We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
113
67
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
67
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews countdown supermarket large supermarket main shopping area swimming pool close to town shower room motel units location is excellent comfortable bed modern facilities great taste convenient location stayed for nights would stay again saturday market walking distance abel tasman
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The Palms was fine for our stay as a family of three. We stayed for two nights across the weekend and found the room beautifully clean and tidy with a kitchenette which made life with a toddler much easier.

As usual, we requested a ground floor room - Big Mistake - as the noise from upstairs was unbearable in the early hours of the morning, resulting in a wakeful, restless little one and a grumpy mummy ... leaving us seriously questioning staying for the second night. So if you are a light sleeper - request upstairs!

Being so close to the town centre was fantastic as everywhere was within walking distance - Nelson has some wonderful shopping and eateries- and despite being so close to traffic, the noise didn't last throughout the night.
The room was beautifully warm (and the nights were cold ... we woke to snow cover on the ranges) and the beds very comfortable.

A good, comfortable and affordable place to stay with all the Sky channels and good wifi!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AlyDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thanks for your revue AlyDuff. So sorry that your stay wasn't as enjoyable as you had hoped. In future please feel free to ring us and let us know that there was a lot of noise coming from above and we would have done our best to sort this issue for you immediately. So happy to hear that you found everything else to your liking. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here over night and found the premises clean and very comfortable. Reception were very helpful and nothing was a problem. It's central local was ideal for my business trip. Breakfast at the property was "nice/OK"... but if you're like me and really enjoy breakfast I'd suggest eating out. I personally would stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank bessieboo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thanks for your review bessieboo70. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found things clean and comfortable. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

In the centre of Nelson. Clean, spacious, nice room. With a little swimmingpool. Easy to find, parking in front of your room. A supermarket nearby we find that very handy. You can walk to the restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kvkastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thanks for your review kvkastel. Yes we also love the handy to town spot that we are in. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed for four nights over the Easter weekend. We were warmly greeted and very happy with our room. The room was a good size with quality fittings such as the marble (granite?) tables. There was a very comfortable bed with a pillow menu. The kitchenette was well appointed and bathroom was very nice with fantastic water pressure which meant awesome showers! Loved the toiletries that were provided.

Fantastic location, a short walk to town and just across the road to the supermarket. We were attending an event at the newly refurbished Trafalgar Centre (awesome) and it was a 2 minute walk from our motel to the centre.

One small gripe was the wifi, free which is great, but very annoying as it worked intermittently.

Palms provided a very thorough compendium, with good info and also menus and chargeback ability for several restaurants who deliver meals to your door.

We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this as a great place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenWelington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks for your great review HelenWelington. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Friendly staff greeted us after hours. Room was clean and quiet, beds were comfortable. There is a kitchenette with stove, microwave, refrigerator with milk for morning coffee and small appliances. Bathroom had speciality shampoo, conditioner and body lotion, towels warmed on heated towel racks. Seems like the owners pay special attention to the needs of their guests-nice. There were three of us with plenty of room. We were there only one night, but would certainly come back again.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BagPackedWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmsmotel5, Manager at Palms Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thanks for your lovely review BagPackedWillTravel. Glad you found us all friendly and were happy with all our services. We do try to pay special attention to our guests needs. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews