We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
113
36
8
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
36
8
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room social gathering blue mountains helpful owner highly recommend staying here nice room ross hostel winter australia walks brekkie curtains couch
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Are you coming to Katoomba, wanting a nice room, nice company and somebody with experience that can recommend amazing walking and biking trails? Have this hostel in mind.

Based on my room, I am going to guess the rooms are comfortable with the bare minimum (pretty standard with hostels), which is: your bed, a few lamps, a chair and some sort of closet. The room is pretty clean, and checking out the rest of the hostel you could say they have a lot of things to offer to people staying here. The living room has a lot of different games and a nice fireplace that makes the stay feel like staying with your grandma.

The kitchen has every you might need (even though the knives are due for replacement or giving a really good sharpening. The even have some oil and spices to share (which is pretty good for anybody staying for a few days).

The host/owner is super friendly and easygoing. We followed some of his recommendations and the views were amazing. Out of the places we have stayed in Katoomba (or the entire Blue Mountains), this has been the best so far.

Room Tip: #3 is located at a good position between the entrance and the bathroom yet far enough from the kitchen/living room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigoelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hostels in Aus so far have been a bit off and very different to Asia, very clicky and not great for the money. Here Ross makes you feel very welcome and get everyone together as well as providing great local info for walks etc. He is also great at finding people jobs here and there too. Will deffo be returning to stay a little longer in the summer. There are pasta and BBQ nights too so you can always get a good meal, brekkie is decent and a nice crowd. He even upgraded our room for us which was really nice. Comfortable place too in the living room with the fire going.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaming-renegades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

A friend and I were looking for somewhere more sociable than a hotel or air bnb to stay and we decided to book The Flying Fox. All the rooms were heated and so it was very cosy and the kitchen is spacious. Ross the owner was so welcoming and hospitable, and offered great advice on the best walks. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Pros:
- Clean
- Bunks have curtains for privacy
- Easy to make friends
- Pet cat
- Helpful owner
- BYO alcohol allowed
- Not a party place, so easy to sleep

Cons:
- No central heating, so very cold during winter
- A bit expensive

This place was amazing. The atmosphere was fun and friendly. The whole "social time" thing was great because we made friends so easily. The owner was very kind and helpful. He always showed us the best hikes and he gave us a list of other good hostels to stay at. I loved it. I wish I could have stayed forever.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Madisson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Holi is the and most awesome receptionist! :) I like the hostel. There was a heater in the room. The kitchen was well equipped and resonably large. Oil, spices and so own were there. There is a chimney fire in the evening with social gathering. We got really good advice for hiking in the area. In the end we would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hengxti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews