable and safe.
We saw brown bears, grizzly catching salmon, seals, deer, golden eagle, other birdlife, and the playful otter under the lodge. The nightly wild-life talks were a bonus and cleverley the shop was only open for 30mins at night to buy souvineers etc. Dont go there expecting luxury - its a natural, comfortable & organic with respect & support of the wildlife & environment. We couldn't recommend it more highly, so much so that we didnt want to leave. It was a nature lovers haven to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamboWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendale Cove
287.5 km away
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
157.8 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
3506.4 km away
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
#4 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.4 km away
Sonora Resort
Sonora Resort
#1 of 1 in Sonora Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3587.2 km away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
421.3 km away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight Inlet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight Inlet Lodge

Property: Knight Inlet Lodge
Address: 8841 Driftwood Rd, Glendale Cove, British Columbia V9J 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Glendale Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glendale Cove
Price range (per night): ₹ 47,833 - ₹ 2,86,997
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight Inlet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knight Inlet Lodge is Canada's premier grizzly bear viewing destination. With over 15 years of experience and a world wide reputation for excellence we are the place to see grizzly bears in British Columbia. Our remote floating lodge has 16 guests rooms and offers a full range of activities for our guests including hiking,kayaking, marine wildlife tours, tracking and whale watching. Open from mid May until mid October with pacakges starting on any day of the week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knight Inlet Hotel Glendale Cove
Knight Inlet Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing