We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE LOCATION ~ SNARKY OWNER!”
Review of Lurline House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lurline House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“NICE LOCATION ~ SNARKY OWNER!”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Have stayed at Lurline House on 3 occasions. The value is good and the House nice- although small, yet the owner/manager is arguably somewhat 'Snarky'. At times he makes guests feel unwelcome.

The breakfast is excellent, however the beds are ROCK hard, and we have stayed in 3 different rooms, all the same hardness, could not sleep!! We came back because of the location and the price, needing to visit relatives in the vicinity- however if prices increase , do not bother if you expect a genuinely friendly B&B management team. The cleaners can't wait to get you out of the room either, and are quite rude about it if you are a bit late packing up.

Overall, if you don't mind hard beds and off hand management, then this is a clean establishment in a nice area with reasonable rates and a very nice breakfast- however if you are also after welcoming service, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pifkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
law1307, Owner at Lurline House, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Pifkie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your previous stays at Lurline House and for the positive comments you detailed such as the cleanliness, reasonable rates, good breakfast and location.

We appreciate all feedback and we were very disappointed to read that we did not provide a level of service and hospitality that was acceptable to you, as we do always strive for excellence. We are happy to advise that mattresses in all of our rooms were replaced in January 2012.

Our service is frequently complimented and we will continue to endeavor to provide a warm and welcoming environment here at Lurline House.

Again our sincere apologises that you felt disappointed wih your experience.

Regards,
Peter & Suzanne Noble
Owners of Lurline House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    69
    9
    0
    7
See reviews for
69
493
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I really wanted to stay at the Carrington as we had overseas friends travellig with us. However, after reading past reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to try Lurline House instead.
The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The management is friendly and very hospitable. The breakfast was fresh and delicious.
With free Wifi, after dinner port and chocolates, as well as a friendly cat, maps and hiking guides to borrow, and extremely helpful staff I was so happy with my choice!
Note - I booked on their website, which was cheaper than on wotif.com.

Room Tip: Spa room is nice - if you have the time to take one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I went here with my wife for a romantic getaway and Peter (the owner) certainly delivered. The place is great and the atmosphere and hospitality super. The breakfast was quite nice, as were the rooms, the sitting area, and the little courtyard. Had a large selection of hiking maps and good outdoor advice. Off-street parking. About a 10 or 15 minute walk to the downtown restarants, which we did nightly. Very central location to explore the Blue Mountains from. Can't say enough good things about Peter and his staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryland1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a lovely B and B with a host who goes the extra mile. The room was lovely ,clean and comfortable. Plus the help to get the most out of a short stay was outstandiing
I loved seeing my breakfast fresly cooked and wish my appetite had been larger
Could have easily stayed longer, such a treat to be treated like an individual who matters

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

enjoyed a very warm welcome by Peter with a pot of tea after a long drive. The house is easy to find, stylish and quiet with parking. It is well maintained with lots of love to detail. Our room was clean and spacious with even a jacuzzi in the bathroom. Free Wifi is available. We enjoyed a fabulous cooked breakfast with amazing choice. Parrots sit in the garden. Dont miss this B+B.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
1.1 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
0.8 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.8 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.2 km away
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lurline House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lurline House

Property: Lurline House
Address: 122 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,810 - ₹ 7,556
Hotel Class:4 star — Lurline House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, EaseMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Lurline House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lurline House Hotel Katoomba
Lurline House Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing