We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Molineta

Once a busy mill, today a comfortable home just at the edge of the village of Los Romanes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Once a busy mill, today a comfortable home just at the edge of the village of Los Romanes
Comfortable sunloungers and a big daybed Inviting swimming pool with stunning view over the villages of Axarquia
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Once a busy mill, today a comfortable home just at the edge of the village of Los Romanes
Comfortable sunloungers and a big daybed
Inviting swimming pool with stunning view over the villages of Axarquia
Swimming pool area
A shaded BBQ and outdoor kitchen/bar with fridge/freezer and dartboard
Stairs leading up from the swimming pool area to the bar and terrace
Tropical lush garden with lots of palm trees, lavender, geranium and mature olive trees
View from the bar
The outside bar
Daybed for siestas with view over the village of Comares
Shaded terrace just outside the kitchen with a comfortable sofa for siestas
Fantastic view from upper terrace over the mountains
Welcome to La Molineta!
Well equipped kitchen with direct access to garden and terraces
Dining area
Spacious living room with comfortable sofa and a wood burner for cosy winter evenings
TV/DVD room with two sofa beds. Lots of DVD´s, CD´s and books available for our guests
Master en-suite bedroom
2nd bedroom with double bed
3rd bedroom with double bed
4th bedroom with two single beds put together
Bathroom downstairs with a full length bath, hairdryer, iron, washing machine and dryer
En-suite bathroom to the master bedroom
One of the bathrooms upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Los Romanes, Vinuela, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked La Molineta quite far in advance and spent a long time looking at the photos and checking trip advisor trying to find more clues about the house. We are surprised that there aren't more reviews about such a beautiful house. Hopefully this review will help future families planning their breaks.
As far as the owners are concerned we couldn't have been luckier. Swedish couple Jesper and Carina clearly have our comfort as their top priority. Carina was always quick to reply to any queries via email, and once we arrived she never failed to respond to any texts. Jesper regularly appears to maintain the pool and is friendly and helpful but unobtrusive too.

The house is set in amongst the most breathtaking mountains just east of the Sierra Tejeda and the views from the terrace stretch north to the Sierra de Alhama. The views include the most beautiful sunrise if you are keen enough to get up in time for the sun to break over the top of La Maroma (known to us as Sunrise Mountain). We loved the fact that the location is remote, as we prefer not to be overlooked and the quiet and peacefulness ensured a truly relaxing holiday. That being said we also had no worries about disturbing neighbours when we were partying with the iPod on full volume!!
The house is situated on the outskirts of the village of Los Romanes, just a ten minute walk to the village centre where there is a pub, two shops and a couple of restaurants. There also the most spectacular views of the turquoise waters of nearby Lake Vinuela nestled below sunrise mountain. Well worth the short walk.
Getting to the house is pretty easy, mostly motorway and A roads from Malaga, approx 50-60 mins from the airport. A hire car is essential. Getting around is no problem if you stick to the bigger roads, however we did have a couple of unintentional and rather exciting "off-roading" experiences whilst exploring the area!!

The 4 double bedrooms upstairs are very comfortable, with two doubles and two that are twin beds pushed together. The Sofa beds in the TV area are available for the 9th and 10th beds. This area is a through room for the stairs and not private (or air conditioned). We had a 9th guest staying for a few days and found it easier to take the mattresses (thick and comfy) upstairs onto the floors of the bedrooms as there is ample space.
We found the house very clean on arrival, and it was helpful to have all the facilities advertised and all in good working order. The fridge freezer at the bar area got a lot of use!! Also heavily used was the iPod dock (30 pin connection) at the bar overlooking the pool, for daytime chillaxing and evening parties!

The pool itself was plenty large enough for the size of the house and although unheated this was not a problem at this time of year. The temperature fluctuated a little but it was generally warm but refreshing. It was kept clean and in good condition, as was the paving around it. The loungers were also in good condition with pool towels supplied. The surrounding area is very green with a few palms thoughtfully planted so that there is always an option of a shady corner for those that prefer to stay out of the sun. There is also a dartboard, pool table, chess board and table tennis for those that want a break from the pool. We spent most of our time on the two terraces and poolside, such a great space.

One aspect of life at La Molineta that was particularly pleasant was the 2 resident cats, who belong to the owners but seem to look after themselves more or less. They are often around the grounds, lazing in some shady spot, and will come and say hello from time to time. We started feeding them our leftovers and they quickly became more friendly, especially with our son, who would often be found of an evening sitting by the pool with a friend on his lap, looking like Blofeld out of a 007 movie!! We really enjoyed the cats (and I am no cat lover but found myself putting down milk in a saucer!) but if you are allergic to cats you might want to think twice.

We had a number of days out that we would recommend.
- Kayaking and white water rafting at Cuevas Bajas (www.paddleinspain or www.ocioaventura)
- walking up the Rio Chillar near Nerja
- water parks
- boat trips out of Malaga harbour
Also the two restaurants in Los Romanes, Las Orquidas (also on Trip Advisor) and Miguel's at the other end of the village, fab for families and well priced (the locals all go there).

In summary, the house was absolutely perfect for our two families for a two week break. Its location, facilities and condition have been second to none. We cannot fault it, and would highly recommend it to other groups of similar size. Thank you Carina and Jesper for a truly amazing holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, perfect base for relaxing stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week's stay in this beautiful villa, and it was fabulous!

We needed a large villa as for our first holiday abroad since having our son (just turned one), we wanted to go self catering and share our holiday with our family, so there were ten of us in total. The villa was large enough that you never felt like you were on top of each other, there was plenty of space to spread out, and even take yourself off somewhere for some peace and quiet if need be (often needed when in a large group I think!)

The villa was clean and well furnished, with plenty of cooking utensils and fridge/freezer for storage for food. There was a barbecue available, and two patio areas for seating, along with a bar and separate fridge outside for drinks. The pool is absolutely gorgeous, with plenty of seating around it and shady spots as well as sunny spots. There was also a dartboard by the bar area, which saw a lot of use.

Carina and Jesper are lovely, welcoming and helpful people. We had one problem one day with the water pressure (turned out to be a village issue not a villa issue), but they were ever so helpful and came straight out to look. They also came and set up a table tennis table which also saw a lot of use, and on the first day we opened the front door to find a little paddling pool had been left for our son, which he absolutely adored and was such a kind thought <3 It was nice to know that they were available to contact if we needed any help or had any issues, but they were never intrusive. There was also a lot of tourist information left in the living area, which was a nice touch.

Location wise - the villa is sited just on the edge of the village of Los Romanes. You are not overlooked, and it is private and peaceful with fabulous views from the bedrooms and the patio and pool. It is a short walk through the village, where there is two shops, two bars, a hotel and a restaurant. We visited both shops - they are small spa and co-op type shops (for UK readers) but you can get a good range of food for the week. We also visited one of the bars at the very top of the village which has seating outside and views over the lake and this was a lovely place to sit in the evening, and a bit further walk to the other end of the village (probably only ten minutes total frrom the villa), there is a fabulous grill restaurant which specialises in grilled meats. Went a couple of times and both times the service and food was great. There is also a big supermarket a short 20 minute drive to Velez Malaga where we stocked up for bbqs (although you could if you didn't have a car, get what you would need from the local shops, who had a limited selection of fresh meat).

Los Romanes is well situated for walks around Lake Vinuela. It is inland, so you don't get the views of the sea, but this was more than made up for by the mountains and turquoise waters of the lake. We preferred it also, as none of us are particularly touristy or beach holiday folk, so it was nice to be in a quiet spot and then choose to go out for a day to busier locations.

It's an hour and a half drive to Granada, about 45 minutes to Malaga and about half an hour to Nerja, where we decided to spend one day on the beach.

All in all, it is an ideal location if you prefer a quiet, peaceful place to stay, that is not too far from the busier areas if you want to visit those on your own terms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariska W
Delden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and relax”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very relaxing holiday in la Molineta. The house is very comfortable, with its 3 bathrooms and well equipped kitchen. Good beds, and good airconditioning in every bedroom.

There is always shadow on one of the terraces. And the pool is also great to cool down. There is privacy wherever you are: at the pool, the terraces, and the bed outside

The views are stunning. The silence is peaceful.

Carina and Jesper are great host and able to provide a lot of tips as they know the area quite well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The driveway, very steep
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truely great place to have a super family holiday”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Trying to obtain the perfect accommodation near to Lake Vinuela in Andalucia, for my wife and I, along with our grandchildren and family members. I had set my heart on locating that perfect accommodation, which I thought was really going to be almost impossible. particularly, as the long list of musts we had created and which we were so desirous of all being ticked was so long. It also needed have the provision in the casa of a truely superbly equipped spanish type kitchen to meet my wife and family musts. I often laugh at Brits demanding many of their home comforts, yet we wanted WiFi and English language TV. We also wanted a place with a rural rustic Spanish hacienda appearance and that much needed and well to be used outdoor bar and dining areas, which had to have a good BBQ. Naturally, it also needed to have a great swimming pool, hopefully with plenty of shaded areas and wonderful view, we were delighted to locate La Molineta, a casa that ticked every box

I consider myself to luckier than most people who would also be looking for that dream accommodation in this region , in that my wife and I know the area well and we have lots of ex-pat friends who could help to point us in the right direction. Which is exactly what they did and they also sent me some fantastic picture of the Casa La Molineta, along with pictures of the fantastic views, all of which seemed to tick all the desirable boxes we had drawn up

La Molineta is a lovely family casa perfect for that great holiday, it also has a fantastic location, close to the village of Los Romanes. We were there the last week in August and first week in September, but hope to return again soon. The real icing on the cake for us was having incredible hospitable friendly owners and their two great young children, The whole families multi language skills are most remarkable and nothing ever eemed to much trouble for them to make our holiday the most prefect we have ever had. We were also lucky to be able to view the owners other lovely villa Cortijo Barranquero which is close by and which can cater for a larger numbers of guests, like La Molineta it also has great facilities and it would meet our requireent and other members of our immediate family if La Molineta was not available
it is one we would certaily recommend to friends who have larger groups with children. We cannot wait to return to this absolutely divine Villa in its secluded and private grounds. Which for us had absolutely everything we possibly needed – and all within a 4-5 min walk of the village and a 25 min drive to the beach in Torre del Mar, which is a lovely and friendly spanish holiday resort with excellent shopping facilitates and a good leisure centre, it also hosts a fantastic open air market every Thursday

My wife and I are over 80 and we had no problems, our extended family and teenaged grandchildren loved La Molineta. However, we would not recommend staying in any Spanish Villa with a small child or baby where there is a swimming pool, without first taking reat precautions for their safety. Those precautions are needed where ever you decide to stay on holiday in Spain or the UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spoilt between the location, the villa and the hospitality of the owners
Liked least: Having to return home at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;