We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely amazing home! The highlight of our...”
other travellers have booked this property
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property
Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Amazing  sunrises
Friendly  neighbors
Entrance
Front gate
Private entry road
Hostess Paloma
Paloma showing  off
Amazing Blue and Green contrasts
Pasture
Front of house
Front of house
View from side
Back of house facing ocean
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Night sky
Sunrise
View from terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Living room
View from dining room
View from living room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Twin bed bedroom
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Laundry
Barbecue
Barbecue
Garden. Pick your own vegetables
Chickens
Organic eggs
Hen with chicks
View from the house
Greeting Basket of Local Products
Welcome basket and cake
Hosts
Beach of Vila da Povoação (15min)
Beach of Lombo Gordo (15min)
Fajã do Calhau (10 min)
Parque Terra Nostra (30 min)
Hot Springs (30 min)
Salto do Prego Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sunrise Point (10min)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Agua Retorta, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Calgary-C...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“An absolutely amazing home! The highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This house is very spacious, immaculately clean, beautiful and homey. The kitchen is well stocked with all of the necessary gadgets and new-looking appliances, the washer and dryer are in excellent working order, there was plenty of chopped firewood stacked for our use and there was even a kite for the kids to fly on a windy day. And on top of all that the view from the home is spectacular! Rolling green hills and a beautiful ocean. We even spotted whales during the calm mornings, right from the patio while having our breakfast.

The home is located in a quiet and friendly village that has two convenience stores stocked with most foods. Even though the home is located on one side of the island, we used it as a home base for our 10-day trip from which to visit all the different sites on the entire island - only a one hour drive from the airport, if you take the highway on the northern side of the island. I could easily spend an hour typing up all of the different sites to see.

Luiz and Rita, our hosts, live only a short distance away and were available to answer any questions we had (They have so many interesting things to say about the Azores). They even let us feed and milk the goats at their place (a real treat for the kids - both human and goat). Rita gave us homemade goat cheese and baked us a cake (both delicious), and left us a few of her eggs from their own free range chickens.

I would highly recommend this rental to anyone visiting Sao Miguel. I already miss it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafa592
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The title is "home" because after hiking, visiting, and exploring Sao Miguel on most days of our trip, what we most wanted was to get to the house and have a meal (including lovely Azorean wine) while sitting outside on the bench enjoying the views and overall ambience of the area/house.

The house has everything that I can imagine needing for comfort. Its location is remote, although it seems like other than Ponta Delgada most any other location would indeed be remote in this peaceful and quiet island. We may as well have had a similar wonderful experience with other properties we considered, but with Quinta do Sanguinhal we are certain that we made a fantastic decision and have no reason to wonder if we could have done better. In fact, we are as certain as someone can ever be of anything that we shall return not only to Azores, but very likely to the same house (if possible, a quick review of available upcoming dates revealed almost full occupancy for the next 8 months - we absolutely understand why!!).

I am fluent in 2 languages and can get by with a 3rd, yet it's hard to find a way of describing Luis and Rita with words that do their hospitality and spirit justice. Accepting our invitation for the two of them to join us for a fabulous dinner Rita cooked was likely the most enriching experience of our trip. When we consider that at one point we had reservations at a hotel in Furnas, that's when we think of regret in that we would have lost immersing ourselves in what the Azores is about legitimately and naturally. For Luis to then guide us on a hike the next morning that included more history of Azores and getting to know him even more was, WOW.

You will read some reviews about there being an issue with the road to the house without a four-wheel drive. Since we rented a small Peugeot, indeed we left the car where the road ended and walked a very short distance to the house after driving all the way to the house upon arrival and dropping off our luggage. It was not a problem whatsoever for us to walk to/from the car and in typical Luis fashion he offered to drive his 4-wheel drive upon our departure to get our luggage. Obrigado.

Rafael

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts' warmth and friendliness.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
happyarch...
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best vacation house we have ever rented!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travel a lot and frequently rent lodging with a kitchen as I have food allergies and like to cook. This is the best house we have rented, and we have rented many great houses - I would give this 6 stars if I could. The owner of the house, Helena, is away but she will answer all your questions. Her parents, Rita and Luis were our hosts. They were so kind and generous. We were there during Carnival, and Rita made us donuts hot and homemade that are traditional for that holiday. They shared collards and squash from their garden and lemons and oranges from their orchard. We had dinner together one night and beers another. They are interesting conversationalists and just great people. The house is beautiful, and I say this as an architect. The kitchen was the best equipped I have cooked in. Rita even had fresh herbs in the kitchen for me to cook with. The knives were sharp and I had everything I needed to cook or serve food. They had all the cleaning supplies and papergoods I needed too. The kitchen, dining and livingroom is all open with beautiful views of the ocean. The fireplace at night was wonderful. The bathrooms were great with lots of hot water and good pressure. We had lovely flowers on the counter. I could go on and on. It is in a quiet village and you will hear farm animals, but no loud cars. I hated to leave! Helena thank you for Mara!!!!! Thank you Rita and Luis, we will visit you again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to answer we loved everything and our hosts
Liked least: There is a musty smell when you first come in, but this is easy to understand given location and climate
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoelteLoo
Halsteren, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house, stunning location”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here 2 weeks in September/October 2014 with two kids (2 and 1 year old). The house and its surrounding garden offer everything you can possibly need during your vacation to the Azores, ranging from 3 bedrooms and the fully equipped kitchen to stunning views.

The house is located on the far eastern side of the island, making it a perfect location for a relaxing vacation. A trip to the western side, however, takes approximately 1,5 hours. Driving to the house, via the small unpaved road, was no problem in our rental car (Fiat Punto).

The hosts, Luis and Rita, made our stay even better. The conversations about the island and their lives were interesting. We visited the beach cottage, where we all had a great time (our 2 years old son enjoyed playing soccer with Rita's mother).

During our stay Rita cooked us several meals which were all delicious. Rita really is an exceptional cook!!

We can highly recommend this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing