We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropically Terrific”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
FALCONA is our second floor apartment with a bird's eye view of the ocean. Our residence has a spacious pool area with lounge chairs and barbeque,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
FALCONA is our second floor apartment with a bird's eye view of the ocean.
Our residence has a spacious pool area with lounge chairs and barbeque,
Living room & dining area which seats six.
Ocean view from the dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Master with a King bed and mountain view.
Master bedroom opens to the bathroom.
Second bedroom has a Queen that can come apart for two singles.
Second room with beds apart. We can add a cot to sleep a total of three children.
Pool area by day.
Pool area at sunset.
The infinity pool virtually cascading into the ocean in the distance.
Monte Placido Central Savannah.
We have lovely gardens.
Let us reserve a relaxing massage for you.
Shiva's Cave Yoga Studio on site and open to guests.
Workout area with sea view.
Stairs leading to upper cave chamber.
Inner chamber, quiet and cool for meditation.
Amazing rock formations.
Monte Placido on a hill above the sea
Drive up to our hilltop residence
Rental vehicles on site or our guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
CaroRamah...
Ramah, NM USA
1 review
“Tropically Terrific”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We loved Monte Placido. The owners are helpful and friendly, and the staff on the job and sweet. The landscaping is breathtaking--you are living in a garden. I used the yoga cave frequently for a private exercise space with a view and shade. Our Leuka cottage came with lovely French cookware, crystal and china. What a delight. Be mindful of the steep grade and hairpin turns on the driveway--a challenge on our arrival after dark, but the directions were excellent from Santo Domingo. A car is not essential, but we are very glad to have rented one at the airport for our month long stay. We drove into Las Terrenas, about 8 k away, frequently, for lovely fresh produce and fish. And we drove daily to a beach only 3 k away for sun and sand. A downside is the noise of the many motorbikes passing on the highway below, but they do go quiet at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pretty house and grounds
Liked least: Could not walk to the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
Thank you. Your comments will be helpful to future guests.
We hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwabay
Wisconsin USA
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villas in a Paradise”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This place is wonderful.  Our family of 5 spent four nights here in mid-April, in the Gardenia unit.  These are Mediterranean style houses build on top of one of the many hills in this area.  The views of the region and the ocean to the North are stunning.  I believe the Gardenia unit is the only unit that does not have ocean view directly from the rooms, it looks over a lovely valley to the east.  The grounds are stunningly landscaped; and the pool and yoga grotto are just beautiful.  Just as wonderful are the hosts.  Don gave us very helpful advice on what and how to see the attractions in the area, and what to avoid.
This is a perfect base for exploring the entire Samana Peninsula. We visited 6 beaches during our visit, all of them nice in their own distinct way. We took out a Hobie cat from the LT Sailing Club, a nice perk when staying at Monte Placido. The zip line north of Samana and the waterfalls near El Limon are both very convenient from Monte Placido, and worth visiting. The day trip over to Las Galeras is a little over an hour, and a nice place to visit.
Compared to the alternative of staying at a place in Las Terrernas, there is no comparison in my mind. LT has lots of cars, noise, and the smell of burning garbage at night; worth a visit during the day, but you wouldn't want it to the focus of your visit.
Any difficulties? To get that beautiful view the villas are on top of a steep hill. The driveway up the hill is similar to some drives on the Mediterranean, steep and winding, and a bit daunting to flatlands like me the first time.
If we are lucky enough to return to this area, we already know where we will be staying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Steep driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ny
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Mar 2013
Thank you Lauren for your time. Yes it is steep! But on top and as you mention"spectacular views"". You can't get one without the other.
We hope you will be back, it was a pleasure welcoming you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing