We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
142
93
19
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
93
19
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast the breakfast area top deck free wifi tahunanui beach short walk to the beach large spa bath great place to stay comfortable room would stay again new zealand lovely garden within walking distance easy access short stay yogurt stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We were welcomed by the very friendly host, who also gave advise as to where the best local eateries were. The room was very comfortable, the bed provided us with a great night sleep. The bathroom was very spacious with a good shower with plenty of hot water. It had one of those new shower domes - an interesting idea, and still high enough for a 6'4" person. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again when in Nelson.

Room Tip: There are 2 levels, with stair access to the second
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMB425032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaLodgeNelson, Relief Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, I will let Tony know on his return. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The host is welcoming and helpful with advice, beautiful grounds and comfortable room. Across the road is a park then the lovely Tahunanui beach, 3 minutes walk away. The street is quiet but easy to find. Since our last stay the décor is less oriental, modernized, probably an advantage. Continental breakfast included in the room price is a real plus.
Plumbing a bit loud - could do with adjusting.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room if possible, but no rooms are noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaLodgeNelson, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank You for your Review It is really great to have returning Guests. Thank you for your feed back and the plumbing is being evaluated. Kind Regards Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed at the Aloha Lodge at the beginning and the end of our South Island road tri Aloha Lodge is lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting. Tony is generous, kind, thoughtful and friendly. He helped carry our luggage to our room, he accepted and store a box of items that I had shipped to receive at the beginning of our trip and then on the last day, he generously afforded us the opportunity to hang out in while we waited for our flight. The rooms at Aloha Lodge are spacious, clean and up to date. The morning beach walk is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie1955travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaLodgeNelson, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for the great review. We try to help travelers in many ways. they may be small but at the end of the visit it is these thing that make a trip memorable.We are pleased we could help. Thank you again. Kind regards Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Tony epitomised the kiwi hospitality and friendliness that we've encountered during our 2 weeks trip around the south island. He was really helpful with recommendations on things to do/places to eat & drink at. Super friendly and gave us an upgrade! (Which wasnt a tent in the garden - inside joke). Room was spacious and electric blankets provided necessary warmth at night as it was still a bit chilly. Shower was a bit of a squeeze but consistent hot water and strong pressure & heating lamp in the bathroom. Could do with maybe a few more hooks/rails for towels/clothes in the bathroom. Great location just 2mins to the beach and 5-8mins drive to city center. Stay here for great value, location (if u fancy the beach & away frm the city center) & great laughs when you chat with Tony.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wundertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaLodgeNelson, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thanks for the great review i am pleased you enjoyed the upgrade we do this when we can. I think the location of the Lodge is perfect. To be able to travel to the CBD and in 5 min be walking swimming or relaxing on the beach.We will look into extra hooks in the bathroom a great observation Many Thanks Tony PS cleaning the tent for summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

What a treat this place is. Location is great with the awesome Sprig & Fern just a few doors down. We stayed in the spa and sauna room. Very spacious and well equiped. Sauna has a delay timer which was great to set overnight for a hot sauna in the morning. The shower had commitment issues with consistent temperature but overall, this stay was just what the doctor ordered.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank heatherjoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlohaLodgeNelson, Manager at Aloha Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for the review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you again. Regards Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews