We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magdala Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Attended a dinner there last night for 32 Delegates from Wesern Victoria Association of Historical Societies. Booked for 32, set for 26 so had to move tables and add. Following our meal we had a Guest Speaker ( at this stage there were no other patrons in the Restaurant). While our Speaker was speaking, members of the staff and family of the owners sat at a table and proceeded to play videos on an ipad at a volume that overrode our speaker. Previous visits to make the booking were met by a very friendly and professional Receptionist ( cannot fault her service). The kitchen seemed very understaffed and delivery of meals was erratic. Food quality was very good though and Waiting Staff friendly and helpful despiste seeming to be run off thier feet. A less than great impression was taken away by some of our Delegates and our Speaker (A well known local business owner).

Room Tip: Other guests stated nice clean comfortable rooms, no highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

From the nice lady at reception who speedily processed our check in to the waitresses who made meal times pleasant, the quiet rooms, easy parking and excellent facilities, our 3 night business stay at the Magdala Lodge was extremely pleasant.
Always late, we did not faze the chef or the staff with dinner orders and the bar had a good selection of drinks, in fact some particularly good red wines.
I would recommend Magdala Motor Lodge to any travellers in Stawell

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FarmerJohn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

You have to try the flower pot bread. It is a small loaf of bread baked in a flower pot served hot with nice butter.
My wife & I shared one & it filled us up.

I had the fettuccine pasta dish which was huge & very tasty.
My wife had the penne pasta dish which she said was great.

We both did not eat all of our meal as we were so full.

The service was excellent with attentive & timely staff

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dazza857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Pros
- Big space outside for parking
- Heated public pool for use very clean and large-ish
- Pool provides new-ish pool noodles
- Small quiet lake <5 meters from the back door
- TV quite good, but does not provide a DVD player (there is a HDMI cable slot though)
- WIFI internet is of a high quality

Cons
- Very small room overall
- Saw a spider crawl in the roof
- No bathroom lock
- No shower curtain/door

Overall adequate for general living, quite affordable and area generally hygienic

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Stayed overnight with my 88 year old Father. The lady in reception and the restaurant was very helpful. Our room was large and overlooked the lake which helped with noise reduction from the highway traffic.

Walking with a quad stick was difficult on the uneven brick path to the restaurant. Couldn't get over the step into the restaurant from the path closest to our room. Best access is through reception. If you can negotiate a small step.

Hopefully, the path near the lake will be improved soon.

The food and the service was excellent and reasonably priced.

The motel is once again a Golden Chain member which makes for a more affordable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms further from highway would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DisabledClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
46 reviews
19.4 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
22.3 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#3 of 6 in Stawell
59 reviews
22.7 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
21.8 km away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdala Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdala Motor Lodge

Address: 3149 Western Hwy, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range: ₹ 6,164 - ₹ 7,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magdala Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magdala Motor Lodge, located two and a half hours from Melbourne's central business district and five hours from Adelaide, is an excellent stopover between the cities and an ideal destination from which to explore the Grampians National Park, and the world renowned vineyards and wineries of the Grampians and Pyrenees. Set on 20 acres, Magdala Motor Lodge is the quietest motel in Stawell. Set on 20 acres, the Magdala Motor Lodge offers excellent food, accommodation and services for the corporate person, holiday makers and tour groups. The management and staff will be delighted to give you all the information you need to take advantage of the attractions of the area. Located on the outskirts of Stawell, the Magdala Motor Lodge consists of 28 units and a restaurant all overlooking a man made lake and rural land. The motel is variously described as 'The one with the moat', or 'The one with the ducks'. Our wild black ducks are so accustomed to people that they nest in the car park, gardens and tap on the windows in the morning to encourage guests to feed them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Magdala Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing