We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing and unspoilt!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hodka Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hodka Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you need a few days of peace and quiet, come here! It is my second visit in a year and the place is still one of my favourites in all of India. The location is a bit hard to reach, you really have to make an effort to come here, but it's worth it in my opinion. Similar to last year, the food could be improved on. Indian food is great and so it is here at the resort, but it is just a bit too monotonous. The same for lunch as there is for dinner and if you stay two nights it's the same once more. That should not put you off coming here, but if you enjoy good food (and varied food) then bring some of your own along. Otherwise, there is not much room for improvement - staff are very kind and the site itself is fantastic. A real experience.
I wish, there were some female staff, though. this is an extremely 'male society' and wouldn't it be nice, if this project (since it is a pioneering project to help villages out of poverty) could make the start for women to find employment in the tourism industry (rather than keep them hidden away in their dark homes stitching and sewing tourist souvenirs only)?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HOItravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

An amazing concept in community sustainability and eco tourism, Shaam-e-Sarhad is a true oasis in the desert. Built and run by the village community of Hodko, it's a charming resort with a lot of local character. The architecture and decor is lovely and the staff are really wonderful. There's no concept of a receptionist or a manager but the place runs like a well oiled machine.

Room Tip: Difficult to make a choice between then bhungos (traditional mud houses) and the tents really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I wanted to show my dad some glimpses of the Rann of Kutch. He was visiting us after 2 years. He is well travelled and I wanted to show him something he had never seen.

The weather was perfect and the unending salt desert is something unique in this world. Its location near the Pak border just added to the allure.

I was not sure what to expect at this resort. The reason to choose this resort was that it is inside the Great Rann of Kutch. It was recommended to me by a friend.

The decor and architecture is very special. It is designed to look like a Kutchi village. Everything is made of clay: the bed, the sofa, the walls, the water bottle (hindi - suraahee), the periphery, the fence, the pots, the oven, even the 'tavaa'.

It is simply something to be experienced.

It is located inside the Banni grasslands. It is a unique ecology.

The staff is friendly. They are locals from the village. They understand Hindi, Gujarati and Kutchi.

They offer 2 types of accommodation: tents and mud huts (called Bhoongaas).

Food has a local flavour and is terrific.

The local attractions are amazing and very much unique and exclusive to this region. Must visit:
a) the White Rann at Dhordo village
b) Kala Raksha crafts village
c) Kala Dungar (must see the feeding of the jackals at sunset)
d) India Bridge (last civilian point before the Pak border)
e) Chhari Dhand lake (a must for bird watchers)
f) If you follow archaeology, you must visit Dholavira (though it is a bit far).

Best time to visit: November to March. Summers can be killing!
Roads are damn good. Almost no traffic.

This has to be experienced.

Room Tip: Try the mud huts, locally called Bhoongaa. Rare experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nit_pnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

To start with Shaam E Sharhad the best way to describe in words will be that I found a gem in a desert . my stay was for 2 days but the 2 days was very less . the tent stay was a very gud experience the fud is like home food . the best view of sunrise I have got to see from this place . although it was freezing but we alway'z use to eagerly look forward for the musical event played by the local folk singers . The people at the resort r very helpful ..Salaambhai , Abdul Karim & the Amitabh Bacchan of the Resort who is the star attraction is a man not to b missed . the bathroom in the tents are very well made & maintained . I will highly recommend this place for its simplicity & service .

Room Tip: I would always recommend guest to stay in Tent as its the best experience and really liked the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhartisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I visited the resort in Jan 2012. It is totally different experience. Located amid vast open landscape at Hodka village in Kutch. Resort has three huts (Bhunga made of mud & cow dung) & few tents. I stayed in Bhung & it was marvellous. Interior is done with Local textile, Wood carved window & Mirror work on walls made from mud. Bhungas were amazingly warm when outside climate was very cool at the night. Best part of the cottage was separate area for toilet & bath with one wall made of Glass & Mirror. This is actually good choice to stay if one wants to visit White Desert of Kutch & to visit nearby villages of local artisans. I visited White Runn in the morning & it was just amazing experience of the lifetime. Also visited nearby Hodka & Gandhi nu Gam villages where I had chance of meeting & Communicating with local craftsmen on their work & life style. They are world famous artisans for embroidery work, mirror work, metalwork, and leather work. Lunch & Dinner provided at resort (included in the rates) are good local Gujarati & Kutchi vegetarian cuisines.
Resort being run by local people they lack professional touch in service. But if one need s peaceful & serene surrounding this is the place where you can feel oneness with nature. Vast landscape where you can relax with the cup of tea watching sun rising over the horizon & at night one can observe galaxy of stars in the sky while listing to to the local folk musician & singers who perform at the resort. Those who like nature, peace & craft this place is must visit at least once in a lifetime

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ganishmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hodka Village
0.0 km away
Beetle Smartotels
Beetle Smartotels
#1 of 5 in Mundra
25 reviews
45.9 km away
Hill View Resort
Hill View Resort
#9 of 20 in Bhuj
11 reviews
0.0 km away
V. R. P. Guest House
V. R. P. Guest House
#17 of 20 in Bhuj
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
White Rann Resort
White Rann Resort
#1 of 7 in Kutch
47 reviews
0.8 km away
Rann Bhoomi Resort
Rann Bhoomi Resort
#2 of 3 in Hodka Village
1 reviews
35.2 km away
Hotel Kutch Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort

Address: Hodka Village 370510, India (Formerly Shaam-e-Sarhad Rural Resort)
Region: India > Gujarat > Kutch District > Hodka Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hodka Village
Price Range: ₹ 3,200 - ₹ 4,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors: Shaam-E-Sarhad is an eco-resort built in a Kutchi village-style setting using locally sourced materials and crafts of the region. It is owned and managed by the Hodka village community and is open only from October to March. The resort promotes Endogenous Tourism where one travels not just for pleasure, but also to appreciate local community and their life in rural Gujarat. "The Endogenous Tourism Project in Hodka village seeks to promote local culture and craft based tourism for sustainable livelihoods and integrated rural development. Its aim is to improve the local people's quality of life, by creating more livelihood options, while preserving and allowing the community to develop their unique culture and share it with visitor."~ The use of local architectural style, the intricate art & crafts is very evident as soon as one enters Shaam-E-Sarhad (translated 'Sunset at the border'). Hodka village is not very far from the Rann of Kutch region which shares the border with Pakistan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shaam-e-Sarhad Rural Hotel Hodka Village
Shaam-e-Sarhad Village Resort Hodka Village, Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing