We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in the Blue Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Katoomba Townhouses
Reviewed 28 April 2016

I am not gonna lie this place could do with a seriously good clean!! It was dusty, musty smelling, there were dead bugs in the wardrobe, the bed covers looked as if they needed washing and the dining table was so sticky that the place mats stuck to it!. There are signs saying you will be charged if you do not keep the place tidy so I reckon they run it on a minimal cleaning turnover.
That being said its a great location only a 5 minute walks from Echo Point and a bus stop on the corner - its very spacious and adequately furnished which is all you really need need after a days hiking in the valley.
We never actually met or saw any staff or owners which was slightly weird as all dealings were via email or over the phone but that was not too big a problem.
I probably wouldn't stay there again but it would be great for a bunch of friends/students who are not too fussy about cleanliness.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

I booked this place to stay for the 10th to 14th of February as I was attending the ukulele festival at Katoomba.

No confirmation email so I evetually asked for one. And it come through about a week later. No contact was forthcoming as to how to obtain access to the villa. So I contacted tge owner and was told to ring on day of arrival for the code. So i contacted the owner on the day and it took 3 phone calls to get through. They are very bad at communication.

When I arrived I found the fridge pulled out from the wall and there were dead bugs in every room. I rang onwer to let them know I would not stay in accomdation in this state.

I rang the owner to find out what was happening. And I was told they'd sprayed the house for pests and no cleaner was booked on to tidy the space therefore it wouldn't be cleaned before or after my arrival.

I said it was not good enough. The space had been booked since September the previous year. They knew I was coming why not make sure the space was clean.

She then offered me another space but said they had also been sprayed and not cleaned. I said I was not willing to look at another space and I asked for a refund because I was going home.

She agreed to a refund which I received the following week.

Book at your own risk as owners are not interested in upkeep or communication.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Despite some of the negative reviews on here, we found this place to be a great place to stay for our family. location is fab, walking distance to Echo Point, walking distance for the more fit ones to Scenic World and the town centre. It's a great location to base yourself. Our townhouse was very clean and tidy and seems well looked after. The cleaner even called in to check that everything was OK. It's very affordable for it"s location. Glad I wasn't put off by the negative reviews. Would stay again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: Good accessibility to tourist locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Positives:
- Great location! Only a 5 minute walk to the Three Sisters and Echo Point. You can do nice walks from there to Leura Falls and Katoomba Falls. We even got to see the Three Sisters lit up at night.
- Cleanliness. Could not complain. A few glasses were a bit dirty but nothing major.

Negatives:
- The service we received from the person managing this place was appalling.

I called to provide my card details to pay for the deposit the week before our stay. After that, I had to chase her up about our booking every day til our stay.

Over the phone I had confirmed that we wanted to stay for 3 nights (even though I had mistakenly put in 4 nights in the booking enquiry). She told me that this was fine and that she would email me a confirmation. Two days passed without an email confirmation. During this time, I emailed her and called a few times to remind her to send through an email confirmation of our dates. As we were supposed to leave in 4 days, we wanted to have written confirmation of our stay.

After much prompting and numerous calls from both me and my partner, we received the email confirmation. Unfortunately, it stated that we were staying for 4 nights. Again, I had to emailed her to remind her that we were only staying 3 nights. Again, I tried calling but could not reach her to rectify the issue.

Later that day, I look into my bank statements and I see that I have been debited for 4 nights. Once again, I had to email, call and text to get a refund for the one extra night. During this time, she did not reply to any of my written communications and was rude to us over the phone.

While our stay was pleasant, our experience with the manager of the Townhouses gave us unnecessary stress in the lead up to our stay. I have never experienced this type of treatment before in any other accommodation that I have stayed in.

Unfortunately this experience will deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Staying 4 days 3 nights in October 15 with my wife and 2 kids in 2 bedroom #4. We have stayed here several times before, and coped with the mediocrity of the place because if is in a great location and really cheap. This visit however was disappointing.

There are 2 electirc BBQ's on the property. One is clean(ish) enough to be useable, the other one is filthy and unusable. The Grass around the whole complex is a good 6 inches tall and growing wild. Most annoying the Remote to our TV works only very VERY intermittently. We reported this to the owner on our second morning, and it is still non-functional on day 3 evening. Happily, we figured out how to navigate the TV using the buttons on the back on our 3rd day. Finally, the carpet throughout is just a little scary, and if you drop something on the floor, it goes straight in the bin.

Positives are the great location, low cost, efficient and quiet heating, electric blankets on the beds, clean bedding, bathroom and separate toilet, We also like thqt there is designated on property parking, and a free electric BBQ and outdoor seating. The kitchen is equipped with the essentials to make a faily breakfast and sandwiches for a days hiking. Sadly, there is not enough room for a dishwasher in the kitchen, so if, like us, you hate washing up while on vacation, bring disposable plates, cups, bowls and cutlery.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank banksruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 km away
Echo Point Village
Echo Point Village
#6 of 13 in Katoomba
234 reviews
0.4 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.4 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
456 reviews
0.9 km away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Townhouses? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Townhouses

Address: 173 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range: ₹ 6,140 - ₹ 7,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Katoomba Townhouses 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Katoomba Townhouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Townhouses Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing