We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Nearby Hotels
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
US$ 98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
US$ 67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 150
US$ 110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 287
US$ 257
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
US$ 78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 266
US$ 255
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
US$ 72
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 73
US$ 71
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
184
254
111
44
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
254
111
44
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmblue mountainsspa view roompiano mandining roomold stylespectacular viewsjamieson valleyno liftopen firepublic areascharming hotelstep back in timelounge arearoom was largeair conditionerpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed three nights here as a centre for exploring the Blue Mountains. We had been given a free upgrade to one of the spa rooms with a view towards the Jamison Valley although on the first morning it was non existant by the thick mist! We found all the staff helpful with our requests including going into the Tower Room to take photos of the stained glass windows. We were given a factsheet with the history of the hotel which gave us a great insight to its origins and changes over the years. Beautiful woodwork and lots of stained glass provides lots of character in the public rooms. Fortunately the sun came out on our second and third mornings and we got to see the stunning views at breakfast from the panoramic windows in the dining room.

Room Tip: The best rooms are upstairs towards the front.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmorris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a 1-1/2 month self drive of Australia in March. Our room was clean and appeared to have been recently renovated.
Although our room was overlooking the roof the dining room had a magnificent view of the Blue Mountains. The young lady who served us breakfast was very pleasant.
Mountain Heritage is a small, stately hotel and has a warm and relaxing atmosphere.
(Be careful not to get it mixed up with a similar sounding hotel down the road.)

Room Tip: If view from the room is a concern then check when booking. (there may be a price difference depending on the view.)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Edwardian hotel.very tastefully-refurbished . Delightful public rooms - very cosy lounge , bar , dining room . Our room ( number 1 ) was large and elegantly and comfortably furnished - although some other guests complained of small dingy rooms. Good restaurant with lovely views ( weather permitting !)
Outdoor unheated pool and useful small gym in nearby wooden chalet.
A very good base for exploring Blue Mountains

Room Tip: first floor room in original part of building
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carltonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I booked this hotel based on a few good reviews from this site. My wife and I were celebrating out 2nd year wedding anniversary. I was very disappointed. We paid for a Spa Room and the room itself was average. We were in Room 42 which is right below the resturant. We heard footsteps on the creeky floorboards above us during the night and again in the morning. The bathroom was big and spacious however the lighting was poor and the fire sprinklers hung out of the roof. The hot water for our shower was good one minute, scorching hot the next and cold a minute later. Im glad we weren't young children. It was hot enough to burn a child.
The pool (unheated, outdoor) is closed during certain months of the year and looked in disrepair. This was not mentioned before we booked anywhere. The grounds around the place were ok but a recent Air Conditioning upgrade is yet to be complete with the old AC units lying around the garden outside our room. (See attached picture)
We had the buffet breakfast included and again were disappointed. The food selection was ok but it was all cold. The hot food was barely warm and when we mentioned this to the waiter, her excuse was that the food had been there a little while and that with people opening the lids it lets the warmth out. When the resturant gets busier it will be fixed. Are you kidding! For $25 pp you cant give me hot food. My wife decided to have some toast and the first piece she picked up was stale and rock hard. There was clearly no point in telling the wait staff and we finished breakfast and left soon after. $50 wasted on a pathetic breakfast.
My wife is lactose intolerant and decided to have a Soy Latte - they charged an extra $4 for it.
The location was advertised as having amazing valley views. The view from our room was mediocre. The view from the resturant was good though. Ashame the food was no good.

Overall, we would have been better spending the $400+ at Lilianfels for similar money and a far superior resturant.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSargison_4782, General Manager at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Adam M,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am sorry that you were not happy with your room as this is one of the rooms that has recently been refurbished with new bedding, new sofas (only 3 months old), new 46" LED flat screen tv and the bathroom has just recently been completed regrouted and painted.
I am a litte confused in your comment regarding the fire sprinklers as where else but the ceiling would you install them? The hot water has been tested in that bathroom by a registered plumber and all has been passed.
The outdoor pool was not closed while you were here, it is only closed in the winter months and given the incredible amount of bad weather that we have experienced here in the Blue Mountains recently the hotel's grounds are in exceptional condition. The old air conditioning unit was only removed from the room next to you on the Friday and a new one has now been installed and the old one taken away.
I will certainly be discussing your comments with our restaurant mangager regarding the excuses by the waiter as we pride ourselves on the quality of our food and regularly receive very positive feedback from guests. The bread does sit very close to the toaster and this does at times dry the bread out but it certainly was not stale as it is delivered fresh daily.
Our location does have the "best" views in Katoomba but rooms with views are always booked out well in advance.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but I am confident that if you had mentioned your problems during your stay, I personally would have acted immediately to ensure that your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
Thank you once again for your comments,
Roger Sargison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here on January 13 for 2 nights. We chose the valley view room for the large room. The weather turned very wet and cold and we decided to stay indoors. The staff went out of their way to turn the woodfire/heater on and provided room service during the day (normally at night). Great restaurant downstairs too. Liked the old story photos too.

Room Tip: Valley View with Balcony - Jamieson View
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews