We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could have been Great...”
Review of Mountain Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Heritage
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 19 April 2012

... with a little bit of attention to detail. We arrived for an overnight stay on a Friday and were met by a very friendly receptionist (Lisa) who quickly detailed the different rooms they had and we chose a front upstairs room (#9) which had outstanding views over the valley. It was a kingsize room that required the bed to be split into two singles for the night. As they were a bit short staffed I offered to take care of the beds, however there was insufficient bedding so the friendly Lisa came up and sorted us out in short time. The beds were quite hard and we both had sore backs in the morning. The bathroom was adequate with the shower over a bath. The shower had a monsoon head with plenty of pressure and was fantastic.
The bar was staffed with a new girl who had only started two days before and had little idea about the bar stock or prices but again was friendly. The meals in the restaurant were adequate for the location if a bit expensive and the service should have been much better - inattentive waiters and a bad chardonnay didn't help, they did recognize the wine was off and took it off the bill but forgot to ask until we had finished dessert if I wanted a replacement glass. However the buffet breakfast was way overpriced at $28 at an average or below quality.
The whole atmosphere in the hotel was one of olde world charm and character that could easily be lifted with a bit of attention to service detail and staff training.

Room Tip: The front upstairs rooms afford a fantastic view across the valley towards the 3 Sisters highlighted...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSargison_4782, General Manager at Mountain Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Craig,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I have passed on your positive comments to our receptionist, Lisa who took care of you so well on your arrival. You certainly chose well when you decided to stay in that room as it does have truly magnificent views.
Our beds are only quite new Sealy Posturepedics which may be why they felt a little hard for you both.
Yes we did have a new staff member on that night who was in the process of being trained, but that is no excuse for not receiving excellent service which we are well known for. Your comments have been discussed with our Restaurant Manager and our Chef to ensure that there is no repeat of these incidents.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the magnificent Blue Mountains.
Kind Regards
Roger Sargison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Heritage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 507 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this hotel via trail finders in the Uk and I must confess it was not up to the usually high standard we have come to expect when booking through them. Don't get me wrong our stay was nice enough just not great.

Our room definitely had 'echoes of the past' as reference by other travellers but my take would be that it was a bit tired and need of a spruce up. We had all the usual amenities: good bathroom, TV even a sofa in the room which was quite spacious. However the bed was dreadfully uncomfortable, and there were quite a few stairs to negotiate from reception to our room and the general standard of the decor in the property wasnt what I had expected for the price/star rating. The breakfast was excellent and although the hotel was clearly not very busy, the choice and quality were very good.

Katoomba itself was interesting, we enjoyed a fantastic lunch at the Old city bank pub (well worth a visit) and enjoyed a visit to the 3 sisters.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freelunch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed three nights here as a centre for exploring the Blue Mountains. We had been given a free upgrade to one of the spa rooms with a view towards the Jamison Valley although on the first morning it was non existant by the thick mist! We found all the staff helpful with our requests including going into the Tower Room to take photos of the stained glass windows. We were given a factsheet with the history of the hotel which gave us a great insight to its origins and changes over the years. Beautiful woodwork and lots of stained glass provides lots of character in the public rooms. Fortunately the sun came out on our second and third mornings and we got to see the stunning views at breakfast from the panoramic windows in the dining room.

Room Tip: The best rooms are upstairs towards the front.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmorris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a 1-1/2 month self drive of Australia in March. Our room was clean and appeared to have been recently renovated.
Although our room was overlooking the roof the dining room had a magnificent view of the Blue Mountains. The young lady who served us breakfast was very pleasant.
Mountain Heritage is a small, stately hotel and has a warm and relaxing atmosphere.
(Be careful not to get it mixed up with a similar sounding hotel down the road.)

Room Tip: If view from the room is a concern then check when booking. (there may be a price difference depend...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Edwardian hotel.very tastefully-refurbished . Delightful public rooms - very cosy lounge , bar , dining room . Our room ( number 1 ) was large and elegantly and comfortably furnished - although some other guests complained of small dingy rooms. Good restaurant with lovely views ( weather permitting !)
Outdoor unheated pool and useful small gym in nearby wooden chalet.
A very good base for exploring Blue Mountains

Room Tip: first floor room in original part of building
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carltonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
945 reviews
8.7 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.8 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.9 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Heritage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Heritage

Address: Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: ₹ 7,814 - ₹ 18,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mountain Heritage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Heritage Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Mountain Heritage Hotel Katoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing