We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 281
US$ 268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 302
US$ 280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anonymous Beach Hotel(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
US$ 84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Green Bungalows(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bella Napa Bay Hotel(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aktea Beach Village(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 242
US$ 225
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christabelle Hotel Apartments(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Faros Hotel(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,291)
Filter reviews
1,291 results
Traveller rating
741
347
150
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
347
150
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity poolsausage rollsa la carte restaurantsun gardenfish pondquiet poolthomson repsthe hotel managermr nicoskids clubsea viewfamily roomfootball pitchevening entertainmentice creamsunbed situationsun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,291 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic holiday and thought the hotel was brilliant. It was always clean and staff very friendly.
The food was amazing! We were all inclusive, breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks during the day we’re delicious and there was always so much choice! There was a children’s buffet selection at all meal times, they served the usual chicken nuggets etc, came in handy when the kids did not want to try local dishes. The a la carte was very nice, champagne topped up throughout never had an empty glass. The service was just brilliant!
We spent a lot of time around the pool (the quieter side of the hotel) We wasn’t aware these were the ‘quiet pools’ until a few days in to the holiday, there was 2 pools in this area that were for a more relaxed day. The children had fun playing but were not allowed to play with balls in the pool and were not allowed in the infinity pool at any time, there was pool staff that would tell you off if rules were not followed. The other pool on the other side of the hotel was very busy and noisy so we only were there briefly throughout the stay. There was a bar open to get refreshments and snacks throughout the day, slush puppies and ice cream on tap, perfect for the kids!
There is steps from round this area that lead you down on a short walk to the beach.
The beach was only a 5 min walk away. The water was crystal clear blue, absolutely stunning! We did water sports at this beach lots of fun! We walked along the beach one eve all the way to Ayia Napa harbour 15-20min walk.
I would deffinatly advise going to Nissi beach on your holiday. It cost us 10euros in a taxi. The beach looks like something out of a magazine, the water is so clear and golden sands.
Hotel rooms were standard, nothing special but they were always cleaned and had fresh towels. Safes provided in rooms, we never used. The view from the room how ever was stunning, lovely to wake up and see the sea! Air con was essential as it was so hot when we went! We had it on all night at no extra cost!
My son participated in football in the evening for all ages, lots of fun! There was a little park for the children and volley ball area.
The only cons me and my family had about are stay was the evening entertainment. A couple of the nights we watched an illusionist and a blues bro show. Other than that there was nothing. They had singers come In and perform in the INSIDE function room, we would have preferred to be outside! There was none of the usual discos and fun reps for evening entertainment. So if you like a quiet evening this hotel is for you! We ventured out as we would prefer different.
It’s about an hours drive to the hotel so not too far to travel!
Overall a lovely holiday enjoyed by all!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Kay13592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.
Concerning the Evening entertainment it is held inside as previous years complaints were received due to health and safety and it being too hot outside, this way with it being held inside guests can choose to sit in or out. We provide 7 nights a week live dance music plus we have three times a week other shows on tribute like Magic show, Elvis, Blues Brothers, Carly the Voice, Neil Diamond, Martin Costa, Robbie William, Bon-Jovi etc.

We appreciate your kind words about the staff and for recognizing their contribution and hard work towards customer satisfaction.

We definitely looking forward to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We went as a couple in September after the school holiday for a relaxing holiday. We booked with Thomson (Tui) and I am now submitting my review having failed with my complaint to Thomson. I wasn't expecting a refund but a sincere apology would have been nice.

The hotel location is good if you can do the walk back up the hill in the evening although the taxis were great. The views out to sea from the hotel areas, and from our room, are amazing and it is the best sea front location I have ever stayed at. I have had a calendar for Christmas with photos from the holiday. The picture taken from our balcony is my screensaver!

The hotel itself is a little tired in places but the food and staff were brilliant.

Our problem was with the quiet pool and no children infinity pool. We are an older couple looking to relax. The quiet pool had kids with lilos, ball games, diving etc throughout our stay. Attempts were made to restore order but these were ignored as soon as the staff moved away. Kids regularly in the infinity pool.

We booked a 'Platinum' hotel to ensure the quality but we spent a lot of our time avoiding the public areas due to the wedding parties which took over without any real concern for others.

We did not expect the dress code to be adhered to or the non reserving of sunbeds but on two or three occasions there were people in the restaurant wearing t shirts or vest with the F word prominently displayed.

If we were still in our 20s or 30s we would go again but it was not the relaxing holiday we booked.

If you do complain to the rep make an official complaint (regularly) as despite complaining or mentioning the problems most days the rep has no record of our having complained!

Room Tip: Sea view if you can arrange it before you go.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kshDroitwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Guests,

we appreciate it that you have spent some of your personal time to write a review about your holidays at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.
It is to our disappointment that not all of your expectations were met during your holidays and we assure you that we take into consideration all kind of comments for the constructive improvement of our hotel.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Hotel appearance is nice and clean, staff was friendly and nice.
We had a family room with a ground terrace, which I envisioned would be on the beach side but was towards the activity pool - this was a good option anyway, since access to both pool and other facilities was easy. The room was spacey enough for a family of 4, and clean enough and well maintained even if slightly worn out. The ground terrace was nice to have, even though there was not actually a private space.
The pools would've been probably nice, but the water was really cold, at least in the activity pool and also in the small kids pool which I thought would be easily warmed up in the sun. Due to that, we did not spend much time in the pool area, but instead on the beach (sea was warmer than the pools).
The hotel has a nice play area in between the hotel buildings and the seashore, with volleyball field, football field, kids play area etc. The actual sandy beach is a short walking distance (5 mins for grownups) away, along an easy pathway. Nearest beach is busy but nice with both soft sand and rocks, and also snorkeling is easy and rewarding with lots of smallish fish around immediately on the beach side. Water activities (parasailing, banana boat, etc) are available on the nearest beach.
We were enjoying all-inclusive for the first time ever, so no previous experience on that but for us it seemed good: snacks, ice-cream and drinks available throughout the day, great variety on all meals, clear markings on all allergenic ingredients in the food. Staff in the restaurant is mostly composed of students it seems. All are friendly enough, but don't speak necessarily very good english and cannot answer for instance questions about wine offering etc.
All in all, a nice hotel, which I can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Piia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Guests,

we really appreciate that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Many thanks for your kind words and it is our pleasure to identify that you enjoyed your holidays and your expectations were met.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Travelled September of this year. Taxi pickup from home 02.30 am to head for Luton 2 excited friends, not holidayed together since we were 18!, so yeah! Definitely excited and looking forward to a week of chill, beach and plenty of sunshine.
Great flight, 30 mins delays but that’s fine.

Quite a long wait on the bus for transfer? Never really knew why? But, frustrating when tired after no sleep and mega heat! Yes!! That’s we wanted without a doubt but waiting so long? Well...just get us to the hotel! I don’t care who the rep is grrr

I’m always honest with my reviews? I use TA all the time to monitor hotel/resort blah blah and I read between the lines of comments.

I found arrival at the Hotel rather disappointing, it looked drab and there was non of the “oh wow” my heart sank and after a lots of hours traveling I just thought oh where have we come to. Guy on reception I found miserable and there was non of the usual friendly welcome, like hello! Welcome! how was the flight. ..err...no, it was passports, feel this form in, here’s your keys, floor 5 ...there’s the lift...pointing with his head. Okay......no welcome drink, no nothing...get me home.

Room basic, smaller than most but it had a kettle and usual tea bags etc.
We were too tired to bother with the changing for eve meal so it was a get unpacked and down a chilled G+T.
Can’t say I was impressed with the “ dripping” wet bar? but found the scenery to drink it my very nice. Thoughts were this place is grubby and needs TLC

Didn’t feel any happier first morning, I felt let down knowing this was a special holiday with a friend. One we never thought would happen and there was none of the usual omg I love it here. It wasn’t the lovely hotel, the feel good was missing.
Ventured to the beach, it was lovely for an hour, then the sea was so packed I thought towel reservation applied lol nah, we don’t like this, way too packed, beautiful weather though,, so we hit the pool...oh this is lovely!! get a drink in, book out and let’s chill....
Booking a holiday, being solo, you’ve done the holidays with kids, you’ve done the school holiday prices? Bring on the back to school time knowing you’ve done and paid the price with kids, yes, we can do off peak...wrong,, wedding parties spoilt it all, bang went the “quiet” pool and bang went the word “chill”
On the plus, after day 1 all of the staff absolutely lovely, friendly and adorable. Young staff serving drinks in the evening were brilliant and so friendly. Lady cleaning the room..great...guys in the bar so so busy but lovely. They all made our holiday and hotel management need to realise this. We did warm to it because of them.

Like I said, hoteliers need to remember that first port of call is reception, ours wasn’t welcoming. When you’ve travelled fir so long? remember, we are tired and a welcome is so important. A drink is appreciated and first impressions go a long way. It did feel like a Butlins type hotel and I never did Butlins with young kids so why would I book one now. So, a hotel that has the staff, the scenery and potential to be amazing it just needs management to sit down, appreciate the staff and see it from our trip where the hotel was over booked and a pool area that had 1 part time guy fighting a loosing battle doing a job he wouldn’t get abuse for if there was parental and “oh these people on holiday too?” thoughts ...said my bit so I hope management sees the issues and that it’s understood a quiet pool means a “quiet” pool....especially school term time...when it should be?

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 336Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.
We appreciate your kind words about the staff and for recognizing their contribution and hard work towards customer satisfaction.
It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We have been to Cyprus quite a number of times during October half term to various resorts and hotels and this has become our favourite and we have now stayed here 5 times and we will no doubt be returning.

The Hotel - Consists of a main 5 storey building built into the hillside and a series of 'bungalows' whereby you come out of the main building and go to individual rooms within the hotel grounds. There is an activity/childrens pool and a small baby pool which is surrounded by bungalows and not immediately obvious unless you know it is there, 2 further pools near the restaurant, one of which should be adults only but many guests seem to take no notice of that and let their children into it anyway. In late October I found the pools very cold and only forced myself to get in to cool off. The sea is much warmer. There is also an indoor heated pool and a well equipped Gym on floor 2 of the main building. In front of the buildings there is a large grassy area with a childrens playground,, football pitch, volleyball court and low cliffs and beyond that is the sea. It is really a fantastic view with lots of space and some spectacular sunsets. We wanted peace and quiet so we settled down on some beds on the grass below the main pools and just enjoyed the warmth, the birds and the views and made sure we went down to the beach to snorkel on a regular basis.

Location - On the outskirts of Ayia Napa within easy walking distance of the harbour by beach or road. There is a bus stop opposite where you can travel between Ayia Napa, Nissi, Cape Greko and Protaras for a single fare of 1.5 euros or you can buy a day ticket unlimited travel for 5 euros (bus numbers 101 and 102). The site is really large and has peaceful quiet areas with plenty of sunbeds as well as livelier areas so there is something for everyone. From the grounds of the hotel to the right you can walk down a boardwalk to a large sandy beach with all the water sports etc,, or walk along the coast to the left which takes you to a very quiet stretch of coast with small inlets and tiny beaches. We enjoyed walking around Ayia Napa and the harbour in the evenings. At the end of October it is really quiet as a large part of the resort closes down from November but the fairground, lots or shops, bars and restaurants are still open. We did make the mistake of going self catering once and found it virtually impossible to find shops selling provisions at this time of year. All the freezers were emptied for the winter and fresh produce was hard to find but earlier in the season I presume that would not be an issue.

Snorkelling - This is one of my favourite things to do on holiday and I love snorkelling and swimming in the sea here, You walk down to the beach on the boardwalk and straight away you can enter the crystal clear water which is far warmer than the swimming pools at the hotel. Immediately you will see lots of small fish on the seabed. If you follow the rocks along so you are effectively swimming in front of the hotel you will find many different fish including quite a number of Gar of different sizes and on occasion we found that a school of white fish with grey forked tails would start accumulating and begin to follow us wherever we went which was quite amusing, Along by the rocks there are also sea caves to explore and further along there is a large rock arch which you can swim through into a kind of sea pool. During the day there are boat trips to the sea caves and for snorkelling by the yellow submarine, Nemo boat and various others so it is a way of seeing these areas without paying for a trip. We noticed that lots of fish seemed to hang around when the Yellow submarine was there so we think they must feed them which also meant it was a good time to see larger numbers of fish in one go.

Rooms - We have now stayed in Bungalows 4 times and a room in the main building once. We found the rooms all very similar with a bathroom with shower over the bath, sink and toilet. There are small soaps and shampoos provided together with Bath and hand towels. Then there was a main bedroom with a wardrobe, fridge, TV and safe you could hire. Then there was a sliding partition and 2 sofa beds for if there were more than 2 of you. Beyond this there were patio doors with either a veranda or patio area with chairs or beds. The bungalows in our experience were bigger and when we were travelling with our daughters we probably needed that extra space. The room in the main building was more than adequate in size for the 2 of us. If TV is important to you the channels were limited but we didn.t really use it apart from to look at the news occasionally. Tea making facilities were available in the room. You were also supplied with beach towels which you could change at various times throughout the week at the activity pool. There was also free internet in the rooms which worked well enough for us. The beds were comfortable, with bedding changed regularly and the room cleaned to a very good standard.

Food - We have always found the food here to be very good and I don't think anyone would struggle to find enough to eat, One of my daughters is vegetarian and she has always eaten well. Gluten free bread is available but kept in a different area so you would need to ask one of the waiting staff to show you where. Breakfast consists of Bacon, beans, tomatoes, sausages, mushrooms, courgette, fried bread, frankfurters, hash browns, fried eggs, omelettes, boiled eggs and pancakes on the cooked side and salads, cold meats, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereals etc on the cold side. there is also a big choice of different breads and rolls with toasting machines,Juices and drinks.
Lunch has lots of hot and cold options with various salads, soup, fruit, desserts, ice cream, various meat dishes, spring rolls, garlic bread, pasta and sauces, fries, rice etc. as well as the live cooking station stir frying vegetables and various meats, fish etc.. Dinner is loosely themed around different cuisines and once again a wide selection is available. There is also a kids section if you need it. there is an outdoor and indoor area for meals and at breakfast and dinner you just turn up and find a table. For dinner in the evenings you do need to take notice of the sign and wait to be shown to a table. The waiter will then know you have arrived and will take your drink order. I have seen some reviews from people complaining they had to wait for ages before having their drink orders taking. That is because they either ignore the sign and just go and sit down or they are too impatient to wait for someone to seat them. In either case the busy waiting staff then don't realise that they haven't been served. As well as the buffet you are allowed one free A La Carte meal during your stay which was very nice but I was full after the appetisers, starter, bread roll and soup so I struggled to manage the main course and completely gave up by the time I got to the dessert. As well as the buffet there are snacks available throughout the day including, sandwiches, sausage rolls, ice cream, fruit, pizza, pastries, cakes, popcorn etc which you can get from the two pool bars or the main bar in reception (fourth floor main building). If you are planning a day out you can order a packed lunch at reception the day before up to 6pm which you can collect from the restaurant at breakfast the following morning. There is no way anyone could go hungry at this hotel. Likewise, drinks are available throughout the day from the various bars including bottles of mineral water.

We like everything about this hotel and are very impressed with the staff who have always been very helpful. It is very refreshing to see that the manager of the hotel is not afraid to get involved and we have seen him helping in the restaurant, meeting people when they arrive, interacting with the guests and even turning up to say goodbye. Perhaps that hands on approach is why we feel so comfortable at this hotel. Long may it continue.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wickBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Guests,

many thanks for taking the time to share your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your kind words about our staff definitely this encourages us to continue the hard work. On behalf of all my colleagues many thanks and looking forward to welcome you again for another enjoyable holiday.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews