We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good for a stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldorado Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eldorado Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite good for a stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at this motor inn overnight, driving from Alice to Darwin. We had no prior booking, just drove through town and picked the best looking place. The main street of Tennant Creek was a bit intimidating, with the locals hanging around on the street, so our biggest concern was security, as we were moving interstate and travelling with a fully loaded car and trailer. The manager was very nice, friendly and helpful. The first room we were given - the door would not lock properly (my husband simply lifted it up and it came open when locked!) but after asking to move rooms we were given a new one, no worries. I was pleasantly surprised with the room - flat screen tv and DVD player and a new looking bed and bed linen. The air conditioner worked very well, quiet, nice and icy cold, and there was fast, free wireless in the room. Nice clean pool we had a swim in. Nice hot shower, good water pressure. And a quiet night. Initially thought the price was a bit expensive but it was worth it for a comfortable and safe nights' rest.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKielOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    47
    25
    49
See reviews for
26
57
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I realize that Tennant Creek is quite isolated and accommodation in general is basic, but I find it hard to believe that we paid $130 for this room. We stayed in one of the "better" rooms at the back of the complex. The room was very tiny and smelled musty. The toilet was stained and the bathroom sink was miniscule. The carpet was dingy and looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for a while. There was a roach trap glued to the floor beside the fridge. I understand that renovations have taken place, giving this motel 3 1/2 stars. From what I could see, the renovations were a flat screen TV and an updated AC unit (both of which worked well). I also gather from other reviews that the mattresses have been replaced. In my opinion, a new toilet would have been cheaper and more appreciated than the big TV.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Marigoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tennant Creek hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting the local sights. Found the room very small and cramped and smelt musty. The rooms are slowly being updated we were told. The bathroom had no opening window probably due to the No restaurant on site so bring own supplies of food for breakfast! The lodge is on the main road which at night is full of the natives hanging about, which we found threatening. The lodge is not locked at night, so be aware of what you leave in the car overnight. We were sent to a local social club to get a chinese meal, but when we arrived met by a bouncer and we had to sign in. Make sure you have ID with you or you will be refused entry. Too huge a portion to finish and pricey. No where else was open to eat. The whole area ia run down and depressing. There is a supermarket on the main road to buy supplies. We were the only whites in the place!

Room Tip: bring own toiletries and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Eldorado is located on the northern end of Tennant Creek on the highway. Reception greeted us in a friendly way, told us the price $130, offered to show us the room and also gave us the option to stay at other motels whose rates were cheaper. Be aware this is a pet friendly establishment. We stayed in the two story block and were on the bottom floor. The room was clean and contained a double/queen bed and a single bed. It had all the tea/coffee supplies, knives and forks etc, mini fridge and a modern flat screen TV with limited channels and a DVD player. DVDs could be hired? from reception. The towels were quite good. Bed linen was OK. I prefer my own pillow. There was a leak under the back of the toilet and a smell in the bathroom area. There was a nice little pool in the centre of the car park. For a one night stay it did the job quite well. We weren't disturbed through the night and didn't need the air con on so I can't comment about that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
232 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

OK, so a night in Tennant Creek was never going to be the highlight of our trip but it was a convenient stopping off point en route from Alice Springs to Darwin and needs must. We picked the Eldorado as the best of a bad bunch and I suppose on that score it probably delivered. However, it is a thoroughly depressing place. I understand there has been some upgrading going on and I think our room was one of the upgraded ones but nonetheless, there was this air of shabbiness and the brickwork walls make one think of Prisoner Cell Block H (and would not have been difficult to cover during the upgrade with some plaster...)

So, reception is open only limited hours. The restaurant currently appears to not be open at all. The rooms are large but cell-like due to the exposed brickwork. The bathroom is OK but the towel old and the toiletries cheap and the room does not smell exactly fresh. Tennant Creek is not the safest appearing town and there was no safe and the door handle did not look like it would deter even a hopeless thief. There is a flatscreen TV and DVD player, a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. There is a boxy, old air-con unit. The bed was comfy and we had a reasonable night's sleep.

There was free wi-fi which was perhaps the best feature. The worst feature had to be that we were right next to the staff store so from early in the morning we were kept awake by staff collecting things and chatting.

All of this for the princely sum of $139 per night. I cannot imagine how it costs this much. I'd love to know as I can get fabulous accommodation where I live for this much and we spent far less on much nicer accommodation even on the same trip.

So, overall, I think it is possibly worth a 3 star but given that it made me feel depressed for a whole 24 hours of my holiday, I'm afraid it has to be a 2.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
1.8 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.6 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Motor Inn

Property: Eldorado Motor Inn
Address: 195 Patterson Street | PO Box 65, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0861, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,630 - ₹ 7,032
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 11 sprawling acres, the Eldorado Motor Inn offers 78 airconditioned rooms. We have rooms to accomodate 1 person through to 5 people all ensuited with colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is also available all rooms. With a huge 120 seat licensed restaurant and alfresco area serving Chinese and steak menu you are sure to enjoy a fantastic meal here. At the Eldorado Motor Inn, we endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eldorado Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Tennant Creek
Eldorado Motel Tennant Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing