We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveller rating
805
383
167
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
383
167
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool sausage rolls sun garden a la carte restaurant fish pond quiet pool thomson reps the hotel manager kids club sea view football pitch family room evening entertainment sunbed situation ice cream sun loungers slush puppies
Filter
Updating list...
902 - 907 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a good holiday at the Sungarden so don't worry if you have already booked but I will give you some honest feedback on the hotel. The first thing I would say is that the Thomson staff are excellent and will always help you. The hotel staff are very polite and provide a very good service. The location is brilliant - right on the shore, next to a beautiful beach with stunning views. A 15 minute walk will take you into Ayia Napa and the bus service is cheap and reliable.

The hotel itself is dated (dark and old fashioned). The common areas seemed a bit neglected and lacked character. The bedrooms were spacious and kept clean daily by the maids although old fashioned and the bathrooms were tired - our shower wasn't fitted properly. Our balcony on the second floor was lovely. Unfortunately we overlooked a fish pond the size of the roof (sorry but we may have enjoyed it in the 70's but now it just looked dirty and in need of a good clean). The good thing was that we had great views of the sea from our balcony.

The drinks service was quite good. I would describe the food as typical 3* all inclusive. Not a disaster but nothing special either. Between meals there was hardly anything on offer at the snack bar. We are used to toasties and chips etc in the daytime at an AI hotel but there was none of this, just some pizza squares, stale biscuits or sausage rolls if you were there before they all disappeared. You don't get proper ice creams, just a scoop in a plastic cup.

We booked this holiday as it was advertised as all singing, all dancing for children. It was expensive but we thought it would provide everything for the kids. Unfortunately we were turned away twice from kids club as there wasn't room for one of our kids. We expected a guaranteed place once a day after paying over the odds for a Thomson Family Hotel!

Overall we had a good holiday and our children really enjoyed the whole experience. The positive points above do compensate for the bits we found irritating so please don't worry if you have already booked, you will have a nice time. We are a well travelled family who have been doing this a long time and are getting fussy with age. Oh, just a final point, set your alarm for 6am if you want a sun bed by the pool. The staff don't police the reservations of sunbeds at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Sungarden Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011


We first arrived at the hotel late at night we checked in at reception informed the receptionist (Naringa) we were the wedding couple as we were informed to do this to get a room upgrade to be replied by rudeness saying she doesn't know and to sort it out in the morning if there's a problem! At this point we weren't sure weather we got the upgrade or not! From then on in the holiday if we went to reception and asked her anything she was rude about everything  we got the impression she didn't like the English much! However the rest of ALL the hotel staff were brilliant and very friendly!! Some of the wedding guests stayed at a different hotels so we purchased all inclusive day passes for them, which indued their lunch ( which was organised for us in the a la carte room, but we ate from the buffet as much as u like) drinks all day & night and an a la carte meal! We organised our wedding with Thomson via Rachael and she was amazing! She organised me a hairdresser and us a photographer as this Is all we wanted but there were more options to purchase if you wish! The haidresser was lovely and the photographer was excellent and not a bad price! We were over the moon on how the wedding went! Nikos the hotel manager and other managers arrived at the ceremony which was approx 20 mins long we had a lovely registra who spoke english the vowes were also English! After the photos us and the guests had a fantastic a la carte meal! Not only was the 4 course meal included in the all inclusive package it was tasty and garnished superb! We even had a personal waiter Yannis, who was brill,  We decided to eat in the a la carte restaurant as it was air conditioned and more comfortable to eat then to move to the outside of the a la carte restaurant where Yannis was with us until the end of the evening! I couldn't fault a thing it was the best day of my life! When we went back up to the room even the bed was decorated with Rose petals which was so lovely! We would not have received a service like this at home without spending a fortune! The hotel room & food throughout the rest of the holiday was clean & great too! The grounds were maintained a lot and kept to a very high and clean standard! 20 mins away from town centre walking, 5 min taxi ride Approx €8. All in all we had a great time :0) xx

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicholaHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Sungarden Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on TrpAdvisor.

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your holidays and your wedding. Our aim is to offer special attention and treatment to our guests on such a special day.

Looking forward to welcome you at Atlantica SunGarden Hotel.

Best personal regards,

The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hopefully an honest review, we stayed 2 weeks, July 25th - Aug 8th with a 2 and 5 year old, all inc in a Garden Junior suite room.

We arrived, reception busy as is the case with a bus load of new people, but we did have to wait an hour for our room, not too good a start, we were then allocated a Family Room. Not happy with this so we did highlight our booking and went for what was in the end a very late dinner.
Entertainment was inside too on this night in a very hot room
First night and our impressions were not very good, oh dear we thought.

Anyway, in the morning, having not unpacked, we went to reception as instructed and were allocated the "correct" room - 628.

Room - was perfect, in fact the best we have had on holiday, our own sunloungers and a fantastic view of the sea with no obstructions. Was this a mistake or a were they trying it on? who knows, we didn't care once we been moved.

Food - superb, always varied and hot, plenty of choice with fish and grills very tasty. A la carte was wonderful. Day time drinks and snacks spot on. Cannot complain about any part of this.

Staff - Friendly and professional, manager took the time ot speak to you and you did feel they were proud to work here.

Pool - As others have said, the sunbed situation was a getting silly, 6am is early enough but 80% had gone by even then, but you just get on with it. You need a parasol if you have infants to shade.

Entertainment - Brilliant, Nick and his team are a credit to Thompson, they all work so hard, shouts to Lisa (my girls were very upset to leave you) Paige, Danielle, David and all the others guys you work so hard, we will write to Thompson on your behalf.

Acts - were good and everyone was up dancing once we got into the ampetheatre, which was without doubt in one of the best settings I have ever sat in on holiday.

Location - just right for us, 15 mins walk into town, very lively as you would expect, bus back. Waterparc and funfair great to do if you need to get out of the hotel a bit.
Beach on the door step, we loved it and would spend more time here if we went back.

All in all a great holiday, even after the stumble at the start. Cannot fault it really and would recommend to anyone who wants a family holiday at a top hotel with great food and service.

Do the catamaran and make sure you get the room you paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolyPoly38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Sungarden Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

many thanks for taking the time to share your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and you loved your stay here at Atlantica SunGarden Hotel.

Your nice comments encourage us to continue the hard work and commit ourselves to quality service to meet our guests expectations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have just returned from ten days at the Atlantica Sungargens and had a fantastic holiday. We travelled as a family with two boys aged 8 and 1 and stayed in a bungalow looking out over the activity pool. The room was very clean and spacious with a large balcony with two sun loungers and umbrella. It was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided regularly.

Having never stayed all inclusive before we were pleasantly suprised by the quality and variety of food and having read previous reviews that the food was cold were happy to find this wasnt the case. The restaurant staff worked very hard to ensure a good service and were friendly and good with the kids.

The entertainment provided by Thomson was a hit with our boys and they all worked very hard. As it is peak season kids club was very busy but the reps put on extra sessions in order for more children to attend which avoided disapointment.

The only negative points were the lock on the apartment door was such that our one year old kept escaping from the room at any given opportunity and after booking him in to creche and him not liking it we were not able to get a refund. Otherwise we had a great holiday x

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Sungarden Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we really appreciate that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Many thanks for your kind words and it is our pleasure to identify that you enjoyed your holidays and your expectations were met.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel will provide a very good holiday, mainly due to the efforts of the management and staff, who are super friendly. The food is good, plenty of choice, dont forget that you are not paying 5* prices so dont expect 5* standards. But the A/I package is a very decent standard all round. A choice of quiet and noisy pools is a great idea, one slight warning that several childen, my son included suffered severe ear infections, but there is the most fantastic pharmacist 5 minutes away should you have this problem. So all in all, I would strongly recommend this hotel.
Now on to Thomson, the kids club team are pretty good, they try hard to entertain, have seen better, but they are helpful and friendly. My main gripe may not seem a problem to most, but the main reason I booked this hotel personally was for my 10 year old football mad son. On the web brochure it advertises football activities and I went before booking to a local Thomson shop, to double check it would be available and was told, if it says it on the site then it will be. Despite a well manicured and watered pitch, I was told there were no football activities planned and never had been. In fact the on site staff were fed up with UK advisers giving the wrong information. As I say this may not seem like a huge problem to some, but my son was very disappointed and I would have booked somewhere else if I had been given the correct details. This was not the hotels fault at all, so full marks to them for what they do, but a few deducted from Thomson.

Room Tip: Bungelow apartments are great if you get a free upgrade!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevMac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Sungarden Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews