We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lone Pine bistro”
Review of Lone Pine Bistro

Lone Pine Bistro
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 27
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to provide you the best possible service, quality food and beverage products within a warm welcoming atmosphere. Located at the gateway to Cowes venue features modern comfortable surrounds with a great range of food and entertainment options.Our 220 seat dining area features an alfresco balcony; highly visible children's play room and a fantastic value for money menu at affordable prices. Gluten free options as well as kids and seniors menus are available. Our wine list features the best of our local wineries along with a great range of Australian favourites and quality house wines.
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Fantastic service and fantastic food, I enjoyed my meal 100% I ordered Oysters and porterhouse steak which tasted amazing

Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Ron
thank you so much for giving our award winning Lone Pine Bistro a five star review after your recent visit - our steaks are from Gippsland and are our signature dish so we are all delighted that we met your expectations. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes from the team at Phillip Island RSL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated an anniversary with dinner. We have to say we were astounded that a restaurant charging over $30 for meals would find it acceptable for children to be allowed to run rampant through the restaurant while screaming and arguing with each other and their parents at full volume. Neither parents nor management at this place exercised any control or demanded any reasonable standard of behaviour. Our dinner was the most unpleasant of experiences and we left as soon as we could.

Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear Rex and Debra
Thank you for your recent feedback after your visit to our Lone Pine Bistro. We are disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations and fully understand how uncomfortable screaming kids can be when you are trying to enjoy a meal out.
There is, however, only so much our staff can do with parents and kids – being a Saturday night, we were fully booked and this may have been the reason why you weren’t able to relocate.
We will be addressing your complaint with the Bistro supervisor.
We apologise for your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We have visited the Lone Pine Bistro a few times over the years and we have always found it to be quite pleasant. The meals are quite good and well priced.The service is excellent. Worth a stop if passing by.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi Sue
thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review after your recent visit to our award winning Lone Pine Bistro. Our staff really appreciate being recognised for their good service and chefs always love a compliment!!! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best wishes from the team at Phillip Island RSL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Twenty-odd members of the Chevrolet Car Club visited on Sunday afternoon in conjunction with a trip to the National Vietnam Veterans' Museum. We later learned that the super bikes were also racing that day, but not to worry, the RSL had set aside three tables for our group and were well prepared for our late-ish arrival. Food was great, huge servings, and service was prompt and courteous. Will definitely return next time we visit Phillip Island.

Thank Ozziekim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi Kim
thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent experience at our awarding winning Lone Pine Bistro. It was a pleasure to host your club and look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Best wishes from the team at the Phillip Island RSL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We went with a bus group which was pre-booked and were allocated a quiet corner. Food was quite good, fairly priced and consistent as most RSLs are. However there were two areas which disappointed. Firstly, we asked by phone if there was an easy way to get a bus load registered in the foyer. We were told there were several licence scanning machines and it would be quick. It wasn't. Only one machine (of two) was working and the third option was the old handwritten duplicate form pad. For elderly people, standing was not ideal. Then meal ordering time came and although the girl at the register was pleasant, she was the only one and there was a substantial queue - even though the place was far from full. We'll go back, but would love it if these two issues could be considered by management.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Alan
thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to our Lone Pine Bistro. We fully understand how frustratingly slow your arrival to the venue must have been and agree that there is a better process re sign in. With groups such as yours, we usually leave the sign in books at the table to group members can complete in comfort so we will address this with the staff member who was on duty at the time.
Your group could have utilised our group menu which would have avoided the bistro queue but chose to order from the menu. It may have been easier to have the group organiser take a list of all the orders table by table to save everyone queuing.
We do appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes from the team at Phillip Island RSL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Pine Bistro also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Lone Pine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing