We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stopover and great service”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view with roses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view with roses
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC Kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front view with roses
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC
Kitchen and dining area
One of three queen bedrooms
Queen bedroom (one of three queens) with ensuite bathroom
Third bathroom with shower, vanity and WC
Rear garden view
Side garden view
Outside deck with shelter, shadecloth, table and chairs for eight guests
View of rear garden and outside deck with shelter and shadecloth
View of front garden
Living room with TV/DVD
View of king bedroom
One of three queen bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naracoorte, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moira T
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stopover and great service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stopover on the way to Adelaide from Melb with 3 young children. Everything we needed including cot all ready to go and v clean. A much appreciated bottle of wine on arrival - a necessity when driving with a 6, 4, 2yo!
My eldest left her new runners behind and I didn't even know where we'd left them until a lovely email from the owner asking where to send to return. They arrived a few days later and he even paid for the postage! We have recommended to other friends who often travel between Adelaide and Melb. Would def recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very comfortable and well appointed 'home-away-from-home'”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was the second occasion I have stayed in this accomodation. The property has everything that could be required for stay of a small or large group. The facilities are modern and clean. It is an easy walk to the main street for dining out, but everything is supplied in the kitchen that you would need to cook your own and eat in. As a business traveller It is good value for money and better than a motel room. I would also consider it a good base for a trip with the family to explore the South East when the opportunity arises. The only fault I could find was a blown light globe in the bathroom. I will be back.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Well restored old Australian House in Naracoorte”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We rented this house for a 4 day stay in the Naracoorte area as part of a family holiday. The house has been excellently renovated and modernised without losing the charm of an old-style Australian country house. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms good, kitchen modern. A five minute walk to the shopping street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter V
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We can not recommend this property highly enough - a fabulous peaceful location within walking distance of shops, heaps of space, great facilities, and a host that went out of their way to assist us. Plus it was wonderful to arrive late after a long drive and find such generous provisions - no need to rush out to the supermarket on the first night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing - can not fault this stay at all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InkieMay
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute Cottage”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in April 2012

We enjoyed our yearly holiday so much at the Pinkerton Cottage that we thought this time with a smaller group we would give Macdonnell house a try and we were not disappointed!

With the same style and general attention to detail that we loved in the larger house, this cottage was perfect for our group of 4 adults and 4 children. We enjoyed the same great included breakfast and the bottle of wine went down a treat! So much so that we even took a short trip to visit the local winery to pick up some more!

The houses ground were smaller than the larger cottage but with the amazing playground across the road the loss was not felt for long! The kids had a ball and we were glad to be close enough to town that we could stroll over.

I would happily recommend this house, in fact we've come back a few time now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: yummy breakfast
Liked least: didn't discover the goodies in the freezer till we were about to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing