We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
631
42
17
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
42
17
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomwine cellarthe cliffsea lionsincluded toursevery mealremarkable suitefood and winekangaroo islandbucket listhigh expectationsfloor to ceiling windowsflinders suiteclassic menuother guestsremarkable rocksworth every penny
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

A very expensive hotel, especially for £ based poms. But the more you think about what they offer the more it becomes clear that the cost is entirely appropriate. It is good value. The building is beautiful and was presumably expensive to build. There is a very high staff to guest ratio. The staff are excellent, in some cases truly exceptional.

The inclusion of all meals and bar makes the experience very pleasant. The quality of the food is high. Included tours are great fun and really give you a feel for the special place you are staying. I Should also mention the spa - excellent staff.

A particularly strong point is that when a problem arose it was dealt with quickly and with the minimum of fuss.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The SouthernOcean Lodge is an incredible experience. The lodge itself is eye popping and the rooms are elegant and romantic. The lodge is located in an extremely remote location which enables the guests to have private walks on the beach and the adjacent cliffs. The presentation of the meals is gorgeous, although service can be a wee bit slow.

The Southern Ocean Lodge experience includes 4 "very special" experiences: (1) a cliff walk with a nature guide, (2) an excursion to Seal Beach where you are just 20-30 feet away from the seals and see them playing and swimming, (3) canapes with the kangaroos in the evening where you see dozens of kangaroos up close, and (4) the wonders of Kangaroo Island with a visit to a magical place called "Remarkable Rock" (and it is). There are great guides and fun experiences.

Whether you stay for two nights, a romantic long weekend or 4 nights, you are treated to the same 4 experiences. Needless to say, if you stay for 2 nights only, you are invited to multiple experiences in one day and life is delightful.

The issue for the persons who elect to stay 4 nights is that they are somewhat treated like second class citizens, because the lodge knows that it has plenty of time to "work you into the schedule." We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and three of our four experiences were scheduled for the last 36 hours of our stay. Whilst the other guests headed off for their lovely excursions, we had nothing scheduled. To make matters a little worse, the other guests (who needed to be on the vehicles for touring at particular times) were given priority in the processing of food orders. So, our meals would be placed in line behind the other shorter-term guests who were heading off for adventures. For the first three days of our stay, we would see the other guests merrily dining and heading off for adventures, whilst we sat in the dining area waiting for service.

I understand that mini-vans only hold 13 passengers and that there are logistical challenges to giving every guest (even the ones buzzing in the weekend) the 4 experiences, but guests staying longer should not be ignored in the process. So, I highly recommend this hotel, but recommend that you book for 2 or 3 nights and among the guests given priority.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie-Lodges-2017, Marketing Manager at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear happyrelaxeddudes

Thank you for your review which balances tremendous praise with constructive comments - both of which we take to heart.

We're sincerely sorry to hear the sequencing of excursions on your itinerary felt rushed; this is not ideal and certainly not the impression we wish anyone to feel while enjoying four languid nights. Your feedback has been duly noted so there is no repeat operationally.

We're delighted you're happy to highly rate the experience overall - from the lodge location and suite decor, knowledgeable guides and immersive activities, to consistent quality of cuisine - it does sound like you had a wonderful time!

We hope to welcome you again - perhaps to a sister property for an altogether different but just as eye popping view!

Best wishes | Alison Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Having stayed in some of the world’s finest lodges and resorts, Southern Ocean Lodge did not disappoint. The lodge is small, affording the BEST view for all guests. You are greeted by a staff who discreetly and effortlessly tend to your every request. The lobby and dining area mimic the ocean floor and provide a stunning 360 view of the ocean in the daylight hours. The sunrise from your room rivals any in the world. The food is just as special as the servers and staff who bring it to you, and the self serve bar spoils. The lodge is close to both stunning wildlife viewing areas by car as well as beautiful hikes just steps from your suite. If you are looking for special, this place has to be on your itinerary.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Yes it's not cheap, but it is so well worth it. Everything organised for you - but you could make your own choices too.

Staff all clearly enjoy working there, as much as we enjoyed being there.

I do believe you get what you pay for, and at Southern Ocean Lodge - you did. The food was all exceptional high standard and quality.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Beautiful location peaceful and fantastic local architectural achievement.
Wonderful setting walks on untouched beaches with nature.
Great way to re-center unwind and focus on the things that are important.

Unfortunately our great experience and stay ended on a very disappointing note.
It seams that the wait staff in the dining area was more focused on introducing
themselves and where they are from and less focused on a timely meal.
It was our last night and very much looking forward to a nice relaxing diner and then
had an evening nature tour planed at 8:00.
We arrived and were seated at 6:30 In fact were the first people seated.
the staff knew we had an 8:00 departure
We waited and waited and was over 1hr. for the main to arrive. My wife's meal was fine mine however was barely warm.
at that point with little time left and had to gulp our meal down and dash off to make it in time for our tour. Was very disappointing and no explanation from the kitchen.
Was apparent that there is some disorganization in the kitchen area.
So as a good restaurant one bad meal is sometimes all it takes.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie-Lodges-2017, Marketing Manager at Southern Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Globe W

Thank you for your review which begins with an eloquent description of the Southern Ocean Lodge experience of Kangaroo Island - it's just perfect...

Reading on from that excellent introduction, we regret to learn your stay was diminished by some inconsistency in restaurant service one evening. You’re right, the timely delivery of your meal should have been the priority given your nocturnal tour plans and something must have been amiss to impact on our usually seamless service. We assure you that your comments will be shared with our chef and management team and taken constructively as they’re no doubt intended.

We are grateful for your high ranking overall and hope the renewed sense of connection and focus remains with you.

Kind regards | Ali Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews