We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
61
25
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
25
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique apartmentsbrilliant locationunitviewsbeachbalconiesfanstavern
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We rented a 3 bed apartment for 5 adults (my 30 years old children). Our problems with unit 8 at Trinity Waters Apartments (TWA), managed by “On the Beach” (OTB) were:

FRIDGE: Is faulty and didn’t get food cold or freeze in the freezer – it took two days to chill and freeze things. We contacted Melissa at On the Beach (OTB) who blamed our young children for always opening the door which didn’t allow the fridge to get cold. Not the case – it is a faulty fridge that simply doesn’t work efficiently. When we spoke with another person at OTB they mentioned that THEY KNEW the same fridge had previously had a problem and when leaving the unit we told the cleaners – but they already knew that the fridge in unit 8 PREVIOUSLY DIDN’T WORK PROPERLY as they had heard of several complaints……. So why knowingly rent a property with a faulty fridge to tourists in tropical Cairns – especially if it is for a 3 bed apartment when you know that there will be lots of people. Maybe the fridge would get by if only for 2 people, but not for a large family. SIMPLY NOT AN ACCEPTABLE PRACTICE.

FAULTY BBQ: We wanted to have a BBQ and took the food and gear downstairs but the BBQ IS FAULTY and doesn’t work. So we had to find an emergency BBQ on the beachfront and carry our food and gear what seemed an eternity till we found a vacant BBQ. And then carry the gear back. And then return to clean the BBQ. Not the pleasant pool-side BBQ that the website promotes.

NOT ENOUGH KEYS: Initially issued one key, but 5 adults need more and when we asked we got an extra key. Still not enough and we were frequently having to ring each other so that someone could come down to the front gate to let others into the building which had plenty of locks and security doors but a gross shortage of keys. The main OTB facility has no outer or inner locked perimeter unlike TWA.

FAULTY INTERCOM: If you have a swim in the pool don’t bother buzzing the intercom for people to let you in as the intercom is faulty and doesn’t work. Key ? None available so someone has to come down to let you in the building.

HEATED POOL: The only heat was in the website advertisement - the pool was sun heated.

UNSTABLE BEDS: The beds are on wheels and roll around the bedrooms. I investigated and found that most of the castors – little plates that are meant to hold the bed in place were largely missing. (I also discovered that the cleaners don’t often clean under the beds, so I did that cleaning job while looking for the castors).

DISHWASHER: Machine provided but only two plugs of dishwasher detergent – were we meant to only wash the dishes twice in 6 days for a family group ?

SHORTAGE OF TEA SPOONS: A unit let for up to 6 needs more spoons unless you want to wash them after every use.

IMPOLITE SERVICE BY OTB: I only raised a few issues, like the website showing a faulty telephone number or the faulty fridge, but Melissa told me that it was my fault and not her problem that the fridge didn’t get cold or that OTB had a faulty number showing on their website (which OTB had since had changed).

LATE ARRIVAL ON SUNDAY: We were told that the key would be in the letterbox – but they didn’t tell us that the letterbox was at OTB which is 3 buildings away.

NOISY: The windows have fixed protruding covers and when the rain sprinkles at 3 in the morning, which is expected in tropical Cairns, the water collects on the cover above and then large drops fall from the floor above and make a loud noise when hitting your fixed covers, which isn’t expected in a boutique apartment rented to holidaymakers. You can wake up every morning when it sprinkles at 3 or the alternative is close the window at night and leave the squeaky fan on in your bedroom. (Renters of units 4, 8 and 12 in WTA should be aware that the oil and waste truck attends the restaurant next door from 7 to 8:30am on Wednesday mornings – and an industrial garbage truck attends on Friday at 7am - loud even with windows closed)

INADEQUATE SERVICE: With longer term rentals other resorts provided a complimentary clean and change of linen and towels every 3 or 4 days (yep, Amaroo on Trinity, where we stayed last year, charges less rent and provides this facility at no charge). Also, $1 a day to hire a beach towel was a bit over the top : $1 for a few days OK as is the charge at Amaroo on Trinity).

Could mention the inadequate/inconvenient number of power points in the lounge and bedrooms and that the bedside lamps don’t throw enough light to read a book but they are minor inconveniences.

IS THIS WHAT YOU WANT WHEN YOU BOOK A 3 BEDROOM APARTMENT? (You can get better but I doubt that you can get worse).

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Manager at Trinity Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thank you for your detailed feedback however I am sorry this Guest felt the need to vent on Tripadvisor - where we can do little to assist you after your stay.

To assist others when they might be reading this and trying to decide whether to stay at Trinity Waters, I would like to clarify each of the point raised:

1. FRIDGE - On the night of your arrival, the Guest rudely called demanding that the fridge be looked at. He had only been there for a few hours. When we looked at the fridge the following morning (first thing) we noted that the ice in the freezer was frozen and the few items in the fridge were cold. We removed a small amount of ice from around the fan and then, as we had not heard anything further, we assumed that it was OK for the remainder of the stay. The owner has been notified of the issue and as mentioned to the guest, there had been issues in the past when small children were constantly opening it - I merely asked if this could be the case. I didn't expect the rudeness which followed such a simple request.

2. FAULTY BBQ - The auto ignition switch was broken and was replaced within 1 hour of being advised of the issue. My apologies the guests were inconvenienced by this.

3. NOT ENOUGH KEYS - the Guest arrived after hours and we only issue 1 set of keys until such time as you come to the office to Register. At this time we offered more keys and gladly accepted one other. We have another set of keys in the office had the Guest indicated this was not enough.

Tip: Should you need more keys, always ask the staff as there are generally 3 sets held for each 3 BR apartment.

4. FAULTY INTERCOM - This is out of our hands and has been reported to the Body Corporate who manage the building.

5. HEATED POOL - The pool is solar heated and again this is managed by the Body Corporate . We have been advised that it is heated to 26 degrees. Sorry this was not warm enough but again, we were not made aware of this during the Guest's stay. We had a similar issue recently and the BC kindly increased the heat to 28. Issue resolved.

6. UNSTABLE BEDS - We will purchase more castors now that we know this can be a problem. Hopefully Guests won't remove these again. Our cleaners do clean under the beds but my apologies if this was missed prior to this stay.

7. DISHWASHER - These are self-contained apartments and we provide a FREE starter kit which includes 2 DW tablets. As per the Guest Directory, if you require more, we do have these in stock or they can be purchased at the nearby supermarket. Dishwashing liquid is supplied for the entire stay should you wish to wash dishes by hand and save some money.

Tip: All Guests should familiarize themselves with the understanding of 'self-contained' prior to making a booking.

8. SHORTAGE OF TEASPOONS - There are 12 in the apartment which we feel is adequate.

Tip: If more of anything is required during a stay, please ask.

9. IMPOLITE SERVICE BY MELISSA (Myself) - There are ways people generally ask for things and the way this Guest started talking to me did take me quite by surprise. I probably did retaliate which is quite out of character (as can be seen on On The Beach Holiday Apartments Tripadvisor Listing). I apologise to the Guest if I offended him. I accept his apology also, although this hasn't been forthcoming.

10. LATE ARRIVAL ON SUNDAY - All information provided on each website, including Trinity Waters refers to the Apartments being managed by On The Beach. Thank you for noting we are only 3 buildings away.

Tip: When arriving after hours at a Property always inquire as to their After Hours procedure. This will avoid any unnecessary delays to the start of your holiday.

11. NOISY - Some people love the sound of rain on windows etc but this obviously annoyed this Guest also and added to their frustration. As we have never had this complaint, I will bring it to the attention of the Body Corporate and leave it to them to deal with. It is certainly out of my hands.

12. INADEQUATE SERVICE - This Guest only stayed 5 nights and this is not considered to be 'long term'. There are laundry facilities in the apartment which is a part of being self-contained. We don't advertise a regular service and keep our prices down by not offering them.

Tip: Stays of more than 7 nights are serviced mid stay (after 3 nights). This includes full linen change, restock of free sundry items and a bathroom and floor clean.

13. MISC COMMENTS - We have never been told about inadequate power points or not enough light from the bedside lamps. These are surely just things you put up with when staying somewhere other than your own home.

I wonder why this Guest didn't stay at Amaroo again this year??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a second floor apartment (number 7) looking over the beachfront for our two night stay. These apartments are gated, with under cover secure parking and a lift (good for oldies). The apartment was well furnished with all the cooking gear and utensils that you could wish for. The lounge room was spacious with a good sized flat screen. The bedroom size was reasonable and the bed very comfy.
Our only concern was that there were no fly wire screens on the external bedroom windows or the sliding door from the lounge room out onto the balcony, in this particular apartment. There were no problems with insects at this time of the year (winter) but in the warm wet season it might be a concern.
The apartments are perfectly located being only a short stroll of 150 metres to the cafe's and restaurant area nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at Trinity Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Thank you for your Review.

We have only been managing Trinity Waters for 3 months and have taken your feedback about the lack of fly screens to the owners. We appreciate you letting us know that this was of concern to you.

We are thrilled you had a great holiday and welcome you back in the future.
Regards, Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I were very comfortable in this 2 bedroom beach front apartment. It was clean and spacious and the view was excellent. The property is beachfront so you look through the palm tress to the ocean - very idyllic.

It has recently been taken over by new managers who looked after us extremely diligently and were very friendly.

Room Tip: We had to go down the road to another place to get wi-fi but this problem is being looked into. Apartment 6 and 7 have the larger beach front views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WilsonsofPirongia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaSpeer, Manager at Trinity Waters Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2015

Thank you for the Review and feedback.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for mentioning us as the new Managers for this complex. We are pleased to have been able to assist you.

Kind regards, Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at Trinity waters for a mountain bike event, our stay was for one week and it was just what we needed. Self sustained and very comfortable, the room was nice, good air conditioning, good kitchen, bathroom and dinning room areas. All in all im pleased with Trinity waters accomodation and I think ill be returning

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebrannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I had booked a week at Trinity Waters for July 2013 but illness had prevented us being there. Barb had given us credit for a stay at another time given our cancellation was at late notice. That visit was April 13 - 20, immediately following Cyclone Ita. We rang the morning of the 12th as the cyclone passed through Cairns. Barb said it was raining heavily and very windy. But she added that everything would be OK the next day. We rang again that night and Barb said that it was much more peaceful. Again she added that everything would be OK. And it was when we arrived the next day. Some water lying in low areas and leaf litter by the roadside.
Barb and Ian were very welcoming. The apartment was fantastic with plenty of room to move, well equipped kitchen, comfortable furniture and a spacious balcony. Two of our children, their partners and our 11 month old grand-daughter had come up also. So it was six adults and a little child in the apartment. There were air-conditioners in each of the three bedrooms as well as in the main living area. Each of the bedrooms also had ceiling fans. Just seemed that the air-con in the main bedroom struggled to cool the room appropriately. It was fairly humid so the pool was greatly appreciated and used frequently. We were on Level One immediately above the pool so if we were making a lot of noise we only affected ourselves. Didn't see much of other guests but they were there judging by the cars in the garage underneath the apartments. Which brings me to the most challenging thing of the visit. Getting the car into the parking spot which was narrow and in an awkward position. However, this is much the same with similar establishments that I have stayed at. This place is quiet even though it is pretty much under the flight path to Cairns Airport. The planes seem to come in batches with large gaps in between and I didn't hear a plane after 9pm or before 9am.Trinity Waters is midway down Vasey Esplanade, away from all bar one of the restaurants. We did not hear any noise from that one restaurant, which is next door. And we didn't have any smells wafting up from the restaurant. Some places have beach glimpses if you're willing to stand on tip toes and peer out the toilet window around the corner of another building. Here you really do have beach views. The beach is the width of a road away and you walk across a couple of metres of grass to get onto the beach. Up the other end of Vasey Esplanade you will need to walk across a wider section of road and climb down a set of steps to get on to the beach. The swimming enclosure is 50 m away up the beach. It is lifesaver patrolled and you need to use this enclosure from November to April in order to keep yourself safe from stingy jellyfish. There is a lovely clean bbq next to the pool or use the public bbq just over the road on the beach. You get a remote to for the garage and for the gate across the driveway. You also get a key to the gate you walk through. So all in all you are very safe. Trinity Beach has a small shopping centre a kilometres or so from the apartments or you can drive 10 minutes towards Cairns to Smithfield Shopping Centre. Another 10 minutes gets you into the centre of Cairns where cruises to the Great Barrier Reef depart. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews