We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery and accommodation to suit everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Questro The Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed for one night in a bungalow at the Station Township. We chose this because we are not campers but we found the Township very relaxed and laid back. There are excellent shower blocks and washing facilities if you are bringing your own tent. The bungalows were cosy and surprisingly well equipped with shower/loo, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. There is also air conditionning or fans. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for our teenage daughter without being on top of each other. The Township does not have a pool but there are sunbeds by the river. The restaurant was good but very busy and there was a wait for food. However considering the staff were working like mad to produce great food in the middle of nowhere I thought it was worth it. It is an expensive place to stay and the shop provisions are pricey. $2 for a packet of M&Ms! You have to remember the cost of flying in goods to the Kimberley region generally and then transporting to El Questro. You also pay for wilderness park permits but this is nature at its rawest and there looks like a lot of work to get the trails cleared each season. The evidence of the power of the Kimberley rains is all around you. We had driven ourselves in a 4 wd so we were quite independent and did not go on any official tours. They are expensive and get booked quickly. However we found it great fun to drive ourselves to the gorges, follow the walking trails and bathe in the safe water holes. You do however need a 4 wd if you are going to drive the tracks in the parks as you need to drive through rivers (and this was the dry season). The scenery is stunning and having briefly seen the new Home Valley station I think this is where El Questro wins. Emma Gorge is very pretty and the tented cabins looked good. We saw the Homestead from the air and drove quite close. It has good views but the gorge is not as steep as the photos suggest. However if you have £1000 a night I'm sure its very comfortable. The Township is spreadout and some of the private camping positions looked wonderful if that is your thing and they are no more expensive. Some of the pitches close to the Township did look rather close to the road and amenities but so did the Emma Gorge ones and the accommodation in Home Valley Station. This could put off some people who are looking for a "complete wilderness" experience. The Township Cabins are next to the river and because they are more of a building you are protected from neighbour noise. We only stayed the one night and found 2 days plenty of time to see most of the area. If we had been able to stay longer we would have walked El Questro gorge and hired a boat on the Chamberlain river but I do not think it is necessary to stay 3 nights to have a great experience. El Questro park is unique in the Kimberley and has perhaps lead to a degree of complacency in terms of pricing and facilities. Home Valley station is fairly new and not really been marketed. It is government funded to work with indigenous people so may be better if you are looking for that sort of thing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiltshire3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

I guess it's OK but not up to expectations. You're basically staying in a busy campground/caravan park. Rooms are OK, nothing special. Restaurant was acceptable for dinner but busy so very slow - french toast at breakfast the worst I've ever had! Staff generally friendly but the new owners really need to lift the game - it still seems like tired old Voyages.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DNAPR, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback and we apologise for having failed to meet your expectations.

El Questro Station is designed to accommodate a mix of guests, from campers to guests in the Bungalows, and as the ‘hub’ of El Questro, it can be busy around the Station Store and also during BBQ and entertainment nights. However, The Riverside Bungalows are well situated further away overlooking the Pentecost River and amongst the lush tropical rainforest. The Garden Bungalows are closer to the Store but also far enough away.

We are investing in a raft of improvements this year which should be completed prior to our re-opening on April 1st. A new kitchen is being installed for The Steak House Restaurant and we expect to have the French Toast up to scratch as the Head Chef is French.

The new BBQ area off the Station Store will provide an improved and more comfortable environment to enjoy the starry nights, relaxing by an open fire and listening to the live entertainers and background music and on BBQ nights enjoying a special outback experience.

Your feedback is important to us, so thank you. Once again, we are sorry that we failed to live up to your expectations, and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Team at El Questro Wilderness Park & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This has become our annual holiday. We had decided to try spot along the Gibb River Road as something different this year but were disappointed and returned to El Questro.
We have never stayed in the accomodation.
We camp in our own tent and each year have managed to get one of the prized " private camping sites" which to us is heaven. No toilets, no showers just your own site and far enough away from the next site so that you rarely hear them.The sites range from 1km to 8kms away from the Homestead depending on which one you manage to get on the day.
The Homestead does have showers, toilets , shop , restaurant and a bar which you can utilise.
Our days consisted of waking up about 0530( sunrise) enjoying a unrushed breakfast and deciding what walk/ swimming hole we would tackle for the day.The walks are well marked,written fact sheets on all.

Most campsites are along the river so fishing and putting in the prawn pots are a must with the kids.
Campfires are allowed so our cooking was done on the open fire and in a camp oven..
Our favourite is the ElQuestro walk but we do only go to the halfway point. The waterhole is lovely for swimming in.
Plenty of 4WD tracks
Zebedee Hot Springs in the mornings is a must .It is closed from 12midday

We find the staff amazing, the shop has the basics that you need. We overheard a lot of people complaining about the prices of items there but one has to remember the cost of transporting food and groceries to these areas is not cheap
There is a large grassed area where you can find some shade and mix with the other visitors near the shop.
There are also some swimming holes at the back of the shop and restaurants which is great for kids to swim in although the water is a bit cold.
All in all we love our relaxing/unwinding and picturesque holidays and will continue to arrive each year

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

El Questro is located in, hands down, the best place on the Gibb River Road. The scenery and gorges nearby are outstanding and so I would definitely recommend that others visit it. However, the accommodation itself is a massive let down! It is seriously resting on its laurels because of its location.

Voyages resorts are among the best in Australia and I was expecting it to be lovely, if not luxurious, given its location in the outback. The website was actually very deceptive and it is nowhere near as nice as it looks on there. To get to the bungalows you have to walk past a garage (why!). The bungalows have not been touched since they were built 20 odd years ago. They are on stilts and the shower area was actually sinking in both our bungalows! The bathroom/shower was a bit grotty and needs to be totally re-done. The air conditioning was also 20 years old so you can imagine how loud it was. My in-laws one actually iced over during the night so they couldn't use it! Having said that, the actual bedroom area furnishings were nice, and the balcony overlooked the Pentecost River, which was lovely. Little things were annoying though, like having a coffee plunger in there that only made one cup??

The only bar is the Swinging Arm, which is all outside and has plastic furniture. Great for the campers, etc and for us most of the time, but a more upmarket option (like the one they have at Emma Gorge) would be great. On Saturday nights the only option is to have the $35 per head BBQ. You choose sittings, and we selected 7pm. By the time we got there, they had run out of chicken as they don't bother to stagger the cooking of the food despite having sittings. Not what you expect from a good resort, or for $35!!

The restaurant was nice although they were not serving alcohol in there during September or October. They would not explain why but obviously it is some licensing issue. However, rather than let you order alcohol and then get a staff member to walk the 200m to collect it from the bar for you, they make you do this yourself. That is just pure laziness on their part and got really annoying.

The breakfast menu is fine but not very exciting. Dinner was lovely I have to say. However, when my father-in-law asked for chips and salad with his steak instead of mash and veg (chips and salad was available with other dishes) the waitress told us the chef had said she would not do it!! That was so ridiculous it was actually funny. When we requested to speak to the manager about it she relented and gave us what we had asked for.

Apparently El Questro has been sold to Americans and I think this will be for the better. They either need to concentrate solely on campers (and the camping facilities looked great) or knock down the current bungalows and start again. They also need a pool! It is not as though they are lacking in space... We would have stayed at Emma Gorge as the bar/restaurant is nicer and they have a pool but there is no air con over there...

As I said, I recommend this place based on its location but don't expect much for your $260 per night. The camping at $16 per night is much better value for money as you get all the same facilities as the people in the bungalows!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksneddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

El Questro is a huge property comprising, at the top end, the Homestead which is out of bounds to other guests. Then there is the permanent camp site at Emma Gorge, quite nice. And then there is the Station Township, which comprises riverside bungalows, permanent tents, and a campsite. The campsite cost me $16 per night. I pitched my tent on the spongy soft well maintained grass, under a tree by the river, and lying there at night with a full moon overhead, though myself to be very lucky indeed. There are also secluded campsites further from the township. The amenities block was spotless and well maintained, the restaurant had good and reasonably priced food, the store was well stocked with provisions, the optional excursions were well run, the bar had a happy hour, but what really set this property apart from the other places I visited in the Kimberley were the staff who worked here. What a friendly, helpful, close knit group of people they are. From Karl in the restaurant who tried his best to accommodate a vegetarian, to Kathy who shared her local knowledge while cruising spectacular Chamberlain Gorge, to Kip who greeted all guests with a smile, I enjoyed my stay here very much. It was a two and a half hour drive from here to Kununurra. Highly recommended and an absolute must for those heading here.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoannaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
1.0 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.0 km away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.9 km away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.2 km away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
134 reviews
0.0 km away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
183 reviews
97.4 km away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#2 of 17 in Kununurra
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro The Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro The Station

Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range: ₹ 16,548 - ₹ 21,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Questro The Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your El Questro The Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing