We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visitors to Airlie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shingley Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed at this property 3 times now; in a studio room, with another couple in a 2 bedroom unit & in a 1 bedroom with an overseas visitor using the pull out sofa. We have always stayed a few nights and not wanted to leave. Space, cleanliness & facilities superior to anywhere else of comparable price range and we had stayed in several properties before finding this gem. Choice of 2 pools. Can eat in restaurant; unit with good little kitchen or BBQ area by pool with lovely big shaded tables. Car usually under solid cover or secure garage is a plus up here.

Room Tip: Pull out sofa not as comfy as beds, of course, & only 1 air con in 1 br unit (living area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

i had a great stay at the shingley beach resort. the hosts of the resort were very accommodating. due to a late greyhound bus departure, i asked for a late check out at 6pm. my room was available so the hosts let me stay with no extra charge! this was extremely appreciated and shows their utmost customer service. the rooms were clean and the resort was beautiful. great pool and views of the marina. i would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I recently stayed here for 5 nights during our time on the Whitsunday Coast with my sister.

We chose this resort as the time we were travelling was during 'Schoolies' in November and I didn't fancy being caught in the middle of the mayhem! It is a 1.5km walk along the boardwalk into Airlie Beach, it took us about 20 minutes to half an hour stroll. It is a nice walk that takes in the coast right round to Airlie Lagoon but I wouldn't fancy walking it at night in the dark really. Although there are a few shops along the way and it is a well used walkway.

I had contacted the hotel before we travelled to organise airport transfers. We flew into Proserpine which is a small airport and the transfers were arranged with Whitsunday Transfers who were ready and waiting at the airport on our arrival. We were the first drop off on our way into Airlie Beach. We settled the bill for the transfer at check out.

Check in was quick and easy as we were the only arrivals at that time. Everthing was explained on check in and we were given a map and shown the surrounding area and a couple of information leaflets.We had room 32 which was on the second level above the first swimming pool and BBQ area. There are a few sets of steps around which can be a pain with luggage but our room could be accessed up a hill and only one set of steps.

The room was a studio room. We had a double bed, a sofa, table and chairs and kitchenette. The room was air conditioned but they do ask that you don't change the heat settings as it is centrally controlled and can cause problems. There was also a celing fan above the bed, handy at night time as the air didn't seem to circulate much in the room. There was a TV in the room with a couple of movie channels too, very nice after a day out on a trip just to chill out.

There are, as a couple of other reviews have mentioned, quite a few do's and don'ts posted about in the room. I wouldn't say that this was so much of a 'problem' though. There was also an area information folder in the room which was useful especially with being located just outside of the centre so we found that it was sometimes easier to order a pizza deliver to the room rather than try and eat out and the takeaway numbers were in the folder. We also found that there was only one supermarket in Airlie Beach, there is a shopping centre in Cannonvale but we didn't venture the 1.5km in the opposite direction there.

The resort overlooks Abel Point Marina which is very handy for some of the trips that depart from here. It is also a brilliant view from your balcony. We went on one trip, Big Fury, out to Whitehaven Beach which went from here. The other trip we did was to the Great Barrier Reef with Fantasea which departed from Shute Harbour but transfers there were included and we had no problems with either of the trip and would thoroughly recommend them both. We booked both trips at reception and paid a deposit to Shingley then the rest of the balance to the companies directly. This was really handy for us as we settled our bill at check out so we could sort our finanaces between us! Australia isn't the cheapest place to travel, but well worth it as you can imagine!

Our room was fine, good sized shower in the bathroom. We did have a small problem with tiny ants coming through the insect screen in the bathroom. There were lots of little geckos about aswell but never in the room. The room isn't soundproof, there was one morning that we were woken up by next door playing a digeridoo and clapsticks!! You can hear others outside entering and leaving their rooms too but it was never a problem to an extent that it stopped us sleeping etc, in general we found it to be a quite resort.

There were never many people around the pool area, we had it all to ourselves one day. There is a no smoking policy through the resort and public areas, I believe you can smoke on your balcony but we are not smokers.

There is a restaurant on sit that opens Wednesday through Sunday but we didn't eat here as there wasn't much vegetarian choice. There are also a few shops down by reception and a salon.

There was a washing machine and dryer located on our floor for guest use, you just have to purchase washing powder from reception. Very useful when travelling on a longer trip away.

There is a market on the beach in Airlie on a Sunday, definately worth a walk down for a look during your stay here.

We had a fantastic stay at Shingley and would like to thank the staff, very helpful and always friendly.

Would recommend this resort as a base to explore the Whitsunday Islands, they are definately worth exploring!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojob1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We spent 3 nights at this resort at the beginning of October. When we arrived we were told that there would be a wedding on every day of our stay but that it would not interfere with our own plans. This of course was not true. The restaurant was closed to guests other than the wedding party and as wedding guests congregated around the small pool area it was clear that it would not be possible to use the pool either. The apartment although well furnished with a kitchenette was also supplied with an instruction manual consisting of a number of bizarre dos and don'ts e.g. "if you use the kitchenette and burn anything then it will set off the smoke alarm, the fire brigade will be called and you will be personally responsible for a call out fee of 800+AUD" and "don't operate the air conditioner below 22 degrees C or the system will seize up". The hotel setting had a pretty outlook towards Abel Point Marina but this was insufficient to compensate for the other factors.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauhinnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011


A modern purpose built beach resort overlooking the Marina, a ten minute stroll to the main shops and swimming lagoon. It was immaculate and comfortable. We chose the one bedroom apartment rather than a studio. It cost a bit more but had full cooking facilities, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. If you are booking at the last minute, ask for a last minute deal. There were two pools and a restaurant on site. Lots of trips and activities on offer. 

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bornagainrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
412 reviews
1.1 km away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#23 of 56 in Airlie Beach
609 reviews
1.0 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#3 of 56 in Airlie Beach
519 reviews
0.8 km away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
217 reviews
1.4 km away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shingley Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingley Beach Resort

Address: Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: ₹ 7,685 - ₹ 14,783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shingley Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shingley Beach Resort offers a large variety of affordable accommodation overlooking the Abel Point Marina and magical Whitsunday islands. Located less than 50 metres from the waterfront, adjacent to Abel Point Marina, nestled in a natural amphitheatre of trees and parkland. Shingley Beach Resort is serene and the perfect Resort for your next Whitsunday Holiday, Function or Wedding. The resort is close enough to walk to the Main Village of Airlie Beach yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night. Shingley Beach Resort specialises in self-contained holiday apartments, which feature private balconies overlooking Shingley Beach, The Whitsunday Islands and Abel Point Marina, the hub of all the Reef and Island tours leaving almost from your doorstep. You can relax in the spacious comfort of one of the 32 self-contained holiday apartments for either a short or long stay, an ideal base to explore the Whitsunday Islands and The Great Barrier Reef. The facilities at Shingley Beach Resort include a large 18 metre lap/ diving pool, 2 small plunge pools both with poolside BBQs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shingley Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingley Beach Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing