We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, comfortable and quiet with great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top of the Town Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Top of the Town Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Benalla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable and quiet with great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed at Top of the Town for one night whilst travelling for business and stayed in one of the 'executive' rooms which have been completely renovated with new bathrooms and big LCD TVs.
It is in the heart of town, so everything is accessible. Although it is on one of the main streets, I didn't hear any traffic noise from my room as the property is set back from the road. In fact, it was so quiet in general that you could almost forget that you were staying in a motel.
It was also very affordable at $115 per night, and juice and toast for breakfast was only $5.50. It was also very tempting to raid the mini-bar as prices were very reasonable!
Staff very friendly and welcoming, and I could not fault the service or cleanliness.
If you are going to stay anywhere in Benalla, make sure you choose Top of the Town!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms as they are completely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlwoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
48
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

It's traditionally difficult to find wheelchair accessible accomm in small towns. We came across Top of the Town motel and they had accessible rooms. We stayed 2 nights and everything had been thought of. The bathroom was so clean and very accessible. The beds were very comfortable and many nice little extras provided such as windscreen washing buckets in carpark, mints on the table in the room and lovely fresh fluffly linen. Breakfast was perfect with great sausages, delicious bacon and golden yellow eggs. Would stay there again-very comfortable, accessible and immaculate motel. Great find!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opalite-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This motel is conveniently located in the city centre with immediate access to the supermarket, restaurants and petrol stations, and caters extremely well to those attending for motorsport events. Booking was straightforward and at a discount to the available online rates, and I would not rate this accommodation any less four or five star hotels in Sydney (which are three or five times more expensive). The drawcard was in being recently refurbished (clean, well-stocked and adequate for business travelers as well as couples). Service was good and appears to be a family-operated establishment. The positives reviews already provided on this motel are testament to the effort and quality provided by the owner-operator.

Room Tip: I carry my own mobile broadband, but prospective patrons may wish to enquire about on-site connectiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbournian3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at the "Top of the Town" while driving to Melbourne in early October '11. We chose Benalla in the hope of getting right off the highway and getting a good nights sleep and having a small town experience.

ALL BOXES TICKED.

We chose the motel via Trip Advisor and the motels own website, and made the decision to support a small (and young) family business. On arrival (no pre-booking), we opted to get one of the newly renovated rooms ($135) and were delighted. Extremely clean, new mattress, mini-bar and fully working TV. The bathrooms had been well renovated with great water pressure and the biggest delight - BIG towels.

The little things often make a country hotel. I was absolutely delighted to find the buckets with windscreen washers and clean soapy water, a great way to start a days driving.

The many food options of Benalla are a short walk away, as is a multitude of Cafe-bakeries for an early morning start or a great morning tea. Yes - a great stay, good value and everything we needed and wanted.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW South Coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had to stay two nights to attend a wedding close by and was pleasantly surprised. Although it was situated on a corner, the room was very quiet as it had double glazing on the windows. The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to everything you would need. Supermarket, bakeries, restaurants and the lake which has a walking track all the way around it. Our room had a toaster and microwave if needed. We had 2 comfortable nights staying there and found it a hassle free stop over. We can recommend it .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParadisePreachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalla hotels
2.4 km away
Rose City Motor Inn
Rose City Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Benalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#5 of 6 in Benalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.5 km away
Avondel Motor Inn
Avondel Motor Inn
#3 of 6 in Benalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 6 in Benalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.0 km away
Executive Hideaway Motel
1.9 km away
Gateway Lifestyle Benalla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top of the Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of the Town Motel

Property: Top of the Town Motel
Address: 136-138 Bridge St E, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benalla
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,611 - ₹ 7,527
Hotel Class:4 star — Top of the Town Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Top of the Town Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing