We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tapeka, Terrific and Tantalising”
other travellers have booked this property
Better than Beachfront. This Beach House is ON the beach. Private beach access with no road to cross
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Better than Beachfront. This Beach House is ON the beach. Private beach access with no road to cross
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar unobstructed views Tapeka Beach to Tapeka Point
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Better than Beachfront. This Beach House is ON the beach. Private beach access with no road to cross
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar unobstructed views
Tapeka Beach to Tapeka Point
Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
Superb location between two beaches. Extensive private grounds and direct beach access
Sit back and enjoy the view - glass doors open the living room onto the deck
Relaxing nautical theme with a Cape Cod feel and comfy leather sofas
5 Kayaks, dinghy (row boat), mooring and diving pontoon
HOT outdoor shower to rinse off after a swim. So close to the beach you can leave your towel behind
King master with ensuite bathroom, TV, safe, phone and sea views
View from the master bedroom. Direct access to covered verandah, deck and beach
Modern heated bathrooms
Front bedroom with Queen and Single bed. Sea views and direct outdoor access
Side bedroom - Queen and King Single. Ceiling fan. Verandah access
Fully equipped kitchen with ice maker, Dishwashers, Nespresso machine, serving platters
Onkyo Bose home theatre, Sat TV, DVD, AppleTV, BT streaming and outdoor speakers
Unobstructed views with an endless procession of passing vessels
Tapeka Beach and Point with the Islands beyond
Side and rear bedrooms. Ample off street parking
Lots of room inside and out. Only the private lawn between the house and beach
View from the beach in front past the ever popular all tide diving pontoon
Swim with Dolphins off the beach and watch passing Orca
Filleting station for the days catch - plus beer fridge and bait freezer
Volleyball on the reserve opposite
Yacht on the deep water guest mooring
Nearby Roberton Island anchorage and lagoon - the closest to Tapeka Del Mar
Histortic Russell village, restaurants, attractions and boat trips 2 minutes away
Christ Church Russell - oldest in NZ with history back to the whalers and early settlers
Waitangi Treaty grounds and Maori meeting house
Russell Wharf where the passenger ferry to Paihia and Island boat trips depart
Tall ship R Tucker Thomson day sailing from Russell wharf
Romantic year round sunsets
The ultimate Kiwi beach Vacation Rental BOOK NOW!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miriam R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tapeka, Terrific and Tantalising”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Arriving at the end of December from the UK to such a wonderful quiet, private location, stunning views and the beach a few steps away was the complete panacea. Although there were only two of us we enjoyed all the space in the house which is wonderfully appointed with four bedrooms, two bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, laundry, Sky TV, a great music system and the all important wifi. In addition to the three bedrooms in the house the rumpus room, containing the extra beds, is the ideal accommodation for children. An extra television, DVD player and audio system has been provided so the youngsters can entertain themselves or watch films without disturbing the adults! The extensive deck is perfect for outside dining and the small fridge keeps the beer cool. Nice touch! The beach is very safe, for the energetic take the kayaks out around the headland to other beaches or collect mussels. For those feeling more adventurous hire a boat for the day and go fishing, a guest berth is available if required. Tapeka is well placed for sightseeing, the historic town of Russell is a short but steep walk away where there are some excellent restaurants, go across on the ferry from Russell to Paihia to catch the boat for dolphin watching, visit the Stone Store at KeriKeri, the oldest stone building in New Zealand; the journey is wonderful by boat or take a day out to visit the Northlands, but it will be difficult. You will not want to leave Tapeka for a single minute. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach House Luxury Kiwi Style”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tapeka Del Mar
We wanted to escape the daily grind of the city for a few days to recharge the batteries.
Tapeka Del Mar located in the Bay of Islands was the perfect choice, only three or so hours from Auckland.
Situated right on the beach, it provided the Ideal setting for relaxation or excitement.
Booking was easy, service friendly and the luxury accommodation is of an International standard.
We enjoyed walks on the beach, caught a few fish off the rocks which we cooked on the barbeque. Several meals were easily prepared in the well appointed kitchen.
Russell Township is only a two minute drive away, where you can enjoy restaurant dining & the quaint Russell atmosphere steeped in history, or take a 15minuite ferry ride or drive to Paihia.
Great place, we loved it!
Well be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Paradise Location
Liked least: Having to Leave!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTGuest5
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Perfection in Paradise”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I booked Tapeka Del Mar Beach House for the October long weekend. Some friends of ours did the Annual Coastal Classic Yacht Race from Auckland to Russell and we needed somewhere that was very close to Russell and could accommodate a large group (including WAGs and children of various age groups).

This house is absolute perfection, extremely comfortable in a tranquil location and well provisioned - I will be sure to book it again. It was in the prefect location to sit on the deck and watch the crew head towards the finish line and then close enough to Russell that the WAGs of the crew could head into Russell to meet them as they crossed the finish line. The house has uninterrupted views and access directly to the water and the crew were able to moor their boat just offshore once the race was done and join us at the house.

With such a large group we found the location, views, space and set up of the house exceeded our expectations. The kitchen, large BBQ and deck ensured that meal times were never a drama with trying to feed so many people.

Everything exceeded our expectations - from the well equipped kitchen, large screen TV, Internet Access, Sound System with outdoor speakers onto the large deck, the amazing views, comfortable beds (linen was also supplied which was great), modern bathroom facilities (including an ensuite in master bedroom), ample car parking space, large outdoor dining table, plenty of chairs, games and lots of outdoor space for the kids to run around in and not to forget the safe beach for the children which was great as we could watch them from the deck.

The close proximity to Russell also allowed us the option of dining out at one of the many cafes and restaurants had we not felt like eating in. Russell itself is a beautiful village with many great shops and art galleries to meander through. We also noted on our way home that there is a winery close by – next time we will be sure to visit this and explore the area a little more.

This house is pure paradise and a great destination in any weather and at any time of the year. What a find! Thank you for such a great weekend – we will be sure to tell others about this piece of paradise.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTGuest5
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure perfection in paradise”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I booked Tapeka Del Mar Beach House for the October long weekend. Some friends of ours did the Annual Coastal Classic Yacht Race from Auckland to Russell and we needed somewhere that was very close to Russell and could accommodate a large group (including WAGs and children of various age groups).

This house is absolute perfection, extremely comfortable in a tranquil location and well provisioned - I will be sure to book it again. It was in the prefect location to sit on the deck and watch the crew head towards the finish line and then close enough to Russell that the WAGs of the crew could head into Russell to meet them as they crossed the finish line. The house has uninterrupted views and access directly to the water and the crew were able to moor their boat just offshore once the race was done and join us at the house.

With such a large group we found the location, views, space and set up of the house exceeded our expectations. The kitchen, large BBQ and deck ensured that meal times were never a drama with trying to feed so many people.

Everything exceeded our expectations - from the well equipped kitchen, large screen TV, Internet Access, Sound System with outdoor speakers onto the large deck, the amazing views, comfortable beds (linen was also supplied which was great), modern bathroom facilities (including an ensuite in master bedroom), ample car parking space, large outdoor dining table, plenty of chairs, games and lots of outdoor space for the kids to run around in and not to forget the safe beach for the kids which was great as we could watch them from the deck.

The close proximity to Russell also allowed us the option of dining out at one of the many cafes and restaurants had we not felt like eating in. Russell itself is a beautiful village with many great shops and art galleries to meander through. We also noted on our way home that there is a winery close by – next time we will be sure to visit this and explore the area a little more.

This house is pure paradise and a great destination in any weather and at any time of the year. What a find! Thank you for such a great weekend – we will be sure to tell others about this piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfection
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. It is great to see all of the facilities put to good use. Given the large group of guests the house was left in excellent condition. We look forward to having you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiralee...
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A peace of paradise!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our stay at Tapeka Del Mar was fantastic. The holiday home was beautiful and the outlook from the huge deck was stunning!! There was always boats to watch and we even had a visit from a pod of dolphins on the Saturday, dancing in the sea right in front of our holiday home. The owners should be congratulated on keeping the property in prisitne condition and the kitchen was superb. Thank you for wonderful weekend. I highly recommend this property in this little world of paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lounge and the huge deck
Liked least: there was nothing I didn't like. The property was fantastic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing