We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
460
167
37
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
167
37
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jim and joanne outdoor kitchen superior spa suite tall trees great bbq area tropical feel paperbark trees pool area the main street studio apartment booking trips tropical paradise spa bath cooking facilities first floor beautiful beach self catering
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017

A lovely surprise!! We had a beautiful room with private balcony complete with an outdoor kitchenette. We saved a lot of money as we were able to prepare lots of meals on our balcony rather than go to restaurants every day. Set in lush tree surroundings, it provided privacy from the bustle of the main road, yet was so close to all that was happening, public transport, beach etc. Set on a beautiful stretch of coast it was a perfect location. The pool and spa were clean and warm, with a very relaxing area to lounge around and get some well needed R&R. I highly recommend the Reef Retreat to all visitors to Palm Cove!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Happy00Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and recommendation based upon our experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My family and I recently stayed here over the Christmas and new year period. The accommodation was clean. tidy and fresh, had all the necessary items included. Featured an ensuite for the master bedroom and laundry including a dryer and dishwasher. The layout of the apartment was well thought out with parent bedroom up one end of the hall and the two kids rooms down the other end. Friendly staff who assisted with receiving a grocery order for me prior to our arrival and everything was placed in the fridge for us. You are literally steps away from Williams esplanade which runs right along Palm Cove beach. With 26 different restaurants to choose from there is something to cater to every families budget. Couple of let downs were that the lagoon style pool is not offered to guests who stay in these apartments due to insurance issues. There is a pool on site offered to the guests, however, it is a very small pool and a family of four would be as much as the capacity of the pool will allow. My family and I stayed for 10 days and our apartment was serviced once, (on our last day!) One could say this was due to the Christmas period as there did not appear to be many staff around. Other than those couple of things it was a great location and great price for this time of season.

Room tip: No ocean view availability with these apartments but as mentioned earlier extremely close to the ocean.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trudy2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights there. Rooms are clean and as described. Unfortunately, I didn't read the descriptions carefully enough when I booked the "Superior Spa" room which is just a room with a jetted tub. Balcony had cook top and microwave and small fridge. An apartment probably would have been a better choice for us but that was my fault, not theirs. Our room was not serviced even once during our stay. You could get towels at front desk if you remembered to ask for them before 5:30pm.

Our visit was during their rainy season so it was wet. It was also jelly fish season so ocean swimming or snorkeling was not a viable option.

The location is great. Many restaurants to choose from.
The owners were helpful and gave good advice about tour options. All in all, we enjoyed our time in Palm Cove.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DSOVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thanks for your review. It is unfortunate that you traveled during our wet/low season and selected a room type that was not convenient to your comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My partner and I stayed here in December 2016 as the first stop of an Australia tour and how lucky we were to find it. We arrived about 8:30am and were expecting that we'd have the usual "your room isn't ready just yet....perhaps you can leave your bags and go into town for a coffee while we finish it...... come back in a few hours".... but we didn't. We were handed the keys straight away and shown to our lovely studio apartment.

The apartment had everything that you could want (including air conditioning), a little kitchen, separate bedroom (which can be made separate by using sliding screens if you wish) a lounge and well equipped bathroom.

Just a few metres (approx 40m) away is a smashing little pool as well as a spa pool and, while we there (10 days), we only saw 4 other guests use it...... once..... so no crowds. Other reviewers commented negatively about the pool being shaded....and it can be.... but to us it was a huge bonus because by the time you've spent a few hours on the beach it's nice (and very necessary) to have a little shade.....it was perfect in my opinion. Just goes to show..... you can't please everyone.

Just about 50metres from the accommodation is the main street with bars and restaurants as well as the cracking palm tree lined beach.

Congratulations and thanks to Jim & Joanne (the managers) on all their help..... just quietly getting on with it to make our stay an excellent one.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thanks for leaving a review and generous commentary on your stay and experience at The Reef Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Located just 20 m from the wonderful beach, it has a swimming pool surrounded by the trees and an hydromassage pool. Nice place where to relax and start your activities to the daintree or the barrier reef, even if you do not have a car, there are some buses available for free provided by the companies. There is a car park as well. The owner is super friendly.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Federico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

We are pleased to have been able to provide an enjoyable base for your stay. Thank you for leaving as review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews