We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome Ecolodge in the hills of Las Terrenas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jurassic Park Hotel
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

I stopped by en route from my morning bike ride to check this place out and was impressed with this beautiful and tranquil spot. I ended up staying for lunch and was given a tour of this stunning jungle/mountain enclave, by Hywel, Dominic, and crew. I plan on coming back for an overnight stay or two!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2016

We're from a small northern town in Quebec, Canada. I came with my 5 year old son and at first there was some culture shock so we had some tough moments with everything being SO different. But by the time it came to leave, we didn't want to! We had so much fun with their kids and the neighbourhood kids, it was a great learning experience for the both of us. The grounds felt safe, the rooms were clean. But just like other reviews have mentioned, it's nothing luxurious, and you are in the jungle which means its a bit out of town and there will be large spiders! The lizards are great though, cute little guys I didnt mind at all.
I think what Dominic and Helena are building here is amazing. If you have the heart of a hippy, you will fall in love this place. It's eco-friendly and in touch with nature. The jungle comes to life at night, I loved lying in bed listening to it. I didn't need an AC, a fan, or bug repellent either.

Some tips for others would be to rent an ATV (or other vehicle of your choice) after you get a feel of the streets and road rules. There's a few beaches to go to, and it makes runs to the super market a breeze too. Ramone was very nice to take us where we needed to go, but it was even nicer to have that freedom.

Room Tip: My room was on the end and beside a hill, so i found it a bit dark all the time. If you like sunshin...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

My family and I stayed at Jurassic Park over the holidays. This was our first visit to the Dominican Republic and we wanted a taste of it all, local culture, adventure, rest... We got all that and more! Jurassic Park exceeded our expectations as it is unassuming, ever peaceful and very friendly. Our only regret is that our vacation was too short. We look forward to going back and spending a more leisurely time exploring the island and the peaceful friendliness of Jurassic Park.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T9795MObarbarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Loved this place! the studios, using candles, the pool the hamacas, the service from the owners, we cooked, theres a colmado right outside, very convenient, the property is amazing, just totally worth every penny, If I'm ever in samana i'll stay there for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Our first visit to Jurassic Park was for 8 days over this recent Christmas. While I hope to provide "impartial" information for other travelers, I confess up front that the place won our hearts so our perspective is admittedly very rose colored. We were looking for fairly rustic and natural accomodations that were reasonably affordable for a small family. The cabanas are quite basic with limited modern comforts though totally adequate. The electric and hot water are solar and need to be used with some care though they proved more than enough. The kitchenette has a small fridge, a small gas stove and sink and counter space. It is not meant for 4 star cooking but you can fix a small meal with no trouble. The pool is spring fed without unnecessary chemicals and the grounds are lush and lovely and a nice balance of tame and natural. We awoke to the sounds of roosters and children and fed the friendly bunnies (and the grouchy parrot.) We had breakfast with the hosts each morning and were made to feel at home. Getting there requires an adventurous spirit and good tires though it is close to town and away from the noise. There are some nearby Dominican restaurants which are simply the deck of the owner's home set with some plastic tables, cold beer and homemade cooking. Downtown Las Terrenas is about 10 minutes by car. Our favorite things were the fireflies, the hammock, the pool and the people. If you favor "service" and "amenities" then perhaps another place will suit you better. For us, Jurassic Park was a perfect fit and we will surely return.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nyramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Palococo
Hotel Palococo
#28 of 35 in Las Terrenas
72 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Casino Niza
Hotel Casino Niza
#21 of 35 in Las Terrenas
64 reviews
4.5 km away
La Dolce Vita Residence
La Dolce Vita Residence
#14 of 35 in Las Terrenas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
471 reviews
2.8 km away
Casa Lily & Coco
Casa Lily & Coco
#11 of 43 in Las Terrenas
41 reviews
4.1 km away
Mahona Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Mahona Hotel Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 33 in Las Terrenas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurassic Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurassic Park Hotel

Address: Carretera Las Terrenas - Sanchez, Las Terrenas 32000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Las Terrenas
Price Range: ₹ 2,403 - ₹ 2,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jurassic Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean private bungalows, to rent, set amongst the abundance of natural beauty of Jurassic Park.The bungalows come with a fully equipped kitchen, a double bed (if required, another bed can be arranged), a bathroom with shower, and a terrace with views of the beautiful green tropical valley and the ocean.Jurassic Park is a magical place situated on a small hill, in a tranquil valley, 3-5 mins outside of the main town Las Terrenas.A short stroll behind us there are two waterfalls with pools - which are extremely inviting, especially when its hot, great for cooling off and helping to make you feel at peace with the world.We have semi controlled jungle areas which we continue to improve and make part of the attraction of being here.There is very little light pollution (no upward facing lights) so you can view the night sky, from our open pool terrace, which are mostly spectacular all year round.If you are a star gazer, a writer or a poet you would feel very much at home here.We are moving towards self sufficiency and Eco tourism. We already have pure spring water and we have solar panels and soar water heaters.We will in the future add a variety of electric vehicles for guests.If you have children then this is a natural wonderland providing constant amazement. Indeed, visits from the local children, who are a breath of fresh air, will aid your children in understanding this environment.To top it off we have a trampoline which is very popular with children and uncontrollably happy adults alike.We also grow many fruits and vegetables and indeed as I write this the wife has popped out to our herb garden for some coriander.We hope to have created a much more personal and friendly feeling.We have a great track record of content, repeat visitors. It seems that a return visit is a must, once you have been bitten by the magic and unadulterated beauty of our little oasis.Also for a small additional fee we now offer breakfast (typically eggs, toast, seasonal fruits, juices, vegetable and cheese empanadas and coffee in our jungle communal area. Its a great chance to discuss your days activities and learn the best places to go. Just let us know before hand.See you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jurassic Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurassic Park Hotel Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing