We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
879
303
49
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
303
49
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine old town one night top floor business trip large bathroom excellent breakfast no exception reception staff per day excellent restaurant breakfast room comfortable bed suite gym portugal parking
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2015

As soon as we arrived, we were given a free room upgrade - very welcoming. The room was better than most superior rooms I've stayed in in similar hotels: it's vast, with bath and separate shower cubicle, separate toilet and separate dressing area. The bed is really comfortable and huge. Wifi connections throughout were powerful. Breakfast was an additional cost and had a fair range of international foods. The immediate location of the hotel may not be pretty but it's a very short walk to the beautiful old centre of Badajoz, itself a lovely oddity for Spain, being almost totally devoid of foreign tourists. The only disadvantage with the hotel is that there is no swimming pool - a poor oversight for such a hot city and for being 5*.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are probably worth the extra money, even if you're not lucky enough to be upgraded.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Director de Recepción at NH Gran Hotel Casino Extremadura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank your for your excellent review.

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Easy to find hotel, well signed from several km away, and parking available under the hotel (pricy at 14euros, but secure). The location is ideal as it is outside the city walls, but a short stroll over the historic bridge (recently pedestrianized) into Badajoz. We were not interested in the Casino, but it was low key and didn't interfere with our enjoyment of the hotel. Such a smart hotel for the price, with a king size bed, huge bathroom, and attentive staff. We will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank butterflyfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Director de Recepción at NH Gran Hotel Casino Extremadura, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent rating.

Your happiness is our greatest source of motivation, and makes us want to improve every day…for you.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

First time visit to Badajoz - and we nearly made the mistake of staying at Mérida! On arrival car parking was easy underneath the hotel. The receptionist offered us an upgrade to a lovely suite - but this did not buy my praise. The location is overlooking the river and its newly laid park. a few hundred metres away is the old bridge (pedestrianised) where you can wander over to the charming and relatively tourist-tat-free old town with lots of friendly restaurants. The casino part of the hotel did not interest us and was relatively low key. Breakfast was stunning - and you can do a deal with reception if you have not pre-booked it. Everybody we met in the hotel was helpful and friendly - I look forward to going back there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverside are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank titfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Jefa de Recepción at NH Gran Hotel Casino Extremadura, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear Customer,

On behalf of our entire team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay .

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

We had booked this without really realising that it was a five star hotel. We'd stayed in an NH hotel in Zamora two years ago and had enjoyed it, so were happy to book this one based on reviews and location.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who told us that we'd been upgraded to a superior room - much to our surprise - and that we'd been given a voucher for a free drink and tapas in the casino. It was really nice and a very pleasant surprise for us.

The room we got was wonderful. Massive superking bed, with some lovely sheets (probably the best I've slept on), a wonderful bathroom, with separate shower and bath and twin sinks. It was more like a suite to be honest. The toiletries were really nice too. We had bathrooms and slippers and generally felt very happy to be upgraded into such a nice room. The wifi worked well and the aircon was very useful as it was rather hot in Badajoz when we visited. There was also a gym and spa/sauna available. We did try the gym and it had a nice view overlooking the city and river.

We used the vouchers for the drink and tapas and because of the time we went, we could only use them in the casino. This was certainly an experience! Very quiet place, not the atmosphere I expected, but nice tapas and sweets available at the bar (just like Haribo, my favourites!). We enjoyed sitting there watching the casino patrons doing their thing, while we enjoyed our free drink.

There is a good local shopping area nearby on Avenida Carolina Coronado, with plenty of restaurants and a supermarket on Calle Pintor Barjola. It's a 20 minute walk to the train station, so useful if you're using public transport. It's a nice walk into the city across the river, so it's worth staying here for the excellent value and local amenities.

So, we really enjoyed our visit and it confirmed that NH hotels are a good chain that we'd use again.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Jefa de Recepción at NH Gran Hotel Casino Extremadura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent rating.

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is great value- big rooms, big beds, clean place, good service. The casino is weird though-kind of empty and weird. We stayed here with our 13 month old daughter and kids didn't seem very welcome.

However, it was a really good room for the price.

Stayed: May 2015
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Jefa de Recepción at NH Gran Hotel Casino Extremadura, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2015

Dear guest,
On behalf of our entire Nh Gran Casino Extremadura Team,I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews