We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 311
US$ 277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Amphora(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 194
US$ 173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 514
US$ 348
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 310
US$ 277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarayi Boutique Hotel(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
US$ 180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
​Imagine Drift Palm Cove(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 207
US$ 201
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairns Beaches Flashpackers(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
433
159
33
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
159
33
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjim and joanneoutdoor kitchensuperior spa suitetall treesgreat bbq areatropical feelpaperbark treespool areastudio apartmentthe main streetbooking tripsoutdoor spatropical paradisecooking facilitiesfirst floorbeautiful beachgreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

The Reef Retreat is a beautiful, private location just back from the esplanade. Surrounded by tall palms and trees, it has a feeling of relaxed seclusion. The easy access ramped walkways give the rooms a tree house kind of feel that is something different and fun. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Only a short walk to the beach and restaurant area, its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lockewright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is good to know you had an enjoyable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful grounds and pool area,surrounded by large trees and lush gardens. Suite was clean and well equip for self catering. Unfortunately not a lot of privacy when the outdoor kitchen/verandah doors are open. Our suite looked straight out on to next door apartments. The bathroom door was slatted and the toilet was 1.5 m from the bed so nothing was sacred. Maybe not all the rooms have these problems.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maerey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thanks Maerey H for taking the time to post a review. It is good to know you found the Reef Retreat peaceful, clean and well equipped. The room type you booked was the standard spa apartment, which is the oldest part of the complex. We do note on all booking sites that these rooms do not have any views of the pool or gardens and that they are situated close to another building, which is why they are discounted to an entry level price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Wonderful experience with a very large room. My partner and I stayed for two nights and were attending a wedding nearby. Close to the two main resorts where most weddings are located in Palm Cove.

Reasonably priced and very good staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mofred29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is good to know you had an enjoyable stay at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed for three nights, some of the facilities our original room were a little worn but the main issue was that the air-conditioning did not work. However on speaking to Jim we were moved to a larger room where the air-conditioning did work. This room was very clean and very comfortable with good facilities. There was a small balcony to sit out on which was very useful as the builders were working replacing the decking around the pool area which was a little noisy in the day but as we were out it didn't really bother us. The owners were very helpful with regards to booking day trips.

Room Tip: No lifts so some rooms up two flights of stairs.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley499522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post a review Lesley. We apologize for the issue with the airconditioner - in the end it could not be repaired and had to be replaced. Fortunately we were able to move you to to another room. As with any issue encountered by guests during their stay, if it is brought to our attention 99% of the time we can resolve the issue immediately. The work on refurbishing and re-landscaping the spa and pool area is almost finished. Hopefully you will be able to return in the future to see the outcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The quality was just not there, very basic and touristy. the air did not work, mold in the shower, beds were too close and people were outside on a deck and loud. I could never recommend this to anyone. No elevator so you walk your bag up stairs and if it is raining, wet and dangerous and even worse coming down.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Sorry to hear the Reef Retreat and Palm Cove were not what you expected. If you had issues with air conditioners and /or cleanliness of the shower it would have been best to bring these to our attention while you were here when we could have done something about it. You are correct there are no elevators at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, this is made very clear to all travel agents and on all online booking sites so it should not have come as a surprise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews