We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Pestana
$226
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$241
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/23
Trip.com
$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Expedia.com$253
Hotels.com$253
Priceline$230
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,233)
Filter reviews
3,233 results
Traveller rating
2,086
835
241
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,086
835
241
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel indoor pool courtesy bus forum shopping centre happy hour salt water five star hotel local restaurants half board evening entertainment pool towels tea and coffee relaxing holiday steam room time share public areas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 3,233 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2022 via mobile

Fantastic atmosphere all around. Tranquility and clean surroundings accompanied by polite and professional staff. Proximity to Forum shopping centre and with very easy access to Funchal.
Breathless taking view.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jmnm2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Dear Mr./Mrs. Jmnm2022,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2022

I would say that this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at and we have been lucky enough to have travelled a lot. The staff without exception were friendly, fun and chatty as well as very helpful. Rooms were clean and well appointed, we had an amazing sea view. Facilities were good, clean and well maintained. Gym, sauna, steam room, hairdresser, inside outside pools, and much more. The Atrium sitting area was amazing. Food was very good with a selection of other restaurants, Italian, Madeiran and Moroccan, which could be booked. Bus into main town was just outside gates and cost 2 Euros, trips could be booked at internal office. Good lifts to all floors (3). Good shopping centre with supermarket a few hundred metres away across the main road. Basically we cant wait to return.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Margarida Caldeira, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Dear Mr. Brian M,

On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs.

It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Grand.

Best regards,
Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2022

Booked 7 nights HB Glasgow to Funchal with Jet2.
Have visited this island 18+ times but this is the 1st time staying at a Pestana Hotel. Swift check in with welcome drink. Room 1013, side sea view. Bright bright room. Good sized bathroom. Staff all very helpful & friendly. A special mention to Carlos (breakfast on the outdoor terrace in the sunshine) & Luisa in Restaurant Trattoria La Fontana/Au Tagine in the evenings......both excellent.
If your HB basis you can dine in a variety of a la carte restaurants within the hotel or at The Hotel Pestana Miramar. Also you can substitute dinner & have lunch instead which we did on 2 occasions......both times at the pool bar, very substantial & good selection. Plenty space around pool area.
3 wee gripes......lumpy pillows (though we did request softer ones)
some towels are well worn & dining chairs in Restaurant Trattoria La Fontana are very uncomfortable.
Would definitely recommend and stay here in future.
I do also have to say we witnessed several English guests wrapping up substantial amounts of food at breakfast for their lunch!!!.

Room tip: I'd would agree with other guests and recommend a sea view room
Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JULIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paulo Couto, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2022

Dear Mrs. JULIE G,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pestana Grand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana Grand, and we look forward to welcoming you and your mother again soon.

Best regards,

Gilberto Gouveia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2022 via mobile

Enjoyed it great 10 days in this beautiful hotel- fantastic location , stunning view, large seaview room very comfortably furnished and clean.
Outdoor pool and gardens beautiful and indoor pool very comfortable and plenty of sun beds ( though possibly not so plenteous in high season ?)
Excellent breakfast served until 11
My only slight caveat concerns the buffet- very much the same every evening
But several a la carte restaurants are included in the half board option.
Special thanks to TUI Rep Roberto who organised a same day dental appointment for me

Room tip: Seems to be plenty of parking Avoid halfboard option if vegetarian
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Goleuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paulo Couto, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2022

Dear Mr./Mrs. Goleuni,

We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pestana Grand was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback.

Many thanks for choosing Pestana Grand for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Gilberto Gouveia
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2022

A really good holiday, we don’t usually stay in nice hotels like this so it felt very plush to us. Nice clean room, comfy beds, although pillows not good, bit lumpy. The ‘side sea view’ room gave a lovely view of the sea, some attractive buildings and the tall cliffs in the distance. The pool and spa area were good. Hotel grounds feel nice. It was also great to leave the hotel grounds and have access straight onto the Lido Promenade. A good location if you want a quieter hotel, away from the centre. The bus stop to go into Funchal was within a minute or two walk and cost €1.35 when loaded onto bus passes. The bus took approx. 20 mins depending on time of day and how busy it was. It took about an hour to walk (4-5kms.) to the telepherique to the east of Funchal to go up to Monte (expensive, bus is much much cheaper) we used buses a fair bit and they were cheap and good.

The hotel buffet food was plentiful and very nice (breakfast and evening meal) with friendly, efficient servers and waiters. Water with the evening meal was expensive in my opinion, 75 cl at €4.10 per bottle, no tap water served for free.

All hotel staff were really helpful and friendly. Laura in the restaurant was particularly helpful when my husband became unwell on a boat trip and needed simple meals sent to the room. We missed our original flights home and stayed for an extra two days while he recovered. The support we received from the hotel staff, especially the Front Desk team, was excellent and we were very grateful. Thank You.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tripsoutski
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Paulo Couto, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2022

Dear Mrs. Tripsoutski,

On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Grand, we would like to thank you for your kind and detailed feedback.

It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories.

We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon at our hotel!

Warm regards,

Gilberto Gouveia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews