We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed in a 2-bedroom ocean view apartment. Had to walk up 3 flights of steep stairs, but the view was worth it! I would not recommend for anyone with knee problems though. The ocean view rooms are at the back of the complex so it wasn't beach-at-your-doorstep, we had to walk downstairs and then through the garden path and down the steps to get there, only took a few minutes, and again, the view was worth it. The master bedroom opened directly onto the balcony with a view whereas the other room had 2 singles and overlooked the pool. The rooms were well separated which suited us as we were traveling with my in-laws but if you have small kids it might be hard to hear if they wake up in the middle of the night. The room was very comfortable with plenty of seating, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and aircon and there is secure parking for one car under the building. We didn't try the pool or bbq as it was so easy to walk across to the beach swimming enclosure and bbqs but during peak periods the beach bbqs get snapped up quickly so its nice to have the option of cooking at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind lots of stairs go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashtree_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for highlighting the positives and for also bringing to people's attention that not all of our buidlings have a lift. We have something for everyone - beachfront apartment where the beach is right at your doorstep. Then there are the ocean view apartments - elevated for the beautiful panoramic oceans views and the garden view apartments - for people wanting a more budget price without sacrificing quality. If you do require a lift, simply request this when making a booking and we can assist with making sure you get exactly what you desire.
We are so pleased you enjoyed the spectacular views and the facilities which Trinity Beach has to offer.
Many thanks
Melissa Speer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 222 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Mid December 2011 stayed at the Trinity Beach apartments. What a wonderful location directly opposite the Beach and swimming enclosure. Each morning just walked over to the beach in my bikini for a swim then wondered back for coffee and croissants on the balcony. The facilities were good particularly the washing machine and dryer. We had previously been in Perth and Adelaide in hotels for a total of 10days and so had lots of washing. The apartment was clean and large and the bed very comfortable. My husband paid the place the greatest compliment by saying he could easily live there. The staff were very friendly and Melissa extremely helpful in discussing the various available trips and making recommendations. Trinity Beach is about 20 minutes from Cairns and as a reasonable size supermarket which is about 15 minutes walk from the apartment but provides complimentary lift back on request. Food is a little pricey but in the shopping complex is an excellent butcher and baker. As a first time visitor to Australia Trinity Beach was exactly what I expected. We didn't use the barbeque in the apartment grounds because there were so many on the Esplanade beach front. Easy to get into cairns and to do any of the wonderful trips onto the barrier reef and rain forest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuttonColdfieldCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Yes, what a compliment - to say you could easily live here means everything to us. We pride ourselves on making people feel at home with fine touches such as floral arrangements, individual bedding configurations and friendliness. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
Kind regards
Melissa Speer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have just returned from January holiday and On the Beach apartmetns were really lovely and clean and just what anyone would want for a relaxing holiday. The fact that thre was a washer and dryer made things really good after travelling for over two weeks be fore we got there. The bbq area is really good as well we bbq'd most nights and sat on our balcony and ate our food. If we ever come back to Australia we will definately go back to On the Beach at Trintiy Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemccreadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for noting the detail we go to to ensure guests have a pleasant stay at On The Beach. All reviews are taken seriously and it is the constructive comments which encourage us to continually improve our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 days as a mid tour breather from a tour of cities. The accomodation is excellant with plenty of details such as table and drink coasters. The kitchen eqiupment was perfect for doing your own catering and the pool area was very private and quiet when we were there. It was very comfortable and is right on the beach. It was wonderful to sit on the balcony in the evening and listen to the sea and watch the stunning sunsets. Public BBQ area
across from the apartments should you wish to endulge if the hotel BBQ is busy. Staff very helpful and friendly and some great trips to be booked if you want to venture further. Lovely quiet resort with the jungle and hills as a back drop. Would recommend to anyone looking for some peace and quiet and great beaches. Would definately re visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

If your ideal vacation involves large palm trees, a long porch overlooking the ocean, then On The Beach will work for you.  The two bedroom apartments are huge, designed for families.  Washer and dryer as well as a dishwasher were included as well as a fully equipped kitchen with plenty of counter space. The decor is beach-kitz but can be avoided by looking outdoors at the ocean. The only safe ocean  swimming area in Trinity Beach lies directly  across the street from the apartments.  Without a car it is a 20 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and the nearby restaurants unexceptionable. 
As modern internet-dependent people, the only draw back was the wireless  internet which was expensive (40$ AU for 4 days) but with speeds that often dropped to 45 kb and lower, resulting in impossibly slow-loading intenet pages  On the plus side, the cable tv was excellent and with a decent election of Australian TV shows.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you for your feedback and the 4 Rating. It sounds as though you had a lovely time with us albeit a few minor issues.
I am not sure what is meant by your term 'beach-kitz' and would love for you to email me with further explanation. As all apartments are individually owned, if one isn't to standard then I can use feedback such as this to send to the owner who can then rectify the problem to help us manitain our strong reputation.
The nearest supermarket is only about a 5 minute walk (200m), so I hope this was explained to you when you arrived. There is a larger, more equipped supermarket within a 15-20 minute walk which would possibly be the one you refer to. There are 8 restaurants in Trinity Beach - again, I hope these were pointed out to you on arrival as the majority are within a 5 minute walk (although my 2 favourite would be 7-10 minutes).
The slow internet is a major concern to me, depending on what dates you stayed with us. On 2/12/11 we increased our internet service to avoid growing speed issues. Can you please let me know if you stayed after this date as I will need to get this attended to - the service was increased at quite a substantial cost so it is important all previous issues are elliminated.
Your feedback has been most helpful to me as property manager, and to the betterment of our property and I hope my comments have addressed the items you mention so that future guests can make an informed decision to stay with us knowing we take guest feedback seriously and are always looking at ways to improve. Happy 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
179 reviews
0.4 km away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.4 km away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#7 of 21 in Trinity Beach
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
513 reviews
0.2 km away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
530 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Address: 49-51 Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,234 - ₹ 9,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing