We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views from every window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mediterranean Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Beautiful views from every window”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

We have recently returned from a very relaxing stay at Airlie Beach. We booked an apartment in the Mediterranean Resorts through Q Rentals. The agent bent over backwards to see that we were looked after. The unit was spotless,the views beautiful and the managers were very friendly and helpful. Yes, its a steep climb, not for the faint hearted or very unfit, but if you take it slow with long steps, it is not far at all. We normally did the downhill walk and caught a taxi back up the hill to avoid any cardiac arrests. There are 2 pools on site and a nice BBQ. Cockatoos visited daily to say hello and to steal any food left on the table. They are irrestible, but messy, so beware! I would recommend contacting Tania at Q Rentals if you plan to go to Airlie for a holiday, she will look after you like you were gold.

  • Liked — the views and air conditioning in most rooms - it was hot and humid!
  • Disliked — I could not fault anything.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nascyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    45
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

We stayed at this resort 6 days as part of our honeymoon. We did a bit of research before finally deciding on this resort and we were so glad we did. The resort is quite a way up the hill so i would advise you to get a car or pay for a taxi (about $5) to get there but the advantage is you get breathtaking views of airlie beach and the whole bay - it was really spectacular!

Our room i believe was the honeymoon suite so we had a downstairs living area containing a couch, table & chairs, tv/dvd/stereo and a fully equipped kitchen including microwave, dishwasher, oven, fridge/freezer which came in real handy when we wanted to have dinner at the resort. Also downstairs was a huge garage including a washing machine and dryer which was great.

Upstairs we had a queen size bed with separate shower and walk in wardrobe and a balcony outside with a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was great especially one night when we had thunder and lightning - very cool.
The resort was very clean, the only problems we had were with a few pesky ants in the kitchen and bathroom but that didnt dent the experience in any way

We ended up only using the two pools at the resort near the end of our stay but they were very nice and private. The resort also has a noise policy so it was always quiet which was a bonus.

As part of the honeymoon package we got to do various activities including: Helicopter Island Scenic tour, Sunset Cruise, Dinner at Deja Vu, and a massage. We chose to skip the massage and instead we went on two island cruises - one to another island and the other on the Camira catermaran to whitsunday island.
We loved the dinner at Deja Vu restaurant which was just 2 minutes walk down the hill from the resort, the helicopter tour was fun and the picnic lunch provided was excellent. We liked the sunset cruise as well - something you will want to do if you are there with your significant other!
The camira was not bad - although it was quite crowded and the weather was temperamental so on a sunny windy day it would have been great fun. We sailed around the bay and eventually got to whitsunday island - You have to go there to believe how good it is! Believe me It is just like on a brochure and the sand is very cool.

The other cruise we went on a ship around a similar route and got dropped off at one of the islands with a resort i cant remember the name. The island itself was quite bland so we sat in the hammock, used the pool and outside spa and saunas and finished off by hiring a jetski for 20 minutes - that was great fun!

We had a look around town but there is not much to see, mostly food shops.We also hired a scooter just over the road from the resort and drove around which was fun - it was much easier than walking up the hill!

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this resort, the only thing that could have improved was the service from the manager who seemed not very interested - although his wife was totally the opposite - strange - anyway - hope this review will help you decide on your next stay at airlie beach!

  • Liked — The views, jacuzzi on a stormy night
  • Disliked — The front desk..
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrox2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in a 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for a hens weekend. The first thing we disliked was the huge climb up the hill we were going to have, but the view was just amazing! although our legs didn't appreciate that!
Secondly the car parking was horrid, but I don't think much can be done differently when you building is on a mountainside. We did manage to get the car in the space provided with about 20 spare on each side!

Then we had to climb the 4 3 story's of stairs to get to our room - no lifts!

The apartment was big and had 4 balconies to overlook the amazing view. There was a 2 person spa on one of the balconies which was nice and warm when we arrived and even though we left on was cold for the rest of our stay.

There was an ensuite from the main bedroom, and the other 2 rooms were down in a sunken area at the other end of apartment and there was a main bathroom dopwn there, although after 2 showers each day we had no hot water left which made 6 of the eight girls miserablle at bath time!

The kitchen was full size and there was a laudry with machine and dryer.
There was a wall mounted tv in the main bedroom and another tv in a cabinet in the loungeroom with a dvds player. There was also a small stereo although after many tries we could not get it to work.

All in all we had a good stay, it was very close to the main drag in Airlie but a 50 degree climb 250 metres wasn't very pleasant. Also it is called the Mediterranean Resort, however, from my experience it was really just apartments with a pool as there were no other facilities and reception was via a paging system and they would come down. We found on arrival that 50% of this complex was residential, so there was a complete noise ban ot you would be asked to leave with no refund!

We took a look at the coral sea Resort whilst in AIrlie and it looked more like a resort, with facilities you would expect from a "resort" unlike the Mediterranean. Will might give them a try next time.

Any questions drop me a line!

Ang

  • Liked — Location and Views
  • Disliked — The walk up the hill, standard for penthouse was poor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2007

We stayed at the Mediterranean Resort for 2 weeks and had a great time

The resort is located in central Airlie Beach, at the top of a short, but steep hill.

Check in was smooth and quick, and the staff were able to give good advice on trips and restaurants.

We stayed in the 2 bed spa apartment which we were very impressed with. The apartment was spacious and comfortable with all the mod-cons you would need.

There was a spacious living room/ kitchen area downstairs, with a small balcony, and then upstairs there were two bedrooms and two bathrooms, with plenty of storage.

The master bedroom was huge and opened up onto a balcony offering a panoramic view of the Whitsunday islands, and our own private spa.

The second bedroom had two single beds in it, and there were two modern bathrooms with showers.The apartment also had its own garage and laundry facitilities

The resort had a beautiful infinity pool and a second smaller pool with a jacuzzi corner.

We also stayed in the standard 2 bed apartment which was also very nice, and whilst all the apartments are different, the one we stayed in had both a large balcony and a small garden, however the view wasn’t uninterrupted.

We also had chance to view the 4 bed apartment which was stunning.

The staff looked after our luggage without charge when we went on our two day sailing trips, most people were being charged storage costs by their accommodation.

We would definitely stay here again.

Airlie beach itself is a very relaxed, backpacker style village.There is not much of a beach, but a lovely man-made lagoon

To eat we would recommend the 8 course 4hour lunch at Deja Vu, at Waters Edge hotel which is only a few doors down from Med Resorts

We would recommend the 2 day sailing trip on Whitsunday Blue catamaran, booked through Oz adventure sailing, and the private bubble helicopter 4 hour trip over the islands, reef, and private picnic at Whitehaven, booked with Aviation Adventures.

We would also recommend Cruise Whitsundays Knuckle Reef day trip to the GBR.

  • Liked — panoramic views
  • Disliked — steep hill
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honung
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2007

It is more expensive here but it seems the whole of Airlie is quite pricey. The appartment was big, comfortable and well equiped and the view from the balcony was amazing. There was two pools and a jacuzzi which look out onto the view. It is at the top of a steep hill, but it's not that bad. My parents managed it and they are not particularly fit and in their 50s. The only downside was the owner, he is shockingly unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
15.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.5 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 km away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.1 km away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#12 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.0 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Resorts

Property: Mediterranean Resorts
Address: 14 Golden Orchid Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,585 - ₹ 14,456
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mediterranean Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Resort offers affordable luxury in self contained 1, 2 and 3 bedroom villas, honeymoon suites or a choice of 3 or 4 bedroom penthouses.The private balconies and spacious apartments offer unsurpassed views across the Coral Sea and the magnificent Whitsunday Islands.The resort facilities include 2 private saltwater pools both with outstanding views, a spa in which to refresh and all only 300m from the centre of Airlie Beach.The Whitsundays really is the epitome of Paradise, and Mediterranean Resorts is in the heart of it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mediterranean Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Airlie Beach
Mediterranean Resort Airlie Beach
Mediterranean Resorts Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing