We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Floria

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Almancil, Loule, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Travelwis...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Selling the sizzle.....AVOID this place if you are looking for a comfortable, pleasant stay at a villa on the Algarve!”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Floria in mid-January 2015. What a disappointment! It was so uncomfortable and disappointing we desperately wished we had not booked it. There was a serious leak from the master bathroom shower, which had spread all the way down the walls of the staircase leading to the main living and dining area and also spread across the kitchen ceiling. All the affected plaster and paintwork was bubbling and mouldy. More dampness and mould was rising from the garage/basement, all the way up the staircase leading up to the living accommodation. The result? The entire house was cold and very damp. Because of the leak and condensation, with no extractor fan, no heating and the electric towel rail broken, it was impossible to air out or dry out the master bathroom. As a result, the tiled bathroom floor was permanently soaking wet, which made it incredibly slippery and hazardous. The sheets and towels remained very damp all week. We called the agent to show him the problems at the villa. He was reluctant to come in, asking me to explain the problems over the phone, but we insisted. He arrived and told us he was already aware of the leaks, but clearly had made no attempt to have them fixed. He told us he was also aware that the electric towel rail (the once source of heat in the bathroom) was broken. Again, no attempt to repair or replace it. Other problems were that two of the four gas rings in the kitchen did not work and neither did the pilot light. The kitchen was very poorly equipped (no coffee machine) with a lot of chipped and cracked crockery (which we also showed him) and the kitchen clock was literally hanging off the wall by its wires. The agent said he had known about this, too. We asked him to show us how to ignite the log-effect, glass-fronted, wall-mounted gas fire in the living area, so we could get a little warmth into the place and try to dry it out a bit. His response was that it was forbidden for guests to use the "fireplace" at all - "because it uses too much gas!" The Sky TV also did not work, yet the villa is advertised on TRIPADVISOR as having both "Satellite TV" and "Fireplace" - neither of which worked or was usable by guests. We were astonished to be informed by the agent that there was no maid service and that we would have to empty all the kitchen and bathroom waste bins, put the rubbish in our car and drive to one of the municipal communal waste bin sites and dispose of all the refuse ourselves. The villa was not cleaned and there were no changes of towels, sheets or any linens for the whole stay. Every other villa we have ever leased (on the Algarve or elsewhere) has been immaculate, with daily maid service and refuse disposal by the maids. We also intensely disliked the neighbourhood where the villa is situated, which is scruffy and semi-industrial. Our immediate view from the villa was over a very dilapidated house next door, with a large plot of land completely overgrown with weeds and a rusty old disused cement-mixer on permanent display. Across the road is a house which is also used as a car mechanic's yard, enclosed by chain-link fences, with 8-10 vehicles and a rusty old tractor parked there, all waiting to be repaired. A lot of noise emanated from the car mechanic's yard. On the road in to the villa is a gravel quarry, with piles of gravel, sand and rubbish, all enclosed by chain-link fencing with disintegrating, shredded shade cloth/canvas flapping in the wind. Obviously the owners and agent cannot control what goes on in the immediate surroundings, but we would never have booked this villa had we been aware of the nature of the neighbourhood and the true facts about its location. Villa Floria is actually one of six identical townhouses, built as a stepped terrace on a hillside. It is the last house in the terrace, at the bottom of the hill, so obviously all the rainwater flows down the hill and collects beneath this house, further adding to the problems of extreme dampness. The small garden and patch of grass at the back of the house were saturated with water and remained waterlogged for the duration of our stay. Finally, the pictures of the interiors of this house on TRIPADVISOR have been taken with a wide-angled lens and the rooms all appear at least 150% larger than they actually are. Based on the pictures, we expected a really spacious, luxury villa. That is not what we found. Two friends from the UK were supposed to join us there as our guests, but had to cancel their trip due to ill health. We were so relieved that it had transpired that they could not come, because we would have been mortified that we had unsuspectingly booked such a place. It was a complete disappointment in all respects. We would much rather have stayed at home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was nothing we liked about this property - it was damp, dark and did not even get any direct sunlight into the living areas!
Liked least: The all-pervading dampness and complete lack of maid service, cleaning or refuse disposal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Dear...

So sick that i am of reading and trading emails with these guests that i do not even have read the full content of this review, i am answering without even reading it. These guests couldn't possibly be satisfied as they are professional complainers, 99% of what is in the review or the emails we traded is a blatant lie, enough evidence to support this statement are the other six five star reviews for this villa. We take our reputation seriously and i am extremely disappointed that sometimes we have to put up with these kind of people and that we have to accept their reviews even though it's all lies. People that do not know their place and have nothing better to do than to annoy others. Someone who never threw away the trash because they were expecting us to throw away their own trash... enough said. Please never come back, thank you. I would pay not to have to see you again, ever.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
322debbie
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in many Villas over the years and found Villa Floria to be the best equiped by far! It is perfect for families and very well situated in the area between Vale Do Lob, Quinta Da Lago and Vilamoura. A car is a must to get around but the beach is only a 5 miniute drive away. When we arrived at the villa, there were a couple of little maintenance jobs that were required, nothing serious, some light bulbs were not working and the air con unit was leaking. We called the management company who sent someone round straight away! Excellent service! I would not hesitate to recommend this villa and the rental company, Seashell and would definately use them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was modern, bright and very clean.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday
Liked least: The wi-fi was a little slow at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clara2013
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa home from home”
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We travelled from Ireland myself , husband and 3 kids 3 , 6 and 12 . We had an amazing time . Villa had everything we needed pool and garden are very private and garden is very secure, locked gate at back and electric gates to front of villa .We stayed for a week and rented a car everywhere is within short distance to villa ,shops etc .Antonio and his wife were very helpful full throughout our stay ,would recommend this villa to anyone young or old and especially to those who have kids and just want a home from home holiday in the sun !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and location of villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: microwave broke
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing