We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
11
17
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
17
3
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. This is a great hotel for young people- it was easy to meet other young people and las terrenas has a lively night life. The hotel is literally across the street from one of the nicer areas of beach and a 15 minute walk to anywhere downtown. The beach it sits on can get crowded and noisey, but a short walk will bring you to quieter stretches.

One review mentioned no one at the reception desk- this place is run like a casual home. The owners are always hanging out by the pool, cooking, and playing cards. They couldn't be more helpful or warmer people. We unfortunately had something stolen (completely unrelated to the hotel) and the owners went out of their way to help us translate to the police, file a report, and even made us free tacos =)

The rooms are spacious and basic. Get one with A/C for sure, it gets hot at night and bugs will come in through open windows! The hot water and TV worked, the mattress isn't the softest but what you'd expect at a budget hotel. Housekeeping keeps everything spotless, every day.

They serve cheap, tasty breakfast, and separate businesses on the same property rent mopeds, scuba gear, and there's a bar (One Love Surf Shack.) Everything you need for a great vacation in one place.

My only concern is I think they put something in the pool that gave me a mild rash. It smells like some kind of pesticide (understandable to prevent mosquitos.) After two days of using it heavily, I had to stop going in the pool. No one else had this problem.

We're definitely going back to Las Terrenas, and staying here again!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the A/C!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S4rah191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Very unpleasant expericence..

We traveled to Las Terrenas 2 weeks ago. What a lovely town, with so much to offer. Unfortunately, we tried getting a room at Hotel Palapa, wich is located in across the road from the main beach.

First, we walked in, and there was no one at the front desk. We went to the restaurant up front, and the couple there, explained that it was 2 separate businesses, but that if there was no one, to go by the pool area, usualy there is someone there.

There is no indication, and preety much no lights on the way there. Once we got to the pool, a french man was sitting watching tv. We asked if if he had a room available, but he pretty much spoke no english, and was very rude. It’s as if we were bothering him.

The place seemed pretty decent, looks like i twas newly renovated, but the overall attitude, made us feel like we werent welcomed at all.
We proceeded to walk out, and book a room at another hôtel further down the beach, that welcomed us with open arms.

Let’s just say, we will not be coming back to this hôtel….

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank franck c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Awesome 2 weeks and 3 more to go. A quiet place at the eastern end of the main waterfront strip and just steps to the beach. The recent renovations and upgrades are quite pretty.
Plenty of great restaurants around including Kahuna which is on the property and has the BEST burgers in town! Or there is a communal kitchen upstairs where you van cook and enjoy your meal overlooking the strip and watch street action or the sun set.
There are rooms for every budget from backpacker to AC with satellite TV and there is a quiet pool and patio in the back.
Great staff that speaks English, Spanish, German and French!
Will definitely return ;)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Place just opened up recently and I have to say, that they did a great Job on this one. The service was great, the prices are very reasonable and the rooms are great also!! Last but not least, it s beach front!! So what else could you want?

They are gonna have live acts soon too. Can t wait to be back!
Thanks a lot for giving me this great time!!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Presidente1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

As James said below " hard not to have a good time". We stayed a couple of nights last month, and I have to say, what a difference a year and a new owner make. Lots of nice new renovations. Very clean and comfortable, and certainly affordable.This place is right on the beach on a really calm bay (perfect for the kiddies to play in the ocean). Everything you need is right on site, great restaurant, car rentals, pool bar and a really cool 2nd floor pavilion/dance hall overlooking the beach. Only good things to say about this place.

Room Tip: Sam's the man if you need anything
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dieselfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews