We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusting - SO MANY ANTS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Avoid avoid avoid!!

Start with the Pros - close to the bus stop for Greyhound which is handy
Staff were friendly, yet useless really

Now for the cons
Staff - as i said, very friendly but didnt sort anything out when i told them how dirty my room was or the amount of bugs in the room! Also didnt check me in right, then told me my room was a different number than it was

No aircon anywhere, rooms are boiling as are communal areas!

Communal areas shut early so no where to go at night

Very noisy, and full of people who live there permanently working, so interact with eachother rather than you. You feel like you are invading their space when you arrive at the room

Kitchens were understocked so could hardly cook

Rooms are tiny with one plug between 4, not good!

Free breakfast was one loaf of bread that once run out, thats it

Now for the main issue..

CLEANLINESS

All i can say that this place is absolutely disgusting. I had to climb over a drill to get into the shower, surely thats not acceptable?? When mentioning cleanliness i was told 'it'll just get dirty again soon'

So many cockroaches and ants everywhere I cant even explain. I told staff about the ants but nothing was done. They were EVERYWHERE in my room, shower, bed, clothes, everywhere! I left after one night and slept on the beach it was that bad! I cant even explain the extend of it, please see my photos as a guide

Mooloolaba is a great place, as is marochydore, please stay elsewhere and dont even give this place the time of day!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 1010worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooloolabaBackpacker, Manager at Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi There,

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have investigated this matter and whilst we do our best to keep the ants and moths at bay, doors open with lights on are always going to attract insects. We live in Australia - and ants file right before rain which was the case in this matter. Unfortunately the noise curfew is set by the council, but this ensures our neighbors and guests have a peaceful rest after 10pm.
Our free breakfast is a range of breads, cereals, condiments daily, we stock this heavily to ensure we do not run out. If there was a shortage of the morning you ate, our apologies that staff were not present to re-stock for you before you departed.
again apologies you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in a very small 4 bed dorm. First and most important thing, there is no air con! Fans are provided in the rooms but all they do is push warm air around the room! Curtains and very thin, they may as well just not have curtains as they don't block out any light! Beds are no comfortable at all, I sank so far into the mattress I could feel the frame!
The room was very small for 4 people with big backpacks, it didn't leave much room for moving about in the room. Also there are only 2 lockers in the room for valuables.
Showers were average at best, no where to hang your towel or put your toiletries.
Nice location, short walk to the beach front and the canals are just around the corner.
Staff were very friendly! But on check in failed to let the guests know about have to put a deposit down if you need cutlery etc.
The kitchens were not kept clean at all! At one point a friend of mine put everything away and housekeeping just said "it will be dirty again in 5 minutes", so the upkeep of the kitchen needs to be more policed.
Common areas shut at 9.30pm, forcing you to either sit in your extremely hot, tiny rooms or go out of the premises.
Pool is nice, clean(ish).
Free stand up paddle session was great! Scott was a great guide and had a really great time!
Mooloolaba is a lovely little place but I would suggest as a backpacker 1 or 2 nights max is all you need here!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

At first glance it doesn't look like much but this hostel was a lot of fun. Everyone was incredibly friendly, including staff, and I met a ton of people without even trying.

The wifi is only in the lounge but it reaches the balconies and is good enough for Netflix and skype. They have daily activities and lots of freebies like surf boards and stand up paddle boarding. There's free breakfast (cereal and toast), and the occasional free BBQ.

There is a small kitchen on each level with an ok amount of refrigerator room. Kitchen was always clean, although not a ton of cutlery options.

Locations is awesome. Right next to bus stops, across the street from pizza, pasta, booze, and kebabs, and 10 minutes from the main beach.

The reason I left off a star is because of the rooms. My bunk was so incredibly squeaky that everyone in the room had a giggle fit because of how ridiculous it was. 3 lockers for 4 beds, and my locker didn't have a back so it was pointless. Bathroom was always wet because the water runs out of the shower.

It's not a trendy or clean hostel but it's loads of fun. I would recommend staying here especially if you're looking to meet people.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank taace1i1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This review has just extremely positive or extremely negative aspects.
The location is good, the beach is not far.
The guys of the staff are amazing, everybody kind, always smiling.. very nice.
Something to do is organized every day, and usually, they are free activities.
There is the possibility to use bike or boards for free and this is very good.
Unfortunately, the hostel is very very dirty, toilettes and showers weren't clean in 4 days I stayed.
The rooms are very warm, there isn't blind in the window and here there is the sun at 4,30 in the morning.
The hostel is very noise, nobody respects the hours for rest and in the morning a guy blow leaves from the pool area with a very noise machine.
There isn't stuff to cook in the kitchen, just a few old dishes, not enough.
My stay here was good, but it could be better.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Free paddle boats and a guide each morning. Free trip to Noosa on Sunday so be smart and get dropped off their if you intend to stay there. Kitchen not well equipped so buy easy to make food. Good vibes from staff and guests.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Mouri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mooloolaba
13.3 km away
Caloundra Backpackers
Caloundra Backpackers
#48 of 52 in Caloundra
61 reviews
31.1 km away
Dolphins Beach House
Dolphins Beach House
#113 of 141 in Noosa
245 reviews
3.8 km away
Cottontree Backpackers
Cottontree Backpackers
#39 of 44 in Maroochydore
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Flashpackers Noosa
Flashpackers Noosa
#4 of 141 in Noosa
652 reviews
0.1 km away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#14 of 16 in Mooloolaba
84 reviews
32.5 km away
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Noosa Backpackers Resort
#34 of 41 in Noosaville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers

Address: 75 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range: ₹ 2,916 - ₹ 4,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Hotel Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing