We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Disabled Room, Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magdala Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Stayed overnight with my 88 year old Father. The lady in reception and the restaurant was very helpful. Our room was large and overlooked the lake which helped with noise reduction from the highway traffic.

Walking with a quad stick was difficult on the uneven brick path to the restaurant. Couldn't get over the step into the restaurant from the path closest to our room. Best access is through reception. If you can negotiate a small step.

Hopefully, the path near the lake will be improved soon.

The food and the service was excellent and reasonably priced.

The motel is once again a Golden Chain member which makes for a more affordable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms further from highway would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DisabledClient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We have just come after staying a week in this fantastic Motel. From checkin to checkout the staff and service was fantastic. When inside the room there is a sliding door out to the lake, where we were created by 2 black swans, what a treat to just sit outside and watch them and some ducks swim around.
We ate at the attached Macs restaurant which has beautiful food and reasonable price meals.

The only downside to the motel was, there was no cupboards in the bathroom to put things nor in the room itself.
Would I stay again? To right I would.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank itskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Over the last couple of months I had the pleasure of being a regular visitor to the Stawell area, and chose to stay at Magdala motor lodge, very nice rooms and surroundings , the staff are very friendly and the meals are second to none, I had the pleasure to meet the owners and staff and to watch the two chefs at work, they are both very dedicated and professional who expect nothing but the best presented meals and this shows in the presentation and taste, if I ever had the chance I'd pick the Magdala to stay that's for sure.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the roominess of this motel even though it was probably built in the 70's and needs redecorating. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We liked the view over the lake with just a few mozzies hanging about.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fastidiousgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Going up & down the Western Highway so many times over the years, I had watched this property being built but had never stayed there. This weekend I had the opportunity to do so for a night & I could see that over the years it would have been the hi light of Stawell township but noticed that the property has become very 'tired' & does need a lot of detailed attention to it BUT to be fair, I believe the new owners have only recently taken over so I'm sure they're aware that they have a lot of work to be done ahead of them. The rooms are very clean & huge & have wonderful views over the mote which surrounds the property with gum trees & there is nothing like a water view from your door but there needs to be a lot of tidying up to bring it back to its original condition. Very quiet property with frogs croaking from the mote at night & at dawn the birds start their crowing & chirping. One thing you get here is fresh air which is provided through the sliding doors with a security bolt. There is a split system for heating & cooling. There are no shampoos, soaps, shower caps & extras you usually find but there is a good hair dryer on the bench. No Continental breakfast in dining room; only a tray to your room. One power point in bathroom & difficulty to fill electric jug with water without a plastic jug due to awkward shaped handbasin. We had dinner in the dining room & excellent food provided by Chef. Hayley the waitress was very attentive to us & a delight & suggested the particular local wine we would enjoy & she was spot on but presentation is everything - walking across the restaurant hands wrapped around the glasses of wine isn't the way to go as you always present drinks from a tray to compliment the beautiful meals & service. There is always room for improvement & I'm sure the Management of this property will make it the Resort it should be as it is so very inviting to drive into off the highway. I'm sure the kids would enjoy staying here but be aware there is no security fencing from the rooms to the mote so keep the security door snibbed. Personally I enjoyed my stay as the beds & space was an added bonus. This is the gateway to the Grampians & is ideal for families too. Try it. You will enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the mote but there is no safety for toddlers from room to waters' edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Classyofnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
46 reviews
19.4 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
22.3 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.6 km away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#3 of 6 in Stawell
59 reviews
0.9 km away
Stawell's London Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdala Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdala Motor Lodge

Address: 3149 Western Hwy, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range: ₹ 6,177 - ₹ 7,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magdala Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magdala Motor Lodge, located two and a half hours from Melbourne's central business district and five hours from Adelaide, is an excellent stopover between the cities and an ideal destination from which to explore the Grampians National Park, and the world renowned vineyards and wineries of the Grampians and Pyrenees. Set on 20 acres, Magdala Motor Lodge is the quietest motel in Stawell. Set on 20 acres, the Magdala Motor Lodge offers excellent food, accommodation and services for the corporate person, holiday makers and tour groups. The management and staff will be delighted to give you all the information you need to take advantage of the attractions of the area. Located on the outskirts of Stawell, the Magdala Motor Lodge consists of 28 units and a restaurant all overlooking a man made lake and rural land. The motel is variously described as 'The one with the moat', or 'The one with the ducks'. Our wild black ducks are so accustomed to people that they nest in the car park, gardens and tap on the windows in the morning to encourage guests to feed them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Magdala Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing