We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Residence Playa Colibri(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 109
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Albachiara(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 108
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Tortuga(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahona Hotel Bed and Breakfast(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alisei(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
US$ 144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Enjoy(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas del Mar Neptunia(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 50
US$ 39
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 372
US$ 282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 296
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,632)
Filter reviews
6,632 results
Traveller rating
3,636
2,158
558
170
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,636
2,158
558
170
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitelobby barfisha la carte restaurantsquiet poolprivilege clubmain buffetgourmet restaurantmain poollots of varietygrand bahiadifferent themeair transatcoral reefride from the airportother resortsfamily resort
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 6,632 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our Canadian group of 4 over 50ish went to Samana for the 2nd time together. We picked the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo this time in spite of thoroughly enjoying the Grand Bahia Don Pablo Collection on the other side of the peninsula a few years ago. The resort has very good food in it's buffet. Even with food issues, there was amazing variety. The service was good in the buffet other than I didn't care for the staff at the entrance deciding which table to have us sit. Only when it was busy, this was useful. Otherwise, we should have been able to decide where we wanted to sit. The horrible hand sanitizer should be left to the patrons, not the girl at the entrance to pump out. The a la carte's were good with the French restaurant proving to be the best.

The beach was fabulous. Snorkeling right off shore was definitely a plus. If you walked to the left of the beach for about a half a kilometer to the point, there was a virgin beach cove as well. Very lovely. The beach also had convenient beach bars with cheerful staff.

The bars in the hotel in the evening were okay. Our only issue was that if you wanted to have a sambucca or an amaretto or something fancy, you would have to pay extra. As a traveler to over 20 all inclusive resorts, in my experience, this was not all inclusive to the types of drinks available.

The animation team here worked their butts off providing fun to any one who wanted to participate. There was evening entertainment as well. One really great acrobatic performance which was worth staying up for.

All in all, the resort is clean and well taken care of. The cleaning staff in our room was excellent. We left tips daily and tipped the bar staff as well which was appreciated.
We would definitely return to this resort. We are thinking of taking the grandkids with us next time!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank iwantowrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online R, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo. We would like to thank you for trusting and recommending Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive comments from our guests; they will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

The entire Grand Bahía Principe El Portillo Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana.


We would be delighted to welcome you again at Samana!

Braulio Vásquez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

THE RIDE AND THE TIME WE HAD TO WAIT FOR OUR ROOM TO BE READY-
The ride to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo from the airport on a bus was around a 30 minute drive. When my family and I got off the bus we were greeted with drinks and some dancing from the entertainment team. We had to wait around 7 minutes for our room, even though we were privilege club members. When our room was ready we were escorted to our room with the help of the staff(very friendly).
ROOM- Our room was very nice. It appeared to have a flat screen TV(with a little amount of programs in English), a bathroom(with a shower, a bath, a hair dryer, and a big sink with a mirror), a couch, a little table, a mini fridge(that was restocked every day with juices, pop drinks, chocolate, and chips), and a full/queen sized bed. The beds were always properly cleaned and made. Our villa was just outside a very large quit pool which was very convenient when members of our group that we went on vacation with, wanted to go swim in the pool, and then go to their rooms.
SERVICE- My family would always get served quickly(at times were there wasn't a big crowd). Since I went on vacation with friends and family, we had a group of 13 people. Sometimes, the waiters would mix up our orders. For example if we would order 8 cappuccinos and 5 coffees, the waiter would give us 5 cappuccinos and 5 coffees. Otherwise, the service was good.
BEACH AND AMENITIES- Samana is a beautiful town. The beach was surrounded by palm trees and other beautiful parts of nature. There were an array of places to tan and places to be in the shade when it was hot. The sand was very soft and warm. There were big corals in the water that I had to watch out for, but there were places where you could swim without having a problem. The good part about the corals is that there are really cute fish there. You could see the fish but they are to scared to go near you. There was a large pool near the beach with a bar. The bartenders were very polite. There was one major problem that my friends and I couldn't resolve. One can only have the good alcohol if they pay for it. The average cost for a good drink was around 3-4 dollars. This was a pretty big problem for my friends and I.
PRIVILEGE CLUB- There was a small privilege club for members which had 2 computers and some drinks. Though there is a thing called privilege club at this resort, the members didn't get any special treatment. In other Grand Bahia resorts, privilege club members get better WiFi, a private place on the beach, and a private bar with good drinks. This resort had nothing special for members. If you are thinking about paying for being a member, there is no point.
WIFI- The only place that had WIFI was the lobby. By the time you get the WIFI, everybody is using the server which means you get extremely slow WIFI.
In conclusion, the resort was really nice, but there were things to ameliorate!!!

Room Tip: The villas closer to the quite pool are very useful if you like to swim, and then get ready for lunch/dinner. These villas are 10 and 12.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacationer1232017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online R, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo for your holidays.

As well, we kindly would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your comments. It is a valuable source of information which shows whether we are moving in the right direction or there are things that need to be changed.

We take all feedback seriously and we can assure that your comments and impressions have been transmitted to the responsible persons in order to take the necessary actions.

On the outset, we sincerely hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo in the near future. Please do not hesitate on contacting us in our e-mail address: info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana.


Yours sincerely,

Braulio Vásquez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

What a beautiful place to come back. It was as nice and even better then the first time there. Such a beautiful beach-volley to walk....6 kilometers to the village walking all a long the beach. The personnalité was so nice and et food was so good as usuel. For sure we will go back there for the third time eventualy.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online R, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, we are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our collaborators.

Please do not hesitate to send us a note to info.elportillo@grand-bahia-principe.com with your wishes before your next arrival in order to give the proper follow up to your requests and give you a especial welcome.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.


Yours respectfully,

Braulio Vásquez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Lovely resort located on the beach.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Room was large and modern with all amenities.
Hotel premises are very nice, with great pool areas and a very clean beach.
Good quality food and good staff/waiters.
The lounge area outside was also very cool, live music in the evenings overlooking the pool area, and if you are into cigars, you can smoke that too.

Room Tip: Very clean, quiet, amazing staff, excellent food
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank _mantonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online R, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, we would like to thank you for the nice comment.

We hope to receive you back soon, I am very sure that the next experience will be another awesome time with us.

Please do not hesitate to send us a note to info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com with your wishes before your next arrival in order to give the proper follow up to your requests and give you a especial welcome.

Receive our warmest regards,

Braulio Vásquez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My partner and I returned about a week ago from a week at El Portillo and had an absolutely wonderful stay. This was our third time at this beautiful, clean resort.
Its location is a very peaceful setting— it’s definitely nothing like Punta Cana—it is much more isolated. The ride from the airport (about 45 min.) is very scenic and windy through the mountains, and you also get to see some of the small areas around Las Terrenas which gives you a glimpse into how the locals live.
For the resort itself, the grounds are very well cared for, and the beach is simply stunning. Being the only resort in the area, you can walk on either side of the resort and run into very few people. Of the 2 main pools, we particularly appreciated the “Relax” Pool— formerly an adults-only pool, but now children are welcome (although very few were ever there)— this is definitely a place to relax with no music and simply enjoy.
The resort is very walkable— it’s not too large, and easy to navigate. We stayed in the villa closest to the beach— when we booked through WestJet Vacations, we requested our villa of preference (having been to the resort before), and our wish was granted! We loved the fact that we could eat breakfast practically on the beach at the Rodizio (beautiful open-air seating right at the water)— simply stunning views.
The service we received at El Portillo throughout our last stay was excellent. In particular, we would like to give a particular thank you to our server YOHANIA in the main buffet who always went above and beyond to make sure that she provided us with the most friendly, outstanding service. The food was always excellent and varied— we loved it!
We have noticed in some reviews that there are those who complain about the fact that a lot of the staff do not speak English/ French/ German…well, we are visiting a country where Spanish is the main language of communication— so of course, they speak Spanish! We need to respect all languages—- none is more “important” than the other. If anything, we should be doing what we can to try and learn/ speak a few key words/ phrases before going on vacation to a Spanish-speaking country.
Overall, we would highly recommend this resort for anyone who wants to get away and relax— couples/ friends/ families. We absolutely look forward to returning!

Stayed: March 2018
17  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online R, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your nice comments regarding our hotel, rooms and services and even more the ones regarding our staff! Yohana will be so happy to hear the nice words that you have for her!

We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in our little paradise!

We hope to welcome you again to the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo and to thank them in person. Contact us at our email address info.elportillo@bahia-principe.com.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.


Regard,

Braulio Vásquez
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews