We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 179
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 267
US$ 238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaos Hotel Apartments(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 97
US$ 90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Senator Hotel Apartments(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nestor Hotel(Ayia Napa)
US$ 219
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Napa Prince Hotel Apartments(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bella Napa Bay Hotel(Ayia Napa)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
US$ 117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faros Hotel(Ayia Napa)
US$ 379
US$ 338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,352)
Filter reviews
1,352 results
Traveller rating
772
369
158
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
369
158
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsactivity poolsausage rollssun gardena la carte restaurantfish pondquiet poolthomson repsmr nicosthe hotel managerkids clubsea viewfamily roomsunbed situationevening entertainmentfootball pitchice creamsun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
899 - 904 of 1,352 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our stay at the hotel may have been colored by the weather, which was colder than usual for mid-April -- about 20 C / 68 F. Obviously not the hotel's fault. That said, on the couple of days that went into the low 70s (in Fahrenheit), one might have been more interested in swimming if the pools hadn't been so darn cold -- neither the outdoor nor the indoor pools seem to be heated. I'm sure that's not a problem if you're there during a heat wave. Other aspects of the hotel that have nothing to do with the weather:

1. Rooms. The room was the worst aspect of our stay. There were four of us--parents plus a 6-year old and a 2-year old--and we booked a room that had a divider in it as well as a view of the ocean, about 40 paces from one of the pools. The room was very small for four, and the air conditioning and refrigerator were loud. The doors don't really provide any barrier to ants or other insects. We, too, had the experience mentioned by at least one other reviewer, namely, that the maid service often left the sliding door unlocked. It is also true that you are not supposed to put your toilet paper in the toilet but rather dispose of it in a trash bin. None of this was enough to ruin our stay--you just take your valuables with you when you leave the room or fork out the 15 EUR fee to use the safe. And you do get used to putting the toilet paper in a bin, as disgusting as it seems at first. One should note here that the toilets elsewhere on the island seem to have similar restrictions. At any rate, the quality of the room itself is definitely in the 2-to-3 star range, but this shouldn't necessarily be a deal-breaker because one rarely spends much time sitting in the room.

2. The food. Definitely edible, but, on average, surprisingly bland. I agree with others that the attempt at theme nights is a farce -- there's a great deal of redundancy to the buffets. Options for vegetarians exist, but the vegetables were often overcooked. No hummus, no eggplant salads... ok, that's more middle eastern, but if they serve mini-samosas, they can serve hummus, no? The fish prepared fresh on most, but not all, evenings was the best thing on offer. Yes, the desserts tended to be all variants of some kind of mousse, except for the ice cream. Staff were instructed to be a little too vigilant about clearing away your plates, so that you really had to instruct neighbors to guard your plate if you had to leave the table for a moment. But it was fine, basically.

2. Kids' Center. A bit on the small side--but the staff are enthusiastic and my older daughter wanted to do nothing else but check out their daily offerings. Minimum age is 3; toddlers aged 2 or younger need to be accompanied by a parent.

3. Evening entertainment. Better than I expected, actually. Changed from night to night, mostly consisting of people who sang to prerecorded music. A couple of guys couldn't sing too well, but mostly they were fine and seemed to enjoy their work. The kids loved the mini-disco at 7:30 pm.

4. Staff. On the whole, very friendly and attentive. Our first impression was negative, though -- we had a late arrival, about 11 pm., and the guy showing us and another family to our rooms basically left us in the dust by failing to account for the fact that a family schlepping two small children and suitcases and hand luggage might not be able to move so fast. But after that, every encounter we had was excellent. Everyone was extremely nice to the kids.

5. Facilities. The exercise rooms are very good. Outdoor pools, though cold, were clean; the indoor pool, a little less so, but not horrible. Two tennis courts: the hard court is in poor condition, with numerous cracks that wreak havoc on the trajectory of the balls; the grass/sand court is better, but it's not swept regularly and had so much sand on it that it was a bit slippery. But they're free. And the hotel provides tennis rackets and balls for free, too.

6. The beach. The grains were finer than I expected, but let's face it: This is not a Caribbean quality beach. Keep your expectations in check. The beach extends all the way into the town harbor, so you can have a nice walk. This means, however, that the beach is not exclusive to the Atlantica hotel. As a result, in spite of signs asking people to keep the beach clean, there was litter--not a disastrous amount, but enough to make you shake your head. I wouldn't fault the hotel per se, it's just that the people staying at this and nearby hotels seem to be a mixed lot, and some of them are the types who smoke a lot and don't hesitate to extinguish their cigarettes in the sand--which is a good way to ruin a beach. We had no issues with people usurping beach or pool-side chairs--it seemed as though there were plenty of them, but then I don't think the hotel was quite sold-out during our stay. Guests came mostly from Germany, Britain, and Russia; the lingua franca, so to speak, was English.

7. The other guests and the surroundings. I came away from this vacation with a negative feeling towards Cyprus. I think the island has been overdeveloped in the last few years, particularly along the coast line, and often with a cheap, strip-mall / spring break bar "ambiance." As a result, you've got a fair number of cockney-speakers covered in tattoos and drinking a lot. Not that they're necessarily bad people, it's just that you might not want to go on vacation with them. We had hoped to go to the Turkish part of the island, but the car rental agency said our insurance would not cover us if we went to the Turkish occupied zone. So our only chance was to go to Nicosia and walk to the Turkish part of the (divided) city. Nicosia was mildly interesting, just to see how the division functioned and to visit a couple of mosques, but both sides of the city are fairly poor and not terribly scenic. The best day trip we did with the kids was to go camel riding -- there's a place in the middle of nowhere, Camel Park Mazotos, about an hour from the hotel by car, where you can ride and feed camels, and the kids had a lot of fun. There's also a small playground and a pool, there. We took in the Hala Sultan Tekke shrine on the same day--it's not far away, and, while it's not extraordinarily memorable for its architecture, it's interesting enough to check out if you're in the neighborhood and have any interest in Islamic culture.

In sum: It's ok, but vacations come so seldom, and they're so damn expensive in terms of plane fare and everything else, that I want better than "ok." We didn't see the whole island, but based on what I saw I would recommend that you consider other travel destinations, regardless of whether you're looking for a beach holiday or an interesting cultural setting. If you're absolutely set on Cyprus, the Atlantica Sungarden is a decent choice -- not wonderful, but not terrible, either.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the atlantica sungarden. We had a family suite located in the main hotel. The hotel is topsy turvy in that you enter reception on level 4 and this is where the bar area is too, you go down to level 1 for the pool and restaurant areas. Our room was one of 7 located on the 4th floor and for us this location was great,very quiet but easily accesible to all amenities.

The family suite was on two levels with a spiral staircase between the two, this worked great for us but I would be very cautious with children under 5 as it was very easy to slip.Our balcony was about 14ft long and had two luxury sunloungers along with parasol,table and 4 chairs. The view was stunning from our room. The room had a kettle and cups with tea,coffee etc that was replenished as used. We had two individually controlled air con units one upstairs and one down. We had two bathrooms,one with a bath the other with a walk in shower cubicle. we also had a good sized fridge. There was a safety deposit box to hire( 15e for 1wk and 25e for 2wk). The sockets were standard UK 3 pin. There was also a hairdryer in the room. Rooms are operated by key card and you were given two at check in , extra cards available if youre party needed it. You were given a wrist band at check in to wear throughout your stay( children also).

Location is great. Buses are free for children and a 2 euro ticket will take you on several buses in one day, we travelled to Paralimini,Protaras,Penera and Nissi Beach without any problems.

The pool area is nice,lots of loungers and lots of green space away from the pools to settle yourself down on a lounger and chill out.

Kids used the kids club which had just opened up for the season and had a good time. There wasnt many daytime activities up and running when we stayed ( only for the TUI German guests ) but the plans for the main season looked good. There is a park area and a football area , plus two tennis courts, 3 pool tables, ping pong table etc in the hotel.

Food and drink was excellent, as already said I food it a little colder than I would like at times but this didnt impair our enjoyment. excellent choice of foor and drink although not many drinks menus around which made it hard to initially find out what was included.

Overall a great family holiday in a superb location on a fantastic island.

Room Tip: do not change your money at recption!!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank b4ley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we really appreciate that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Many thanks for your kind words and it is our pleasure to identify that you enjoyed your holidays and your expectations were met.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Fantastic hotel in a great location overlooking Grecian Bay and the sea. We had a bungalow room which had an enormous balcony complete with sunbeds. The pool areas are immaculate and have plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The all inclusive package was the best I have had in a 4 star hotel-virtually all soft drinks ,cocktails included. The food was also excellent quality and the service was great-you did not get the impression that you were in a canteen!!!Would definately reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolanne2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

many thanks for taking the time to share your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and you loved your stay here at Atlantica SunGarden Hotel.

Your nice comments encourage us to continue the hard work and commit ourselves to quality service to meet our guests expectations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was the first package holiday we have been on and we blown away with the hotel.
The setting is lovely with all but a few rooms having a sea view. The serving staff were so friendly and efficient. The variety and quality of food was amazing. The best thing about being all inclusive is not having to worry about any hidden extras. Our children loved being able to go to the bar whenever they wanted to and order drinks, ice cream or extra food if they were peckish. My husband went on an organised trip to the capital and had a wonderful time. I agree with another review re the hotness of the food but this was minor when taken with everything else. We were dissapointed to find the pool was so cold and we couldn't bring ourselves to go in and when the children did the were so cold afterwards that it took ages for them to warm up. The sea was lovely though.
Evening entertainment was good as well. We would definately return to this hotel if looking for a totally relaxing all inclusive holiday You really couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Sit back, relax and enjoy yourself.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline-Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we really appreciate that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Many thanks for your kind words and it is our pleasure to identify that you enjoyed your holidays and your expectations were met.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Me and my partner have just arrived back from a lovely all inclusive week (10th-17th April) at the Atlantica sungarden and we had a fantastic break.

Check in:
The hotel was very busy when we arrived as 3 UK flights landed at the same time. The staff were very efficient checking people in, but there needed to be more staff to direct guests to their rooms. After a long journey, all you want to do is get your room and chill, but we waited nearly an hour to be directed to our room.

Pools:
The infinity pool is beautiful and very clean. Unfortunately it was a bit cold to take a dip whilst we were there, but we enjoyed our lazy days sunbathing around it. Most people don’t realise that there is another massive lagoon pool with a swim up bar by the garden bungalows. This is beautiful too! Apparently all the poolside activities take place here in the summer. Thankfully, there were no sunbed wars in April but I can imagine in the summer months it may be an early start for you if you want the best beds.

Room:
We had booked a junior suite, and it was absolutely brilliant. The junior suites are not located in the main part of the hotel. They are located out the front of the reception to the right next to the lagoon pool. In our opinion, they were much better located than the rooms in the main building of the hotel (and the views were beautiful). The best bit about the actual room was the football pitch sized balcony and the lovely sun loungers to go with it. I think the junior suites are normally used for b&b or self catering guests because it was fully equipped with cooking rings, fridge, table etc. We didn’t really use these facilities but they would be useful if guests were not all inclusive.

Staff:
On the whole the staff were extremely friendly, especially the waitresses and waiters in the restaurant. They are very quick to show you to a table at lunch and dinner and seemed to be very efficient.

Food:
Generally the food was very good throughout our holiday. There was plenty of variety at all meal times and I doubt anyone would go hungry. However, this is where our main gripe lay. We completely understand that it is very hard to ensure that the entire buffet is piping hot. Nevertheless, it became a daily occurrence that the pasta/rice/veg etc was at most, luke warm. This is only a minor issue but I think the hotel need to find a better way of heating these types of foods. Saying this, the a la carte restaurant was absolutely lovely. The food was presented well, was hot and the service was great. You can visit here once per stay....definitely go!!!

Facilities:
We didn’t use the indoor pool or the spa treatments but they seemed popular among other guests. Again, although we didn’t use it, the tennis courts and table tennis were enjoyed by many during our stay. Our main issue with regard to the facilities was the lack of a courtesy room. Due to our late departure we asked to keep our room on for the day (which was quite steep at 50 euros). However, we thought it would be worth it so that we could make the most of our last day. We were told to come back at 10am the day of departure to find out whether we could keep the room. We completely appreciate that if the hotel is fully booked it is hard for guests to keep their room, but not finding out until 10am the day you leave is way too late. Unfortunately for us, we were unable to keep our room on which meant a day in the sun and no courtesy room to shower properly and change. Instead we were directed to a tiny shower on the second floor which coincidentally was waiting to be used by hundreds of other guests (due to there being 4 UK flights leaving at a similar time). In low season, the hotel’s current arrangements may work fine, but I think they will experience problems in the summer months when the hotel is at full capacity if they don’t provide a room for people to shower in before they leave.

Location:
The hotel is wonderfully located and has brilliant views. The beach is about a 5 minute walk down a manmade footpath and it is about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Ayia Napa either via the road (left out of the hotel) or right along the beach. The centre wasn’t very busy in April, but I can imagine the hustle and bustle in the summer months. Bars looked nice and were either being renovated or just getting ready to open.

Beach:
The beach is beautiful....one of the best I have seen (apart from the Caribbean). The water is calm and perfectly clear. During the summer months they also have lots of water sports going on there. We also took the bus (for 1 euro) to Nissi beach (apparently the best on the island). This was stunning too. We were very impressed.

Transport:
The buses are brilliant in Cyprus and are definitely worth using. The bus stop is about 50m from the front of the hotel and it goes all the way down the East coast. You can buy a day pass (to anywhere) for 2 euros and we thought this was a bargain. We didn’t use taxi’s as the bus was so good, but they were readily available if you wanted to get somewhere quickly and not wait around for the bus.

Overall, we had a wonderful holiday in Ayia Napa at the Sun garden. Aside from the few issues we have mentioned (which are really minor and could be rectified very easily) we really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely recommend the hotel. As for Ayia Napa itself, I am not sure I would visit here in July/August as I can envisage it being a clubbers haven. Nevertheless, the hotel itself is very family orientated and a walk from the centre so you shouldn’t experience any rowdiness etc if you are going then. Book it if you haven’t already :-) and feel free to contact me if I can help in any other way.

Happy holidays!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lucy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews