We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievable views of the Ocean”
other travellers have booked this property
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property
Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Amazing  sunrises
Friendly  neighbors
Entrance
Front gate
Private entry road
Hostess Paloma
Paloma showing  off
Amazing Blue and Green contrasts
Pasture
Front of house
Front of house
View from side
Back of house facing ocean
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Night sky
Sunrise
View from terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Living room
View from dining room
View from living room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Twin bed bedroom
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Laundry
Barbecue
Barbecue
Garden. Pick your own vegetables
Chickens
Organic eggs
Hen with chicks
View from the house
Greeting Basket of Local Products
Welcome basket and cake
Hosts
Beach of Vila da Povoação (15min)
Beach of Lombo Gordo (15min)
Fajã do Calhau (10 min)
Parque Terra Nostra (30 min)
Hot Springs (30 min)
Salto do Prego Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sunrise Point (10min)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Agua Retorta, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
stlouisbl...
st. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views of the Ocean”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Helena's father Luis and mother Rita met us at the house and gave us an introductory tour, very helpful. Rita greeted us with an orange cake with chocolate glaze. It was amazing and a wonderful treat. Thank you Rita! Luis was so gracious and he helped us get our luggage up to our car and helped us navigate our way out around the Easter procession.

My daughter, husband and my daughter's friend, stayed here for three days. The house is very spacious and open. The kitchen is wonderful. We are a family of cooks so the house was perfect for us to all cook together. We stopped outside of Agua Retorta to grocery shop before arriving at the house, as there are two small markets in town.

The views are amazing from sunrise to sunset. The walk to the orchard was so beautiful and the orchard was an interesting stop. You can continue on the path to the beach or into the city.

The set up of the dinning area and family room is so smart. It gives everyone space, yet they are together. Very pleasant stay at a beautiful home.

Thank you Helena, Luis and Rita for making our trip so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable View!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Quinta do Sanguinhal is a true paradise. My wife and I wanted to take one last big vacation before our child was born. I was happy we chose this place because it works well for everything. If you want rest pull a chair outside, read and watch the clouds fly by. Furnas and the delightful hot springs are under a half hour away. A larger town to grab dinner with a bigger market is a mere 15 minutes away. There is a challenging trail right off the road. You can do what you want! Agua Retorta is peaceful and everyone we spoke to were friendly and helpful.

The house itself has everything you need. A fireplace to get roaring, a washer and dryer (you will get rained on in the Azores) and full kitchen. All the amenities work well and the house is incredibly clean. It has three great bedrooms and 3 bathrooms with a shower and tub. The farm animals are everywhere but they won't bother you! Its great to walk outside and hear the goats and cows talking to each other in the morning.

Luis and Rita are amazing hosts. Luis knows the island and its history so well. Rita bakes and cooks better than anyone on the island. Their cottage by the ocean or orchard are beautiful spots to check out. If you need a recommendation for something to do Luis has great ideas. Try some of their wine if available. Its delightful!

I highly recommend staying here for any type of vacation. Seems to be very child friendly and supports active or relaxing lifestyles. Wifi worked!

The view is unforgettable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and hospitality
Liked least: A little chilly at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on the sea”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There is paradise on earth: Quinta do Sanguinhal. My husband and I stayed here for a delightful 4-day stay and we loved every minute of it. The house is spacious and well designed with a comfy bed in the master suite, spacious bathrooms, and a great washer and dryer that we used to clean our hiking clothes. There is a nearby garden, a patio on which to grill, and an outdoor seating area that overlooks the ocean with a hammock nearby.

While the property--and the town of Agua Retorta--are delightful, what makes this place so special are Luis and Rita, your hosts who live up the road. (the home belongs to their daughter) Luis is a Renaissance man who with his delightful wife, Rita, run an organic "hobby" farm from which they share vegetables, fruits, eggs, and other goods. Rita greats you at the home with my favorite way to say "Hello!"--a fresh baked good made from produce in season. The highlight of our trip was the time we got to spend with Rita and Luis learning more about the Azores, their passions, their family, and the island's traditions. We loved Rita's cooking and Luis's tour of "paradise" (his farm closer to the ocean) was something we will always remember.

If you book this spot take a moment to read the guest book signed by other visitors, there are great tips and suggestions for activities to do on the island. We hiked every day and Luis is INCREDIBLY knowledgeable about hiking on the island as he helped develop all of the trails.

We can't wait to return to this wonderful home and delightful family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Quinta do Sanguinhal is the perfect place to stay in the Azores. It is a beautiful retreat in a beautiful part of sao miquel. Louis and Rita were amazing hosts, Rita's meals were delicious and a great way to end the day, and Louis's tips on what to do on the island were invaluable. We traveled with six of our family members and the house could not have been better, A highlight was enjoying the delicious fruits and vegetables from the house garden. We would recommend the house to anyone, and hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iheartfir...
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect start to our honeymoon :)”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Can't really describe the beauty of this place. You have to see for yourself!
The pictures surely don't lie. We had an amazing and relaxing stay here, and loved travelling around the island exploring the different towns.
We only stayed 3 nights and wish we had a whole week! We would recommend this rental to anybody.
Thank you Luis and Rita!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing