We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
111
66
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
66
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews countdown supermarket great location main shopping area swimming pool close to town shower room motel units within walking distance sky channels comfortable bed modern facilities great taste would stay here again stayed for nights abel tasman few minutes walk road noise
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

For two people the downstairs studio unit was barely adequate and better suited to one person. There was just the one comfortable lounge chair, albeit an over size one, are we expected to sit one at a time?
The wifi was intermittent probably due to the busy holiday season, but zendu has its limitations according to other tourists we have met and maybe the motel isn't purchasing sufficient for it needs.
The motel brochure says 'we take pride in offering guests elegantly appointed apartments', I agree they are elegant but is a studio unit with a lounge/bedroom and one comfortable chair an apartment.The growing trend in NZ to call motel units, apartments, is a slight over statement of what the motel room offer in terms of comfort and size.
I have been a bit niggly but there are good things about Palms too. The standard of fittings is brilliant, the bed and bedding is top class and the motel is maintained to a high degree. Location is great with a Countdown supermarket over the road and a very easy short walk into the centre of Nelson. We didn't experience any noise but that can be sometimes be a matter of luck wherever you stay. The staff were friendly and helpful.
If you like Italian food go to the Pizzeria Bella in Bridge Street for very reasonably priced and genuine Italian food, you can easily walk there.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fleetwoodmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Jo at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your review fleetwoodmac1. Just to clarify you were booked into a studio unit, not one of our 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. The apartments have a separate bedroom and lounge with a 3 seater couch and a lazyboy chair. Perhaps in future an apartment would be more to your liking rather than a studio. Our website also states our square meterage of all units. Our wifi is unlimited so there are no restrictions. Although you may be correct in assuming that due to the busy holiday season in Nelson, the whole city is finding the wifi intermittent, sorry but this is beyond our control. Thanks also for you kind comments regarding the bedding and maintenance, location and our wonderful staff. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The room was perfect, nice bathroom and kitchenette. Polite, friendly receptionist. The location is excellent, close to town center, across from a supermarket. But, there is no Airconditioning , so if it is warm you want to leave the balcony door open-- however all balconies overlook the parking and pool area, and if your fellow travelers are outside on their balconies smoking, drinking, or socializing in a loud voice across the parking area -- then it is very noisy and unpleasant.
I realize there is nothing the hotel can do about it, but be warned if you like quiet and a breeze of fresh air.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bellechasse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Jo at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks for your review Bellechasse10. Glad you found the room to your liking. There is an electric fan on every ceiling of every unit, the 1 and 2 bedroom apartments have a freestanding pedestal fan also and more are available from reception (as stated in the room compendium). If only you had asked we could have assisted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Really appreciated the staff going the extra mile over the Christmas period to help us store all our ingredients for Christmas dinner while we went on a three day hike!

Clean and well equipped self catering motel. I don't normally stay in motels but an more likely to now

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Jo at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thanks for your review Adam S. So pleased we were of help with storing your Christmas dinner. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

We received the most outstanding customer service from Cheryl throughout out our stay. The atmosphere and location of the hotel is important if you want to be CBD based and a bonus for the Saturday market. I highly commend the presentation and service of the motel and would rate this my best customer experience of 2017 and it's a proud moment this was in NZ.
Thanks Cheryl for the honest and remarkable customer service we still have forgotten.
Kind regards John and Mags.

Room Tip: Top floors best views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnh13290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Jo at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thanks so much john h for your fantastic review. Its always a pleasure to hear such wonderful praise about the motel. May you have a lovely Christmas and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Excellent modern well equipped motel with quality bathroom products,,large rooms,heated pool excellent friendly owners & competitive prices Close to a large supermarket & within easy walking distance of restaurants

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvan7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Reception at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thanks sylvan7117 for taking the time to write a review for us. Pleased that you found everything to your liking and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews