We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Indian”
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #15 of 224 Restaurants in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Himalaya Nepalese & Indian Restaurant is under new management since June 2017. It used to be known as Gurkhali Restaurant. Himalaya has a lovely indoor seating. You will find a welcoming & relaxing atmosphere at Himalaya, nothing better to enjoy a great night out. Our Nepali chef is well-known for his cuisine. He has mastered the art of mixing spices. His cooking is full of flavours and colours. We can assure you that you will not find any other place like Himalaya which combines traditional recipes from Nepal & India. Come try our food, and let us know about your experience.
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

On a cool wet night we went hear for a warming dinner as it was underneath our apartment & we didn’t want to go out in the weather. The decor is not the best but the food was tasty. There’s a small wine list by the glass. Portion sizes were just right: not too large & not too small. We shared a mixed entree plate & then each had a different curry.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank DiE332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Grabbed some take-away and everything was very tasty.

MoMo’s had an excellent spiced taste and the cheese and cheese and spinach naan was just how we like it. Curries were also very tasty.

Service was excellent as well - super friendly.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Damien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

It’s easy to be discouraged on a winters evening visiting here. Don’t be! The food is truly great. My wife loves Indian food and this is a Nepalese twist that is probably the best I’ve eaten in the UK and AUS :)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mahuh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We looked this restaurant up in trip advisor. Coming from a lovely cocktail bar to a more backstreet environment mid winter we found a deserted restaurant that appeared to have no atmosphere. We nearly walked by but didn’t. What a find! The food was superb. We had goat curry, chicken curry, aloo gobi and a cheese naan that was to die for. Do not by-pass this place.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 401tracye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We tried this restaurant on Friday night and we were not disappointed! The mo:mo’s were to die for, we also ordered the lamb korma and the Sherpa Kukhura and they were delicious. It was a little cold inside, perhaps a heater should be turned on, however it doesn’t deter us from returning. We will be visiting again for sure!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank juliesb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Kings Beach, Caloundra
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Dicky Beach, Caloundra
 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing