We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
714
486
216
93
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
486
216
93
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool studio spa suite serviced daily tennis courts squash court margaret river an upgrade beach access short drive full kitchen geographe bay great spot long weekend family holiday cafe atrium facilities
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Donna and the amazing team at Abbey Beach Resort held our wedding on 17th March 2018.
Donna was professional, experienced, had numerous backup plans and coordinated everything beautifully.
We encouraged our family and friends to make a three day weekend out of it by staying at the resort Friday and Saturday nights and they all absolutely loved it! The resort facilities are amazing, the ceremony gardens are beautiful, the ballroom looked like a fairytale, the John Abbey Bar was a good area for pre-reception drinks & canapes, and the photo locations onsite and in the local area (adjacent beach, Busselton Jetty) made the photos beautiful. The planning done by Donna and her team made everything go so well leading up to and on the day, and there was no request she couldn't fulfil. All of the food was top quality and the service was exceptional. There is nothing we didn’t love about our wedding day, and we have Donna and the team at Abbey Beach Resort to thank for that!
We highly recommend them for your wedding or functions!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Skinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyBeachResort1, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Brett & Cass,

May we start off with a BIG CONGRATULATIONS!

We have shared your wonderful review with Donna and the team who put in a lot of hard work to ensure that your wedding goes as perfectly as the two of you hoped. It is lovely to read that you were able to make the most of the whole resort, with your pre-dinner drinks, photos and wonderful night all on site. We could not have asked for better feedback.

Once again thank you for your great review and we are pleased to know that we were able to make your special day perfect. We hope to see you for your 1st Anniversary if not before!

Kind Regards Abbey Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

My partner and I booked Abbey Beach Resort on a very spur of the moment over the Easter Weekend (like called up to check any availabilities and on the road in the space of 30 minutes). On our way there, we did a bit of research on the website, Facebook page and TripAdvisor. At first I was little hesitant as the reviews were mixed, but we took in a deep breath and did not go in with high expectations. Busselton is a beautiful place, and ultimately, this is just somewhere we needed to rest our head at night.

Upon check-in we noted how the lobby was quite nice and big and we were greeted by a friendly and personable Lisa, who remembered our very quick phone call. Check in was nice and quick and quickly headed into our room.

We stayed in a Studio Spa Suite for two nights and was exactly like the photos advertised. Decor was indeed outdated but was equipped with everyone you would need. It was quite spacious and we had very comfortable sleeps.

All the staff were super friendly and so were the guests that we passed by.

The resort has 2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, 2 restaurants, 1 cafe, tennis court AND direct access to the beach (definitely recommend to sneak out at 6am to check out the magnificent sunrise). It’s the perfect place for families as you are spoilt for choice in what to eat and what to do.

You are also 10 minutes away from the city center and surrounded by abundant off other food places and groceries on the main road

The only things I can comment that the aircon was very strong (nothing that a little night breeze can’t fix) and the blankets were a bit rough, but all in all, my partner and I throughly enjoyed your stay and wouldn’t definitely come back.

No, it’s not super luxurious and isn’t hip or trendy, but it’s not trying to be those things. I would definitely recommend Abbey Beach Resort for those who are looking to enjoy all a resort can offer whilst offering that familiar homely feel.

Thanks guys!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anastajia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Anastajia C,

It was really nice to read your feedback regarding your recent trip to Busselton and that you chose to stay at the Resort for your last minute trip and quick getaway. We will be sharing your feedback with all of our team especially Lisa who will appreciate the positive feedback. We appreciate in this day and age the amount of research that goes into looking through reviews and feedback before deciding to stay somewhere. We realise that more time is spent posting negative reviews rather than positive ones making it hard to decide where to stay.
It was nice to see that after some consideration you did decide to stay at the Resort giving us the chance to provide the friendly and helpful service to which we are proud of.

We thank you again and hope to see you again for another homely stay with us again, hopefully you will be able to extend your next visit.

Kind Regards
Abbey Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

For the price you pay for a room you get little for your money, no breakfast included no bus service to town the supposedly heated pool is cold you need to trek into the restaurant to get towels and the heated spa would work for a minuet then brake down.
No valay service staff didn't evan bother with directions for your room. very poor service for what it costs and if you are disabled then you will have to pay extra.

Room Tip: all the rooms can be noisy as there is parking all around the accommodation areas
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Anthony B,

We regret that your stay with us did not meet either your our our expectations. We wish we had the chance to go through some of the issues you have raised during your stay with us.

When booking the room online there are different packages available for everyone to choose some include breakfast depending on the guests requirements and purpose of stay. Not everyone wants a breakfast option and this is why we along with almost every hotel and resort in the world offer a room only rate so that you are not paying for an option you will not require or use. With the Bus service you mentioned we actually have a public transport bus stop virtually directly out the front of the Resort for those who would want to take advantage of this service with the front office team having the schedule available at request so you don’t have to wait in-between buses.

The heated pool is tested twice for temperature and chemical levels throughout the day to make sure this is enjoyable for all. The temperature ranges from 28 – 31 degrees so that it is appropriate for all to enjoy form the small right through older guests wanting to relax. The pool towels are available from the Café which is located directly next to the heated pool. On investigating the issue with the spa there is no mention on the Managers Duty Log regarding the spa having an issue and we apologise if there was an issue. The spa does however have an automatic turn off after 20 minutes so that it does not run continuously, a procedure that given the same facilities is common place throughout the world.

It was really disappointing that you also found our staff and their service to be lacking as we do receive a lot of feedback regarding the great and personal service that we would hope to be delivered for all our guests. I will address the staff about these comments and pass them onto the respective managers to follow up. As mentioned we regret that this stay was not what we would have hoped for and do hope you will stay with us again in the future so we may have the chance to leave you with a nicer and more lasting memory about our Resort.

Kind Regards
Abbey Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had our wedding and reception at Abbey Beach on March 16 this year. I cannot fault the service or how much effort they went to, to make sure it was a wonderful day and occasion for us.
We dealt with Donna, the functions co-ordinator and her efforts were amazing.
From the first time we sat down with her, to tasting the wines we could choose, to organising the agenda, to their referral partners who were all so excellent and to changing and checking details so constantly, I would have no hesitation in recommending her or the resort to anyone thinking of planning a function.
Just some of the benefits I can list -
We needed a speaker for the celebrant with a CD player . No extra cost and no issues. Checking the CD player 1 hr before the event, they replaced it immediately and ensured no hiccups during the ceremony. We wanted chairs for all guests and not just a few for the oldies. No problems and this was catered for.
The food. Everyone remembers a wedding by the food. Well, our guests remembered it ok. Every single person commented on the quality of the food and how nice it was. We had 64 guests and to hear no complaints was great. Nothing goes 100% perfect and there were minor little things, but they were very small and minor and overall the guests ratings and our ratings were of the highest grade.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Abbey Beach Resort for making our wedding a wonderful day and doing everything possible to make sure it all flowed smoothly and was enjoyed by everyone.
The added benefit of being able to have the ceremony in the lovely gardens, being able to supply our own drinks at the actual ceremony part of the day and people not having to drive afterwards was great. People could relax and enjoy.
There were many other small things done along the way and communication was excellent all the time.
To Donna, her referral partners, Abbey Beach Resort and all staff involved, we thank you for making our special day a day to remember for the right reasons. You did what you could to make it the best possible. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Jeff G,

May we start off with a BIG CONGRATLALUTIONS and hope that the honeymoon went well for you and your now wife. We will be sharing your feedback with all the team and especially Donna who certainly puts in a lot of hard work to make sure everyone’s special day goes as smoothly as both you and ourselves could hope for. It was really nice to read that both you and all of your guests enjoyed this magnificent occasion and we couldn’t have asked for a better review regarding the whole event.

Once again thank you for this great review and we are very pleased that you both had a wonderful time and hope to see you again and hopefully before your 1St Anniversary for a sneaky weekend away.

Kind Regards
Abbey Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Before you read my review, read the responses of the management to the negative reviews. It is not how they react to positive reviews but the negative ones that told me what to expect as a guest. We booked this resort as my colleague and I were staying for two days and had the attitude that we can do most things for two days.
The $35 Wi-Fi set the tone for my expectations. I don’t need to be told what a 100mb gets me. If you explain it you know what little it gets your guests.
After a 30 minute check in the rooms were what I would have expected for @$170 a night if I were staying in Bulgaria. Looked like 1980 left its furniture when it checked out.
That to be honest was the best part.
When I asked for a Do not disturb sign they said that I should lock my door. Not sure how that would let house keeping from knocking on my door and waking me up. Locks are for safety and not privacy.
The hotel, by my guess of not seeing a single sole during my stay about 10-15 guests.
When we asked for a late check out we were told that 10am was normal check out ( who the hell does a 10am check out in the year 2018) and that they could give us 11am and charge us $20 for additional hours thereafter.
Their reason for not giving us a noon check out was they were expecting a large group to arrive. So $20 an hour is what makes it possible for the hordes to be held off while my room is made up.
This I’m guessing is management issue as no front desk person could think of such insane reason not to accommodate a guest.
I spend approximately 150 days in hotels a year some name brands and some that are owned by individuals but never had an experience like this one for the price I paid. If Hilton or Marriott come into town I would see this place closing doors.
It’s refreshing to know that I don’t have to put up with this level of silliness on a regular basis.

Stayed: March 2018
5  Thank efegrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Manager at Abbey Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Efegrs,

WOW Let’s not let the facts get in the way of a good story….

The Resort team appreciate all the research you’ve done before travelling ( including looking at Trip Advisor) and staying with us at the Resort and believe with the research that you undertook you would have seen the many photos of the resort both posted by ourselves and other guests that stay with us. From these photos and those on our own website through which you booked you would notice that they are actual images of the Resort and not made up or made to appear something that the Resort is not. We believe the product we advertise is correctly represented and marketed and in no way leads people to believe they are paying for one thing and receiving another.

As a team we believe we respond to each and every review fairly after taking the time to research the review and gather information and facts. We don’t post generic responses preferring to take the time to research and then respond appropriately to each individual review.
You are correct that sometimes the responses to negative reviews can be direct ( but factual). Social media now allows everyone to be a travel guide/ keyboard warrior and when people like yourselves make factually incorrect comments and statements ( some of which are outside of the Resorts control ) its only fair and correct to respond both fairly and correctly as all readers need to be aware what is written in reviews is not always correct. The Team is aware we are not perfect and can get things wrong or incorrect and having read the reviews you can see that we are more than willing to say so and are the first to admit this. Its disappointing you only spent 2 days in the Region, as there is so much more to explore than can be done in 2 days however we are at a loss as to how you manage to make it an issue for the Resort and review it as such under the Resorts name?

To compare the Resort to a Resort in Bulgaria I think could be misconstrued as being offensive and we are sure that there will be people reading your comments that will take offence. Having done some research regarding your spiteful comment we have seen some absolutely beautiful hotels and places to stay in Bulgaria so we as a team are confused and are not sure what you meant by this comment but we will take it as a compliment, thank you.

Your comments regarding check in are factually incorrect. Management have been back through the CCTV footage and have clear and precise imagery and sound recording of both you and your friend checking in at 1.06pm. Immediately upon entering the building and without any delay or hesitation you were both warmly greeted by one of our Guest Service Agents who dealt with you both promptly, took you both through the arrival procedures, processed payment and then explained about the Resort and what we had to offer along with clear and precise instructions on how to find your room. This was all completed with you both walking away from reception at 1.11pm. Where did you spend the other 25 minutes? Perhaps the footage could be posted on social media for everyone to make their own judgement.

As you mentioned the Guest Service Agent did explain the Wi-Fi and the process of logging in along with the daily data allowance. After research and feedback management increased the data allowance although don’t advertise it as such, unfortunately no matter what allowance is allocated to some it will never be enough. Its correct that an unlimited package is $35.00 which allows multiple devices for the duration of a guests stay. Having researched quite extensively both in Perth, Australia and overseas in a number of countries this is fairly standard. It appears from your comments you are aware of how WIFI works which is great, unfortunately many guests aren’t so the team take the time to explain how it works to avoid guest frustration and angst so we apologise for not being aware you know how the Resorts individual WIFI service operates ( but one wonders how, given this was your first visit to the Resort).

As per your booking confirmation checkout time is advised as 10 am and cleaning of rooms by housekeeping does not start until after this time. Should a guest not want a service they put the privacy lock on ( as advertised in the key pack given on check in) and this will ensure the team do not enter the room, alternatively advising reception is recommended ensures Housekeeping will not enter the room. In regards to the late checkout, you obviously missed reading the information on the website and when booking regarding the checkout time. Due to your comment the Management team researched hotels and Resorts in the Region, Perth, Australia, USA, UK, and found that most have the same check in and checkout times as ourselves with a couple offering 11.00am checkout but a 3.00pm check in effectively the same, effectively it’s worldwide . As mentioned previously housekeeping start at 10 am and given guests like yourselves checked in at 1.00pm its imperative they access the rooms to clean. If you required a later checkout, perhaps you could have booked a Resort that offered it, rather than book and accept the terms of booking, but then expect to be able to change the terms when you wish. The fee charged is so that Housekeeping team members can stay longer and be paid to clean the room vacated by a late checkout. Management is aware a couple of the large Hotel chains offer there privilege members or VIPS early arrival/ late checkouts however as an independent operator its not always possible for us to offer it and having accepted the terms and conditions of booking, how is it that you expect to change those to suit yourself and then abuse the team when you don’t get it? Your researched failed to show you that the big chains are already in the Region ( some having been and gone due it being a difficult market place) and don’t offer the same as ourselves, ie reception only open part of the day, no WIFI at all, and they offer a 10 am checkout – who does that!

The team regret you appear not to have enjoyed your stay or time in the Region but believe many of your comments are both factually incorrect and in some cases defamatory. Its also disappointing you did not speak to a Manager regarding your comments or issues choosing instead to use social media and be a keyboard warrior.

Thanks once again for your review and comments which is short of facts but full of fiction.

Kind Regards

Abbey Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews