We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ordinary, service far too slow.”
Review of Cafe Martini

Cafe Martini
Ranked #27 of 63 Restaurants in Wangaratta
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food ordinary, service far too slow.”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Good menu but food disappointing, Staff run off their feet - new managent needed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nardoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dinning”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

When we arrived in Wangaratta, it was late, and all the stores were closed. We walked the main street and read all the menus, and that one read the best, and it was a wonderful experience. They have a seating area outside, which was perfect. We had pizzas and salads - wow. They have an excellent wine selection. Their recommendation for us was a bottle from Brown Brothers Winery. We fell in love with it, and promptly had to visit that winery the next day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank T0nyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very disappointing experience overall”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

As a local, I have been disappointed by Martini's countless times.
The service is terrible. In the past I have been seated and not given a menu for at least 15 minutes, presumably because we were forgotten about. Staff are unfriendly and unknowledgeable.
Chardonnay is listed as a sparking wine on their wine list. To their credit, the wine list has a great variety (I enjoyed the Dal Zotto Prosecco, even if it's the only positive part of my visit) and is reasonably priced.
The food is well below average. I had pizza which I found unimpressive compared to other wood fired pizzas that I have had. Not to mention the times that I have waited an hour and a half for my meal!
I wouldn't recommend coming to Martini's if you are after a fine dining experience. If given the option, ask to sit upstairs on the balcony, as downstairs is an unpleasant atmosphere and seems to be stuck in the 80's. The furnishings are disgusting, and tables are set with a checkered table cloth; with a piece of butcher's paper over the top. Judging by the filthy marks on the table cloths, I would be surprised if they have ever been washed.
There are far better eating establishments in Wangaratta, and I would suggest avoiding this place if looking for a great dining experience as you will be sorely disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tiny_dancer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice family meal”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We had a family meal, woodfire pizzas and salad and it was very yum. The pizza base maybe just a tad too thin. The table tops are dressed with large sheets of white paper and the staff gave our kids bucket of pencils to draw with as soon as we sat down. Very good wine list, I had a great local Sauvignon blanc. We didn't stay for long as we have young kids but the staff were very receptive to that.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank liladventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service standards”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Food for dinner was good, with a good local wine list all at reasonable (even better than reasonable) prices. There are enough wait staff and they are all pleasant, but the service management isn't good, so the service delivered is variable (inattentive).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mick3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Martini also viewed

 
Wangaratta, Victoria
Wangaratta, Victoria
 
Wangaratta, Victoria
Wangaratta, Victoria
 

Been to Cafe Martini? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing