We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want relaxation this hotel is the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    112
    36
    22
    8
See reviews for
110
133
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed at the Grand Mercure for 5 nights, and found it to be a very strange place. We had travelled from Perth via Ayres Rock and it had been a very long day by the time we arrived to check-in. We then found no one at reception and a note saying "back in 10 minutes" then struggled to find a washroom and toilets while we waited to check-in.
On completion of check in we were given a map and directions to the car-park and our apartment and told "just park anywhere as it's impossible for me to enforce parking."
After arriving at our apartment we noted that the air-conditioners were not working and the rooms steamy hot, I rang reception to advise them and his response was that they would not get someone to fix them until the morning, I explained it was too hot to sleep in these conditions and asked to be moved to another apartment and when that was not possible, I advised that unless something was done we would have no option other than to find alternative accommodation, I was informed by the male night receptionist that I was being "unreasonable" I had booked and paid for air-conditioned accommodaton and did not think it was unreasonbable to get what I had paid for. Was not an option to open doors and windows as there were no insect screens whatsover.
I rang Accor Advantages plus, who we booked through, and lodged a complaint (they were next to useless but that will be discussed when my membership is next due due ) In the meantime reception rang my husband and apologised and said he would comp us a bottle of wine the next morning. My husband managed to get the air-conditioner working in some fashion though it was not a good nights sleep at all, room still warm and stuffy.
The next morning I noted a sign about insects being a problem and again thought insect screens would have helped prevent this problem. I also noted a sign about false alarms and call outs of the fire brigade, apparently caused by shower steam, clothes dryer, toaster and cooking !!!! The sign also advised that guests would be charged almost $1500 call out fee in the event of a false alarm. The sign requested that doors be left open to prevent these false alarms (Hello - no insect screens !!!) Also there were no exhaust fans in bathrooms and laundry to prevent steam build up so a bit stupid complaining about these issues of false alarms with no means of prevention !! I specialise in emegency managment and suggest that this hotel needs to put some preventative engineering controls into place rather than relying on guests as a last resort.
During our stay we did not cook as did not want to face a confrontation over the "fine" which I am sure is illegal and which I certainly would not have paid. The air-conditioning was working OK the next evening and I never saw the promised bottle of wine !
The following morning we went down to our car and found a "snotty note" telling us to park in our numbered bay or the visitors parking, queried this with the day receptionist who told my husband that we had to park in the bay provided for our apartment, in direct conflict with what the night receptionist had told us, I think some additional training is necessary so that everyone gives guests the same information.
The hotel is well located and the rooms are well equipped, however there is no restaurant and no facility to eat at the restaurant in the same complex and charge back to the room. In saying that we ate at the Italian restaurant in the complex, which was very expensive and the food not of a good quality but certainly excessive in quantity.
All in all the only thing going for this hotel is the location and after our experience I would certainly not stay there again.

Room Tip: Best room would be at another hotel - Novotel is not that far away in Palm Cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very Disappointed, location excellent, reception staff excellent, tropical setting with pool excellent, unfortunately, the apartment was dirty and dusty inside and out (balcony), furniture soiled inside and out (balcony), coffee cups badly stained, one with mould. My wife and I will not stay at this property again. The ACCOR experience for us has always been very good, not on this occasion (very poor). During our travels (this trip) we have stayed at three other ACCOR properties. All three have been excellent. Kind Regards, Brian & Diane Smith

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in August with our 3 yr old. Never again. The apparent second bedroom was just a frosted glass sliding door. Not very good privacy noise or light for a 3 yr old. Pool was freezing and not great for small children. Location and general features ok but wouldn't stay here again. Staff not very helpful at front desk. We ended up taking our 3 yr old to swim next door at mantra amphora each day. Great restaurant and spa there too. Should have stayed there instead.

All in all palm cove is a bit run down. And prob won't come here again even though weather was great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey2402payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We visited Palm Cove on our Honeymoon. The Grand Mercure is wonderfully situated. A very nice property with many restaurants. Since it is an apartment there is no maid service. This was not an issue but it would have been nice to know before we booked.

The only drawback was some smelly hallways and a couple of loud parties around the pool on the weekend evenings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManitobaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 km away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,148 reviews
0.4 km away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
549 reviews
0.4 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
318 reviews
0.6 km away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Property: Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
Address: Cnr Williams Esp & Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,907 - ₹ 20,918
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Apartments is situated on the beach at exclusive Palm Cove overlooking the Coral Sea perfectly positioned between two World Heritage sites - the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Just 25 minutes north of Cairns International Airport in tropical far North Queensland, the resort features a choice of luxuriously appointed studios, lofts, one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments, each with a large private balcony or courtyard. Resort facilities include several beachfront restaurants and cafes, expansive free form lagoon style swimming pool, children's pool, outdoor spa, gymnasium, pilates classes, massage and boutique shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Hotel Palm Cove
Mercure Palm Cove
Mercure Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing