We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
70
43
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
43
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan park camp kitchen dog area small country large playground two bedroom cabin toilet block amenities block pet friendly cabin rail trail quiet location enjoyed our stay stay there again on arrival great spot stayed nights town centre
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Port Fairy’s Gumtree Caravan Park is just out of the town boundary in a very quiet location where one can see the highway but cannot hear traffic sounds.

Travelling with three animals we were delighted to have access to a securely fenced and gated dog paddock where patron’s furry friends could meet at the end of a busy day of sightseeing.

We stayed in our caravan but the park’s cabins were in constant demand and all those we spoke to were very pleased with their accommodation. Gumtree has two ‘dog friendly’ cabins.

The amenities and laundry are superbly clean and bright – and we can attest to the regular cleaning of same.

The park owners/managers were friendly but not intrusive and they were very helpful. The park has tank water if they’ve had rain and it was lovely to not have that awful fluoride taste and smell often found in regional and rural areas.

Gumtree is very good value for money, whether in a caravan, budget cabin or family cabin with all the mod cons.

We have stayed elsewhere in Port Fairy and would not go back now we have stayed at Gumtree. During our two weeks at Gumtree Caravan Park, we could not fault anything.

So, if you are looking to stay at Port Fairy, do not pass this small family caravan park. We hope you enjoy your time as much as we did.

Thank you to Peter, Viv and children for a wonderful holiday venue.

Room tip: The whole caravan park is quiet so you cannot go wrong
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GumTreeCaravanParkPF, Owner at Gum Tree Caravan Park Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Well thank you very Much Elizabeth, For your kind words so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us it was great to have you stay at the park we await your return until then safe travels. One short note is we have 6 pet friendly cabins from 1 or 2 bedrooms to sleep 6 and your fur kids.

Kind regards Peter & Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Port Fairy has been inundated with rain. So much so the small bridge in was under repair.
Camp sites were closed at other caravan parks. We found this lovely park. A few wet sites but definitely manageable.
Viv at reception a delight and very welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ToniV3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GumTreeCaravanParkPF, Owner at Gum Tree Caravan Park Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay. You will need to come back when the weather is better!
Until then safe travels.
Peter & Viv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

3 sisters sharing cabin accommodation for a 3 night stay.
The good points - The park is very quiet despite a number of dogs, but all owners were responsible and kept their dogs on leads and no barking whatsoever. The managers are friendly and welcoming.
The beds were comfortable.

The not so good - The cabin could have been cleaner. We found dead flies in the cupboard and the inside bin had not been emptied from the previous guest. I would recommend the owners provide an additional t-towel. The one that was provided was very thin, became wet quickly and the dish detergent was difficult to squeeze. The floor broom needed cleaning too.

Overall, I would recommend this park to others. The reason why only 4 out of 5 stars was due to the above mentioned points.

Room tip: Cabin caravan park accommodation
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Very friendly staff when checking in, we were made to feel very welcome. The kids absolutely loved the playground, they spent most of their time there.
We had an issue with low water pressure and no hot water, but the staff were very helpful and had it fixed in no time. We are already planning to come back during the next school holidays, but for a longer stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GumTreeCaravanParkPF, Owner at Gum Tree Caravan Park Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thanks Teegan, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We would also like to thank your whole clan for their patience and understanding to rectifying the water issue promptly.We look forward to your return.


Thanks Peter & Viv.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Great secluded location, pet friendly. Very friendly and accomodating managent. Spotlessly clean and well priced. Highly recommend. Prices very good with well appointed studio cabins. Would definitely stay there again

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GumTreeCaravanParkPF, Owner at Gum Tree Caravan Park Port Fairy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2016

Thanks Ian , glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again.
Pete & Viv.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews