We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great break though not my usual choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adams Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adams Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
216 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“A great break though not my usual choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

I should say first that we did not choose this hotel ourselves. We were going to a Cypriot wedding, and the reception was at the hotel, so the bride booked it for us. I found the Trip Advisor reviews hard to get a handle on what the place was like, so I hope this review fills the gap. It is a large hotel, and new luxury suites are opening in June. So, who are the clients and what does the hotel offer different groups? When we were there it was a mixture of young families and older couples looking for early sun. There were many nationalities, with Brits, Russians, Ukrainians and other eastern Europeans. Staff were also mixture of locals and others. Rooms I would guess are like most hotels in terms of different positions and what you pay for etc. ours was a side sea view room. It faced the front of the hotel so was quiet, not especially large and a large amount of carpet for a Med hotel. However, it was well kitted out and well thought tho in terms of mirrors, hanging space etc. I think it was recently redecorated too. The housekeeping was excellent. Reception staff were efficient, and in fact all the staff were well run by the managers. I think they need to work on efficiently providing a more warm service. Some staff ( Andreas reception) had this already! The tidying up at meals was ruthless . Breakfast was the only meal we had in the main dining area, and it had a wide choice. Even more fresh fruit could have been offered I think. The eggs were freshly cooked which was good. We had lunch in both the poolside bar and the seaside taverna. The pool bar was excellent, food, service, warmth. The taverna less so, so we only went there once. The water pools etc are great for smaller and larger people and great for both toddlers, with shallows and fountains, and teenagers with rapids and water slides. There were certainly lots of Brit weddings going on! Our Cypriot reception for over 700 was handled splendidly by the hotels. The Glasshouse restaurant on floor 5 is amazing to look at, has good views and excellent food. We also enjoyed the quietness of the piano bar. We actually like smaller hotels, but for what it does, it does well. The hairdresser deserves a mention for the excellence of her blow drys! You don't have to walk far from the hotel to find places to eat either. So, not sure why some reviews are so negative . A week in the sun, with clean efficient service at a good price, looking out onto Nissi Bay. what's not to like?

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BoldlyGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    315
    204
    109
    51
See reviews for
665
464
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Adams Beach approximately 5 or 6 times in the last 12 years. The Adams was always an excellent hotel but in recent years has become far too wedding orientated with huge wedding parties and their guests (some staying at other hotels in the vicinity) 'gatecrashing' the facilities. The wedding parties always seemed to be a priority over other paying guests and we found this to be a bit of an insult. We always struggled to get sunbeds and found ourselves having to set our alarm at 7am just to join all the other Brits to get a spot; hence not a relaxing holiday. Even at this ridiculous hour, many sunbeds had already been taken and the hotel did little to address the issue.

The excellent things about this hotel are the location, right on Nissi Beach, and the pool facilities with slides, although we started to notice that they weren't being maintained as they should have been for a 5 star hotel, and some of the tiles were breaking away on the floor of the pool.

The Adams is not far from the many restaurants and bars on Nissi Avenue. if you wish to venture further the buses are really cheap and run approx every 15 minutes in peak season, stopping right near the hotel. They are far cheaper than the taxis who seem to charge what they like and never have a meter running. I have discovered that this is becoming a bit of a problem in Cyprus, particularly Paphos, and it appears that the taxi drivers are not happy about losing a lot of their trade to the buses!

We only stayed on B&B basis and there was always a good selection of food on offer; however, breakfast was always a bit of a mad scrum with the usual pushing and shoving and children running around.

I would say this hotel is ideal for younger children because of the pools and the slides. We won't return to this hotel since we discovered the Alion Beach Hotel nearer Protaras. The Alion really is 5 star and a lot smaller, with sun beds allocated on arrival and the best staff we have ever encountered.

The Adams always used to be a 4 star hotel and that basically is what it is. I am not sure what criteria hotels have to meet in order to get upgraded to 5 star.

Apart from the negatives mentioned, we did always enjoy our holidays at the Adams Beach (first staying in 1995 when it was so much quieter). It is one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Cyprus and I think also better than Nissi Beach!

A sea view room is definitely the best option!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

got married at this hotel and was unimpressed with rooms and decor but found it to be quite the norm for a med hotel.couldn't relax as it wasn't a normal family holiday but that wasn't the hotels fault.

ok i will sum this hotel up very quickly.
rooms-dated
food-ok
pools-brilliant
wedding services-good
beach access-brilliant
location-good

only thing i felt was as i was getting married here they tried to extort money on after wedding extras such as food,flowers,cake and champagne.top tip is don't sign things to you room as it is quite easy to run up a big bill very quickly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Definitely not a five star hotel this establishment leaves much to be desired. The service, food, hospitality, facilities and rooms are far from satisfactory. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality experience. In fact the ony thing it has going for it is the location. nissi beach is absolutely stunning!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Elia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland (american expat)
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed for one week in April during the spring vacation. Since the weather is not very hot at this period, we hoped to play tennis and use the indoor, heated pool for our small children of 4 and 8 years old. Sadly, the pool was freezing and not at all as claimed on the website. I don't know if lights even existed, but they were never turned on and it was dark and very sad in that indoor pool area. Maybe they use it to avoid the extreme heat in the summer? Not sure, but it was not a possibility to swim in it during our visit. Also, we hoped to play tennis, since the weather was mild and perfect for it. But, the hotel no longer has a court, or the new construction of the new wing is taking its place...not sure again. But, we had to play next door and it was the worst court I've ever played on. Ridiculous.
On the positive side, the hotel staff were really nice. Especially Barbara in the Kids Club. She was enthusiastic (despite the dark play room location) and kept the kids busy and happy. The food was pretty good for "buffet". Nice choices. Pool area very nice, but cold. Beach access very nice. As others have written, I am sure it's just great for the hot summer months, but for April, they need a real heated pool somewhere and tennis court.
Major construction going on behind the Queen Suite and 1/2 the hotel planned to be finished in mid-June. Can be quite loud early in the morning.

Room Tip: We had the Queen Suite room 830. Last room on the row of Queen suites. Great location, best in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissmiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
2.8 km away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#4 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
0.3 km away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
3.9 km away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#1 of 106 in Ayia Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Vassos Nissi Plage Hotel
Vassos Nissi Plage Hotel
#34 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 km away
Asterias Beach Hotel
Asterias Beach Hotel
#10 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
4.0 km away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Beach Hotel

Property: Adams Beach Hotel
Address: Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#26 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,846 - ₹ 20,468
Hotel Class:5 star — Adams Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adams Beach Hotel is peacefully set on the beautiful sandy beach of Nissi Bay and is within a short distance of the resort center, Ayia Napa – Cyprus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Adams Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Beach Ayia Napa
Hotel Adams Beach
Adams Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing