We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
49
38
33
15
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
38
33
15
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf boards free activities stand up paddle boarding social hostel hire surfboards movie night mooloolaba beach own bathroom location is amazing min walk a great stay would stay again main beach bbq nightlife
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

At first glance it doesn't look like much but this hostel was a lot of fun. Everyone was incredibly friendly, including staff, and I met a ton of people without even trying.

The wifi is only in the lounge but it reaches the balconies and is good enough for Netflix and skype. They have daily activities and lots of freebies like surf boards and stand up paddle boarding. There's free breakfast (cereal and toast), and the occasional free BBQ.

There is a small kitchen on each level with an ok amount of refrigerator room. Kitchen was always clean, although not a ton of cutlery options.

Locations is awesome. Right next to bus stops, across the street from pizza, pasta, booze, and kebabs, and 10 minutes from the main beach.

The reason I left off a star is because of the rooms. My bunk was so incredibly squeaky that everyone in the room had a giggle fit because of how ridiculous it was. 3 lockers for 4 beds, and my locker didn't have a back so it was pointless. Bathroom was always wet because the water runs out of the shower.

It's not a trendy or clean hostel but it's loads of fun. I would recommend staying here especially if you're looking to meet people.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank taace1i1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This review has just extremely positive or extremely negative aspects.
The location is good, the beach is not far.
The guys of the staff are amazing, everybody kind, always smiling.. very nice.
Something to do is organized every day, and usually, they are free activities.
There is the possibility to use bike or boards for free and this is very good.
Unfortunately, the hostel is very very dirty, toilettes and showers weren't clean in 4 days I stayed.
The rooms are very warm, there isn't blind in the window and here there is the sun at 4,30 in the morning.
The hostel is very noise, nobody respects the hours for rest and in the morning a guy blow leaves from the pool area with a very noise machine.
There isn't stuff to cook in the kitchen, just a few old dishes, not enough.
My stay here was good, but it could be better.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Free paddle boats and a guide each morning. Free trip to Noosa on Sunday so be smart and get dropped off their if you intend to stay there. Kitchen not well equipped so buy easy to make food. Good vibes from staff and guests.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Mouri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I had a great time at this hostel but mainly because of the people, particularly the long-termers, that were staying here. Really welcoming and friendly. The staff however need to be more accommodating. It's very business-like with no personal feel. They do u no favours! There r signs and notices all over the walls and a very strict 9:30 curfew which was the worst. Even with no house u were sent off your balcony. It made no sense as people were still being noisy inside the building which kept everyone trying to sleep awake!The German dude doing night shift was rude and on a complete power trip. It's in a good location and they do free activities which was good.
It was clean, and free breakfast is a bonus... Thanks to the brekkie and cleaning staff who worked really hard and were really friendly!

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Travelhappy8820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooloolabaBackpacker, Manager at Mooloolaba Beach Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Hi there!

Thank you for your review! we welcome all feedback in order to improve our services :) Our small front office team really pride ourselves of being of great service, welcoming and very accommodating, so apologies if you did not feel as if you received this.
Unfortunately our 9:30pm curfew is set by our street noise regulations and we cannot do much about this but we encourage guests to head out and experience the nightlife Mooloolaba has to offer should they wish to keep partying :) We do hope you got to take part in our free adventure activities throughout the days as this is what we like to put a lot of thought and energy in to. :)
Thanks again for the feedback & enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Thumbs up for the front office team that gave such lovely service during my stay there. They were so friendly and helpful at times. In addition, there are so many free interesting activities to do here but so sad i got no time to try it. I had a bed in mixed dormitory room with bathroom inside and it's quite clean and comfortable.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Gilang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews